We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi is awsome...very fresh and tasty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akashi Japanese Restaurant

Akashi Japanese Restaurant
5830 S Dixie Hwy, South Miami, FL 33143-3688
(305) 665-6261
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #20 of 57 restaurants in South Miami
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sushi is awsome...very fresh and tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I love their sushi, one of the best places for sushi!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    13
    11
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Classy, Authentic Sushi Experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The intimate, cafe-like atmosphere of Akashi is perfect for a date. If you sit at the bar, you'll enjoy an up-close view of the impressive saltwater reef aquarium visible throughout the restaurant. Service was friendly and quick, the menu was not too big but not too small, and I found exactly what I wanted. For a small, late dinner I had an order of warm, crispy and silky age tofu, a crunchy grilled-tasting salmon skin handroll an order of hamachi, and a small bottle of warm sake. Perfect. Let's face it, if you just want to eat sushi, you can get a decent roll and a bag of frozen edamame from your local grocery store these days. If you're looking for a high quality, fun, Japanese restaurant experience that is contemporary yet traditional, Akashi is it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I love going there. It's small but really fresh And delicious. I usually do takeout

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

nice greeters and the sushi was good. a little too dark inside

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“ONE OF MY FAVORITE RESTAURANTS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The restaurant is located right on the corner of U.S. 1 & S.W. 71st ST. There is metered parking diagonally across the restaurant or you can park at the Sunset mall parking garage at the end of the street. The restaurant is very quaint. It gets crowded very easily, especially during the weekend, but the wait is worth it. They do take reservations.

Looking at the place from outside you wouldn't think anything of it, but once inside, it feels like you're eating at a sushi restaurant in Japan. The interior is dark with bamboo glass panels along one wall, there's a large fish tank behind the sushi bar it's light illuminating the back area & small tables lined along each wall & down the center. You really can't hear the traffic coming from U.S. 1. The only noise you will get will be from your fellow "foodies".

The food is amazing. I've had many dishes here & I have no complaints. I recommend the Dragon roll, Alex #2 roll, Volcano (spicy), Kani-su, or the pan fried tilapia. The sushi is very fresh and tasty. I think the only downside you may experience is with the servers. I guess because the place is so small & gets quite busy they are always in a rush & not as attentive as other places. They are not mean nor do they rush you and when I've asked for their opinion they give it but do keep in mind they will be darting back & forth. Either way, I always go back for the amazing food! Hope you have a good experience as I've always had.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akashi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Akashi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akashi Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.