We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whisk

Whisk
7382 SW 56th Avenue, South Miami, FL 33143
786-268-8350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 56 Restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sunset Drive & 74th Street
Description: Whisk Gourmet provides homestyle food using fresh, local, and organic ingredients. Come try Chef Brendan"s contemporary American cuisine with Lo'Country influence. We welcome reservations for parties of 6 or more only. All other guests will be seated on a first come first serve basis.
GA
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I like it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We saw this on Triple D and wanted to give it a try. Had the Turkey, Apple, Bacon Sndwh (does not come w/ anything on side-I ended up eating chips the other person didn't want), Whole Fried Snapper, chicken fingers and fries. Had to send back chicken fingers (didn't taste good) and order a grilled cheese. I liked my food. No one else liked their food except when we switched out chkn fngrs for grilled cheese. Win some - lose some. Our server was excellent, friendly and polite. Parking IS HORRIBLE! Pack your patience and just park where it is legal and not too far for you to walk.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    46
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Floyd, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Surprising combinations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The brother-sister team running this cozy spot have devised a bushel of ways to tempt the adventurous diner, often updating old Southern recipes. Whisk is on a side street off South Miami's downtown core, and discerning locals line up for a table at lunch and dinnertime. I liked the high tables next to the kitchen, where I could see the chefs at work and ogle the treats passed through the window for other tables.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belem, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Kind of a restaurant that you would't go if you are just visiting Miami for tourism. But, for the locals, its almost impossible to get a table or a reservation. Excellent menu and beer selection. All of the appetizers are highly recommended!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food but comes with attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at half filled restaurant and told to wait. When complained that there were plenty of empty tables we were seated. Food was good but after ordering bottle of wine,large salad and 2 entrees the $80.00 plus check arrived with a dollar charge for splitting the 12.95 salad. When complained was removed grudgingly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Got In Around 7 And It Was Just Right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We went ages ago in Coral gables when there were on 3 tables. At that time 11:30 am was hitting it close... But now we headed up the crowd.7 is the bewitching hour .it was packed on a Monday by 7:30. The place is modern and clean .. We both had tea(Arnold Palmers looked good,too) and Jeffery our waiter recommended Fried Green Tomatoes which was great, but even better were the sandwiches.. I had a tuna melt. Not ordinary by any means. Tuna was tuna...with Havarti, avocado, wonderfully ripe tomatoes, my husband had a steak sandwich with sundried tomatoes and a delicious sauce. I ate only 1/2 and packed up the rest.. We tried the entire time to figure out how the flavors in the sandwiches were so well blended. We split a Heath bar bread pudding which tasted like brioche with melted chocolate and Heath bars. The bill was quite reasonable for dinner. I think 58. For dinner with appetizer dessert, entrees and beverage and tip was beyond reasonable for a tucked away trendy and fun restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whisk also viewed

 

Been to Whisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whisk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.