We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst food ever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Georges

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Georges
1549 Sunset Drive, South Miami, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 58 restaurants in South Miami
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worst food ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Went today, on a Sunday afternoon around 5pm. The only reason why aim not giving them a one is because they offered complimentary sparkling wine and service was not bad.
I know they are very busy on Saturday nights or just at night time, but I guess people go because of something else besides the food. I was between a seafood risotto and a short rib but the waiter suggested the short rib so that's what I ordered. They were disgusting. Very hard, which it shouldn't be the case because this meat gets cook for a lot of hours, but it was hard. Mashed potato extremely cold. My kids pasta was ok and my husband's burger probably worst in town. A BK was better than that one. The menu said it would bring caramel iced onions and the onions were not even cook, no pickles, meat was not medium as requested, just very plain, no taste, didn't look appealing at all.
Will never return for sure. Not worth the $60 and something spent for lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    8
    7
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must go if in South Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I love this place always a great vibe inside thanks to George being so friendly with his customers. The food is always great with a nice mix weather you want Steak there Filet is awesome or if you want a swordfish from the specials of the day or if you want to settle for a pasta the truffle is a must try my favorite!! Also you can't go wrong with there french onion soup and if you left room for dessert the creme brule is a good choice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Georges at south Miami is great, I have been in this place many times; I went last Monday and I was really surprise with new drinks they have. I tried a cocktail with vodka and champagne and I was amazed, it was soft and delicious, the food always has been excellent the same as the service. Now they have life music on Mondays, I planning to go back; my recommendation, please do not miss it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great food, lots of fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I am a local. This is my favorite "cool" restaurant to go to in Miami. The food is great. I've never had anything there I didn't like. If you like Mussels, get them here. They are phenomenal. It's a fun atmosphere without having to drive out all the way to south beach.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Georges is a very unique place. He has a variety of different themes and special events. Once I drove by and saw an elephant dining at Georges. Chef David prepares fantastic specialties and they are always consistent. Make this one an event not just a meal. Looking for a great brunch, try them on Sunday's for outstanding french toast and mimosas.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georges also viewed

South Miami, FL
South Miami, FL

Been to Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.