We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "go to" sushi restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Maki

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sushi Maki
5812 Sunset Dr, South Miami, FL 33143-5220
(305) 667-7677
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 58 restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Miami
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our "go to" sushi restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

You can't go wrong here! We have eaten here on several occasions and have never been disappointed. You can't go wrong with the value of their lunch bento box! Tons of variety & always good. For a limited time they have a "white hot Heat" roll that I highly recommend. It's not too spicy, just right!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    8
    11
    5
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great for newbies!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was expecting a normal sushi restaurant, but instead got a very cool take on sushi. If you have any sushi virgin friends that refuse to eat raw fish, this is the place to take them. There are so many different types of rolls that I've never seen before, all sounded delicious. In the end I went with Godzilla Gone Wild (spicy tune, crab, eel, shrimp tempura, green tea soba noodles, spicy eel sauce).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Sushi Is Fresh, Service Is Sporatic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I like their menu offerings and each time I've ordered sushi, it has been cold and fresh. I also like their Bento Boxes for lunch, they're a good deal, complete with a small salad, dumplings, edemame and your choice of entree. (salmon!) The service can be anything from horrible to just fine - you never know what you're going to get. I have very good luck each time I visit their Palmetto Bay location, I prefer to dine there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Oddly, I ate some Sushi at the Chinese restaurant one night, then went to Sushi Maki one night. Both times the Sushi was fresh and good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
672 helpful votes 672 helpful votes
“the worst service and I still need to tip.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I should be taking times to read some reviews. I never wanted to go to a place with a review that at least have 20% bad review or even 3 star review.
I just landed to miami and starving, it was friday night. I asked the filipino waitress, how big is the super large sashimi and sushi platter is, and she explained to me, ITS A SUSHI MAM, with sashimi on top, raw fish. small rice with fishes or prawn on top of it.
and she took someone elses sushi from the bar and show it to me, THIS IS A SUSHI!

woow, I told her, I know what is sushi, I asked how big is your portion is. "YAA, its a sushi its this always in the same size"

after taking our order, I can see our sashimis, sushi rolls etc are finished and she just need to put it in our table, she didnt do that and I asked her "whatever finished just bring it to our table" she nodded but she still didnt take it, she was busy with other things when she just serve us.

after 5mins holding my anger, she finally came with all those things. passing plate to my face, and asked me to pass it to the rest of the people in my table. if you think the restaurant was packed there is no other place to walk, you could say so, but no its not.

so, the food was ok, but for the treatment? and I should tip for this kind of crap place? nah, im not reccomending it to anyone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Maki also viewed

South Miami, FL
South Miami, FL
 

Been to Sushi Maki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Maki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.