We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic French cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Pastis

Cafe Pastis
7310 SW 57TH Ave, South Miami, FL 33143-5312
(305) 665-3322
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 59 Restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French, Pizza, Californian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
miami, florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Authentic French cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The food is exquisite, very French. Friendly service. Wine list is superb.
The lamb was excellent. The grouper and chicken with couscous were delicious. Large selection of desserts. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great food & service! A standout in an area packed with forgettable restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Visited here after work one day with friends -- it is a tiny little place but cozy. Parking is available out front. Good wine list, lots of fish on the menu. The cheese tray was delicious. I expected the desserts to be more decadent for a French restaurant but they were just "ok." Service was prompt and efficient without being pushy. Overall, it was a fun change from regular Miami fare.

Only real complaint is that they have lights hung ABOVE the fans so shadows flicker across diners' faces throughout the meal - it is annoying and distracting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Second time as great as the first!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our second visit to Cafe Pastis, but it won't be our last. Trying to get into a restaurant in South Miami on a Saturday night can be nerve wracking, but we hit it just right and got the last available table. Service was wonderful. Each of the four of us ordered something different (lamb shank, grouper, and steaks done two different ways -one with bleu cheese) and each dish was elegant and excellent. The desserts were fabulous. If you don't get the chocolate mousse, then you only have yourself to blame for missing it. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Go again? Mais oui!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My father-in-law suggested we try Cafe Pastis, so we took him with us when we did. All three of us ordered something different, and each dish was very good. The dish that put this place over the top, especially for my husband, was the onion soup. It had everything you'd expect, but was perfectly balanced. So often, onion soup is way too salty, not this one. Hubby was in heaven. The waitress was very nice and knowledgeable about the menu. Will we be back? Absolu'mon! My only criticism is the tightness of the tables, but it's a tiny space, so there is little they could do about it. It's not something that would put me off going again...soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“My favorite French restaurant in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I am a local. When we want to eat French food we come here. You can't go wrong. Their quiche is phenomenal. I personally love it. The only bad thing about it is that everyone else does too and it's usually quite full esp during lunch. Their French onion soup is to die for. Desserts are all great too.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pastis also viewed

 
South Miami, FL
 

Been to Cafe Pastis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Pastis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.