We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eight different kinds of nan. Yummy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imlee. An Indian Bistro

Imlee. An Indian Bistro
12663 S Dixie Hwy, South Miami, FL 33156-5931
(786) 293-2223
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 58 Restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: French, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: SW 128th Street and South Dixie Highway
floRida
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Eight different kinds of nan. Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

What's better than nan? Eight kinds of nan. We had the regular nan (yum) and the garlic nan. The garlic nan was delicious on its own. We thought it changed the taste of our sauce and overpowered it. We had the chicken madras and lamb korma. The chicken had way too much sauce and a limited amount of chicken but it was delicious. The lamb was great with a nice thick sauce. The rice was perfectly made. For dessert? What else but gulab jamun. They serve it with sliced almonds and it was firm but not dense. The place is tiny. Hope you like being close to your fellow diners - which we don't mind at all. With a couple of beers our bill was $80 so not an inexpensive choice but I will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    29
    23
    16
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

i went there last night with my friends, this place has the best indian food ever, and the best service too, the waiters took very good care of us, they made my day, i was so happy to be there and give them a chance, thank u again, sorry didnt get ur names otherwise i would have send u a special thanks from me through TripAdvisor, plz keep ur service and the place and the food the way they are, its perfect, and i will definitely come back :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I love Imlee, simple down to earth place, you go there for food, the service is slllooowww and well not so nice, but my last trip, they had a younger nicer staff, though it still took and hour to seat us.
The curry, the Tikka masala, the nan, the next day I was ready to go again, it's quite light regardless of sauces and rice and bread you eat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We drove many miles to get to it in very rainy weather and it was all worth it. We give an A+ to this lovely gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Out of curiosity, last October I purchased a coupon for a meal at Imlee, filed it and forgot about it. I found it right when it was about to expire. I love good Indian food- authentic and earthy- and was curious about Imlee. The weather was awful and we drove several miles to the restaurant worrying that we were going to miss our scheduled reservation. When we called ahead we were politely advised they were fully booked but would do their best to accomodate us. When we finally arrived and apologized for being tardy we were seated with a smile. That's set the tone for a wonderful evening at Imlee. Our servers were very professional and warm. They were very busy and of coursed rushed bit that did not stop them from being attentive. The food was excellent. We have enjoyed Indian food all over the world- sometimes in award winning and very high-end restaurants- yet I would put our meal at Imlee right up there with the best. The portions at Imlee were abundant, the preparation exquisite and the menu variety impressive. Curries were outstanding, appetizers to die for (I have never seen such a large puffy vegetable samosa) and the variety of delicious bread was enough to make us want to sit there with a bowl of creamy curry sauce and just mop up and enjoy with Kingfisher beer. We ate so much that we had no room for dessert and yet took half of our dinner portions home! The restaurant is warm and cozy yet small so many tables are close to one another so don't expect a luxurious setting in that respect, but be sure that the service, the warmth of the staff- hard working, nonstop- and the outstanding food is enough to make you a fan of this modest,yet magnificent, treasure. We will definitely return and wish Imlee ongoing well-deserved and well-earned success. Mikki and Pablo Canton

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Hot and Cold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very good Indian food, but the service is consistently below average. We have eaten at this restaurant several times and every single time we have had service related problems. Water is never refilled, it takes them quite a long time to take your orders, orders come out wrong, the few waiters working look overworked, etc. This restaurant is definitely understaffed and in my opinion is the reason for all of their service related issues. Can't have that type of service ruin great food, especially since the prices are on the high end.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imlee. An Indian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Imlee. An Indian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imlee. An Indian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.