We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Pastis

Cafe Pastis
7310 SW 57TH Ave, South Miami, FL 33143-5312
(305) 665-3322
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 58 Restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French, Pizza, Californian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“French Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a wonderful little French cafe, cramped, crowded and delicious. The Onion Soup is exceptional with a rich broth. Possibly the best I've ever had. The croque Monsieur is rich with butter, ham and melted cheese. The venue is tiny and very crowded and you are squeezed in, but I go for the food, not the ambiance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MIAMI
1 review
“As if in France....fabulous bistro!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just last eve I enjoyed the most amazing meal of escargot prepared with garlic basil butter and crusty French bread for endless dipping..and the house mesclun salad..followed by truly delicious braised duck legs confit prepared with a fig and black currant sauce...wow...I can't wait to return again and again..the service was gracious and this is a great bistro...can't wait to return for a heaping bowl of steamed mussels in white wine, with French fries, (as a friend ordered) and I look forward to it bringing back memories of same meal enjoyed a year ago in France...the only reason I rated it a 4 for value is because the prices are as expected rather than better than expected... Unless there are some special price menus that I missed...

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“That's a French Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Very French especially for lunch. I have been there many times,always very very good.

I would recommend everything they make if they don't run out of it by the time you get there.

You will not be disappointed unless Friday's is gourmet food to you.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Used to be great; now not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I used to come here a lot a few years ago, but recently the quality has slipped. The food is still good, but not great. Many of the former servers have left and it seems that the management has changed. The last time I was there, there was no Tarte Tatin, which used to be one of their signature desserts. (It was a Friday at noon, well before the weekend picked up when you might expect a restaurant to run out of something.) I'll still eat there because it's close to where I work and a good neighborhood option, but unfortunately the place has changed.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Local, just what Miami needs...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We (Miami) have too few good neighborhood, once a week type paces. This is one, however. Everthing was good, corkage fee is welcome and reasonable. Thanks for that. Sat outside. Lovely.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pastis also viewed

South Miami, FL
South Miami, FL
 
South Miami, FL
 

Been to Cafe Pastis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Pastis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.