We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Sushi places in Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akashi Japanese Restaurant

Akashi Japanese Restaurant
5830 S Dixie Hwy, South Miami, FL 33143-3688
(305) 665-6261
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 58 restaurants in South Miami
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the best Sushi places in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have been coming here for years. Other than NAOE which you will pay A LOT for this is by far the best sushi place in Miami. the food is always fresh and tasty and the service is usually always spot on. I will be coming here for years to come.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    13
    11
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but the place is too small!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The food here is amazing... the Alex#2 roll... is a "MUST TRY" it has been my fav roll for years now and only Akashi has it!!!.. the salads are tasty... the service is good enough but the place gets really crowded... the wait times are always long and the tables are way too close one from eachother... with all the people that goes there and the tasty the food is, I am sure they have money enough to invest a little and make this place a bit bigger... It would def help!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Mariano roll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I go here specifically for the Mariano roll. Baked salmon on top with shrimp tempura inside. I have been to countless sushi spots from Cali to New York Atlanta bmore Mia- by far top 3 rolls in my book! Small restaurant, service can be a bit slow when busy, but overall great people, great atmosphere and one of south miamis best spots for sushi.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love this cozy spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The place is always packed but that can only mean that it is doing something right. Love the small yet filling bowl of fried rice that definitely hits the spot when you are craving carbs. Then good ol' alex #2 roll..best sushi i have ever eaten in my life. Food is moderately priced but definitely a great spot when you are craving good sushi.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Neighborhood Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a family run spot, where you get great food in a cool environment. You could very easily be in New York City with the sexy decor and excellent food quality. Try the Alex #2 and the Tuna Tartare. You will thank me.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akashi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Akashi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akashi Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.