We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Southern cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whisk

Whisk
7382 SW 56th Avenue, South Miami, FL 33143
786-268-8350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 56 Restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sunset Drive & 74th Street
Description: Whisk Gourmet provides homestyle food using fresh, local, and organic ingredients. Come try Chef Brendan"s contemporary American cuisine with Lo'Country influence. We welcome reservations for parties of 6 or more only. All other guests will be seated on a first come first serve basis.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Southern cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch there on Friday 30th May, 2014. We started with Fried Green Tomatoes with buttermilk dressing - they were fantastic. Being a Friday they had a beef burger special - excellent. We also had the Balsamic Marinated Skirt-Steak Salad with Goat Cheese Fritter, the Tuna Melt and the Spicy Seared Beef. They were all excellent. The only down side was the noise. It was difficult to carry on a conversation.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    43
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've gone to Whisk on several occasions. I must say that the food never disappoints. The sandwiches are great, as are the salads. The weekend brunch menu is really good too. The main problems with the place are the parking and the service: the parking, a tiny parking lot impossible to park in -even when the restaurant is not full. The service is ok, I've had mixed experiences where on occasions they are nice, fast and attentive, and on others we wait hours to be seated and to be served (even if its not totally full).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great comfort food with a creative flair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We just had brunch at Whisk and it was really good. They're in a much bigger space than their original location which was way too small for such a good place. The service was very good, only one slip where the server was late with our coffees and we'd finished most of our dessert, something I find annoying when it's American coffee, meant to be with dessert-not after. Whisk has an outstanding chef/owner who truly gets traditional American cuisine but prepares it a step above the ordinary. We had a tasty dark porter ale in a funny flattend blue bottle. For entees we had the huevos rancheros, steak & eggs, fried green tomatoes and grouper sandwich. All were very good! For dessert we split pecan pie and biscuits with dulce de leche filling, also quite good. This new location can seat more people and there's no need to rush you out. They also have a decent parking lot and there are places nearby. The prices aren't cheap but also not the top.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“try the fried chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Their fried chicken with smashed potatoes and green beans was excellent. The chicken was crispy and delicious. The smashed potatoes with bacon bits and green onions were creamy. The green beans were served with a honey sauce that was so yummy. Their fried green tomatoes were also good. My picky daughter loved their smashed potatoes, too.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This is NOT what I asked for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

There were 3 of us for lunch on a Monday and the restaurant was not busy.My husband asked for some bread to eat while we waited for our entrees, but that never did come out. I asked for a filet mignon with only salt and pepper on it--but it came out with a brown sauce and I had to send it back. The sliders my husband ordered were just OK. My brother's order came out fine and he was able to take half of it home for dinner. So, try the brussel sprouts with cheese!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whisk also viewed

 

Been to Whisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whisk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.