We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Maki

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sushi Maki
5812 Sunset Dr, South Miami, FL 33143-5220
(305) 667-7677
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 59 Restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

As we walked along, we weren't certain what we wanted to eat. But, when passing and looking at the different sushi dishes people were enjoying on the outdoor patio - we couldn't resist! Very fresh. Service could have been faster - but it was very busy. We would return at our next visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    5
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Thai - Great prices - Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Connie was a nice, polite, efficient waitress. No wait for a table.

I got the Thai Red Curry Chicken. I thought it was excellent! (I have eaten some really good Thai elsewhere, i.e., Tampa, and this was among the best.) It was twice the amount I was able to eat (for $12.95). It was so good that I nearly was unable to stop eating, though.

Saw what's written below about their sushi. I will try it for myself and see how it goes.

All in all, a great experience. Highly recommend for their Thai.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Our sushi was drowned in sauce and missing pieces”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I are looking for a sushi place to call home. Sadly this is not it. The service was average but I was disappointed by the food.
I ordered the "crunch" roll. It was FIVE pieces. This is a portion size for someone that has already had a feast, not a meal in itself. I have been to dozens of sushi places and this was by far the smallest serving. The pieces notwithstanding were enjoyable, but I found the volcano roll sauce made it MUCH better. (Keep reading)

My boyfriend ordered the volcano roll. He got 8 pieces, but the roll was covered in at least 3 oz of the mayo-based sauce. He spent a solid five minutes moving globs of mayo off of the roll so that the roll was visible to the naked eye. Any flavor of the roll was overpowered by the sauce, so it basically tasted like rice textured mayo.

It was a $40 meal for two rolls and unsweet tea. Sorry Sushi Maki, you are not the place for me.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Casual sushi establishment with various locations in South Florida. Generally no wait for a table at lunch or dinner.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I didn't like the place very much. The sashimi was too tick for my taste. The menu has variety, but nothing special or much different, that are things that I like when I go to a Japanese restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Maki also viewed

Been to Sushi Maki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Maki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.