We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basically Italian with a touch Peruvian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Sole

Trattoria Sole
5894 Sunset Dr, South Miami, FL 33143
+1 (305) 666-9392
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 58 restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: US-1 / SUNSET DR.
Description: Italian tradition teaches us that sharing a meal can bring out the best in people. Hearts are warmed, burdens are lifted, and friendships are deepened. Contemplate bring catered to the best Italian fare in town in a modern Italian ambience hosted by a friendly knowledgeable staff.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“basically Italian with a touch Peruvian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

At a time when most Italian restaurants in the US appear so homogeneous in menu Trattoria Sole is welcome. The traditional dishes are there. Yet, some of them show touches of originality like the crab ravioli with saffron. On the other hand, the fried calamari were overcooked and hence chewy. They have added some Peruvian dishes , particularly ceviches and a few Japanesse ones, after all, there is a significant Japanesse presence in Peru. Nevertheless, it cannot be missed, the trattoria looks and feels Italian. The service is good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    13
    17
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key Biscayne, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice Trattoria with excellent food. Steady quality and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a late dinner celebration and came back to Trattoria Sole. There were only two tables
as it was fairly late but they were more than happy to take care of us. There were five in our group and we had Spaghetti Vongole, Risotto Funghi, Polipo Olivo (Octopus), Fettucini Ragu, Spaghetty
Alio/Oli and Broiled Salmon. All the dishes were excellent, particularly the Octopus with the Beans, outstanding! The Salmon was ample and expertly prepared and the pasta dishes were also excellent. We even had a fish Ceviche (in an Italian Trattoria!) that was outstanding. Total price for five including tip was $240 or $48 per person, with eight drinks included. Good service , excellent quality and reasonable prices. No wonder they are so succesful!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our son moved to this area and we wanted a great restaurant to celebrate his successes. We looked at a lot of menus until we found this one!
http://www.trattoria-sole.com/ordereze/Menu/39/Menus.aspx The menu had something for everyone. We had such a great experience that we went there two days in a row.
Since I have allergies things have to be made with certain ingredients. They were all so eager to make the food anyway we would like it. I had Zuppa di Mare ($21.95)
Stew prepared with clams, mussels, shrimps, calamari, fish, white wine and garlic sauce that was incredible. (I ordered it both times) One of my kids had two different sushi's that she loved. My husband had Ravioli Di Zucca Con Asparagi (Pumpkin ravioli, asparagus, pink vodka sauce with salmon) that he keeps talking about and tonight he had Tortelloni Aji de Gallina ($16.95)
(Handmade tortelloni stuffed with pulled chicken mousse, walnuts, yellow pepper) that he also loved. My son wanted salmon but liked Fettuccine al Ragu ($15.95)
(GF Home made fettuccini with angus beef ragu, mushrooms, pink vodka sauce). They did the dish with salmon instead. The desserts were also great! Ricotta cheese cake that he can't find in many places.
Food, service, atmosphere were great!! I agree that the wait staff were very attentive and knowledgeable about menu.
What a great find! You won't be disappointed. Heard it is extremely busy during lunch- Stays open until at least 10:30 pm-

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I used to travel often to Miami 15-20 years ago this was our go to favorite restaurant run and managed by its italian owner who was very nice. It was a quaint corner restaurant excellent italian dishes.
Now it has doubled in size, menu has become a twist if italian/seafood/sushi place. The food was average.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The service here was outstanding. The wait staff were very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. I cannot eat anything with wheat/gluten and they were VERY GF-Friendly. The fodd was amazing. I had 2 appetizers: the Pulpo al Olivo (octopus with kalamata olive spread and bean salad), and the chicken Cauda. Both were delicious and big enough to be called small entrees! This restaurant is a little bit on the pricey side ($26 for 2 appetizers). We sat outside because it was FREEZING inside and we didn't have sweaters. The ambience inside was modern but rustic. Sidewalk tables were cozy and covered from the elements (it poured while we were there, thanks to Hurricane Sandy). I will definitely come back here when I'm in Miami next!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Sole also viewed

 
South Miami, FL
 

Been to Trattoria Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.