We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this cozy spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akashi Japanese Restaurant

Akashi Japanese Restaurant
5830 S Dixie Hwy, South Miami, FL 33143-3688
(305) 665-6261
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #20 of 57 restaurants in South Miami
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love this cozy spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The place is always packed but that can only mean that it is doing something right. Love the small yet filling bowl of fried rice that definitely hits the spot when you are craving carbs. Then good ol' alex #2 roll..best sushi i have ever eaten in my life. Food is moderately priced but definitely a great spot when you are craving good sushi.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    13
    11
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Neighborhood Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a family run spot, where you get great food in a cool environment. You could very easily be in New York City with the sexy decor and excellent food quality. Try the Alex #2 and the Tuna Tartare. You will thank me.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best, Freshest Sushi in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I am a big fan of Akashi. The place is small and intimate and it's always busy so you know the food is fresh. From very simple rolls to much more elaborate platters, this sushi experience is the best in Dade County.....

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sushi is awsome...very fresh and tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I love their sushi, one of the best places for sushi!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Classy, Authentic Sushi Experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The intimate, cafe-like atmosphere of Akashi is perfect for a date. If you sit at the bar, you'll enjoy an up-close view of the impressive saltwater reef aquarium visible throughout the restaurant. Service was friendly and quick, the menu was not too big but not too small, and I found exactly what I wanted. For a small, late dinner I had an order of warm, crispy and silky age tofu, a crunchy grilled-tasting salmon skin handroll an order of hamachi, and a small bottle of warm sake. Perfect. Let's face it, if you just want to eat sushi, you can get a decent roll and a bag of frozen edamame from your local grocery store these days. If you're looking for a high quality, fun, Japanese restaurant experience that is contemporary yet traditional, Akashi is it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akashi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Akashi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akashi Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.