We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwiches and salads.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1909 Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
1909 Cafe
5710 Bird Rd, South Miami, FL 33155
(305) 666-1909
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 56 Restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Delivery
Islamorada, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and salads.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Their daily specials are always great! Soups and sandwiches are fresh and very tasty. Staff could be a little friendlier.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yum Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

They have great soups and sandwiches. My favorite is the Turkey Francais sandwich. The place is small, but they have tables outside. The staff has always been super nice, and the service is quick. I love to eat there!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coral gables
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Horrible Food, Bad Service, Bad Ambiance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

This is basically a sandwich shop, which is just what my partner and I wanted. We found the place on Trip Advisor and the ratings were good. But we were really dissappointed with the food more than anything. I ordered the Pesto Chicken Sandwich and he ordered the Medeterranean Turkey (which he liked ok, although it had globs of alfalfa sprouts on top---so much so that you couldn't even see the sandwich. My Pesto Chicken Sandwich on the other hand was as if someone had found it in a garbage can and slopped some chicken on it with some old pesto sauce from a jar and REALLY unripe tomatoes. I mean, almost green. Really? It's a sandwich shop. Give me a break. At least they should be using really red, ripe, roma tomatoes and not almost-green ones that they have had in a refridgerator overnight that have ice crystals on them. We concluded that we could have gone to Publix Supermarket and made out own sandwich for a lot less money (by the way, these two sandwiches and a diet coke were almost $19). Also, they offer these really crappy side dishes that come with the sandwiches. They come in a little tiny plastic container the size of those you find at chipootle for their sauces. But we didn't mind the small containers and small quantity in this case because the side dishes were awful. I chose the potato salad and my partner got the pasta salad. Again, just bad flavor and most of all, NOT fresh. We took one bite of each and threw them both in the garbage. The service wasn't horrible, but the girls working there were too busy BSing around with each other to really make us feel welcome. No suggestions were made on food. No smiles, nothing. Just "next customer" was our greeting and it was obvious they just wanted to take our order and move on to the next guest. They didn't make us feel welcome. The ambiance: this place is in a run-down strip mall and at first we sat at their tables outside in the parking lot, but it was too cold so we moved inside. If the food and service had been great, it wouldn't have been a big deal. But on top of the horrible food and lousy service, it really topped off an overall BAD experience.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great sandwiches and soups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Great sandwiches and soups

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good sandwiches!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

Good sandwiches!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1909 Cafe also viewed

 
South Miami, FL
 

Been to 1909 Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1909 Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.