We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian Food But Service Needs Improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Imlee. An Indian Bistro

Imlee. An Indian Bistro
12663 S Dixie Hwy, South Miami, FL 33156-5931
(786) 293-2223
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 58 Restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: French, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: SW 128th Street and South Dixie Highway
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food But Service Needs Improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have patronized Imlee regularly and enjoy their food. Their dishes are wonderfully prepared and delicious. So far I would say the cooking has been more or less consistent.

The restaurant is small and has very limited seating. Parking is plentiful for this shopping center location.

I provide an average rating as I find the service can be slow and inattentive when refilling drinks or water. I have also felt rushed to eat and that is not pleasant. Maybe they want quick table turn over, but I would at least like to enjoy my food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    29
    23
    16
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Food always good, service has improved!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a business dinner here on a Wednesday night and I have to admit, the service has improved since I was last here a few months ago. The food has always been excellent but I was impressed. Unfortunately they did not have the bottle of wine we wanted to order but a substitute was recommended by the waiter and was good. We had the appetizer specials, both were good and then the always delicious mango curry, a lamb korma and a shrimp tikka - all great. The nan bread with the raisins and almonds is delicious, I have never wanted any other type after I tried this one here. We also had the eggplant dish that I can spell but sounds like begin bhata! All dishes were hot and served together. Mango chutney and cucumber raita on the side completed a fabulous meal. Congrats to Imlee for improving their service, it's still not perfect but it's definitely better! Make a reservation - it's always packed even on weeknights.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floRida
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Eight different kinds of nan. Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

What's better than nan? Eight kinds of nan. We had the regular nan (yum) and the garlic nan. The garlic nan was delicious on its own. We thought it changed the taste of our sauce and overpowered it. We had the chicken madras and lamb korma. The chicken had way too much sauce and a limited amount of chicken but it was delicious. The lamb was great with a nice thick sauce. The rice was perfectly made. For dessert? What else but gulab jamun. They serve it with sliced almonds and it was firm but not dense. The place is tiny. Hope you like being close to your fellow diners - which we don't mind at all. With a couple of beers our bill was $80 so not an inexpensive choice but I will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

i went there last night with my friends, this place has the best indian food ever, and the best service too, the waiters took very good care of us, they made my day, i was so happy to be there and give them a chance, thank u again, sorry didnt get ur names otherwise i would have send u a special thanks from me through TripAdvisor, plz keep ur service and the place and the food the way they are, its perfect, and i will definitely come back :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I love Imlee, simple down to earth place, you go there for food, the service is slllooowww and well not so nice, but my last trip, they had a younger nicer staff, though it still took and hour to seat us.
The curry, the Tikka masala, the nan, the next day I was ready to go again, it's quite light regardless of sauces and rice and bread you eat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imlee. An Indian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Imlee. An Indian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imlee. An Indian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.