We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whisk

Whisk
7382 SW 56th Avenue, South Miami, FL 33143
786-268-8350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 56 Restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sunset Drive & 74th Street
Description: Whisk Gourmet provides homestyle food using fresh, local, and organic ingredients. Come try Chef Brendan"s contemporary American cuisine with Lo'Country influence. We welcome reservations for parties of 6 or more only. All other guests will be seated on a first come first serve basis.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The new Whisk is pretty awesome. I was upset when the owners moved the old restaurant near Gables High - only had 4 tables - to the new location, but the. I visited the new Whisk and it was better than ever. A little pricier, but amazing food & service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    46
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto Bay, FL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food, service, atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you haven't been to Whisk you are missing something special. Three women friends and I went on a recent Saturday for a late lunch. The place was packed at 2 pm but with a reservation we got seated quickly. It's a stylish, bustling place, busy but not cramped. Everything looked good on the menu so it was hard to choose. We settled on a couple of appetizers to share including roasted brussels sprouts, (really tasty and crunchy) and warm cornbread (delish). I got the baked grits and veggie plate . Grits- cheesy and perfectly seasoned. Veggies- lightly roasted, crispy and fresh. My friends loved their dishes as well, and we shared a yummy blueberry bread pudding for dessert. We were waited on by the adorable Michael Hoffmann who was helpful, polite, knowledgable about the menu, laughed at our silly jokes and comments, and basically treated us like we were the most important people in the room. What else can you ask for?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Unique and Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had the pleasure to go here for lunch in June with my family to celebrate a birthday. This sleek, edgy restaurant with open kitchen offers up some surprising good fare with a casual feel. The menu shows some creativity along with nouveau southern dishes. We ordered numerous apps for the table and each was delicious (loved the dates!). The black bean soup was enjoyed by my grandson. Entrees went from tacos and fish sandwich to salads and a burger. I believe the menu changes frequently depending on what ingredients are fresh and available. Wine list was okay but my son in law enjoyed the special drink of the day - a non alcoholic concoction. Desserts were yummy as well. The staff was friendly efficient and accommodating to our one year old. Parking is the only challenge! The word is out - this place rocks!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“RUDE Manager Loren left us with a bad taste in our mouths!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We live in Weston but wanted to celebrate a birthday at this fun restaurant. We were running a little late and called ahead- we were told they would hold our table for 15 minutes. We arrived right on time and ran in while our friend tried to navigate the difficult parking situation. We were told in a cold, brusque and unfriendly manner by Loren, that our entire party must be present to be seated. He continued to say that he would wait 5 more minutes and then he would release the table... he made us feel like we would be lucky to be allowed to dine there (we were a party of 6- never mind we would be spending over $200!) How can a manager be allowed to treat guest in this rude manner!? A terrible first impression.
We were seated in an alcove sort of private area but the acoustics were poor and we had to shout to hear each other. Waters were not filled when needed but otherwise the server was very friendly and nice- Gisella. The food was above average- especially the Brussels sprouts and date apps. We are not sure if we would return because although the food tasted good- the manager Loren left us with a bad taste in our mouths!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem. An Insider's Top Pick.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The only thing that would make Whisk better would be a full liquor bar - that's just how good it is.

Classic american fare with a southern twist - fried green tomatoes, crisp and juicy fried chicken, housemade potato chips, always on the menu and always to die for. But the simple quality ingredients and un-fussy preparation is unmatched in Miami. Responsibly raised chicken and beef, slow-roasted cuban style pork (just to put in burritos), homemade dressings, slow-cooked soups (the variety is fantastic - but carrot ginger soup is mind blowing), it's ALL fantastic here.

It's a small place with a small parking lot, but big on charm, service, and flavor. Wine and beer selection is great - a lot of nice craft beers on tap and by the bottle. The people are great and are almost always willing to accommodate special requests and substitutions when they can. Burgers on Friday are great (and recently beat Bobby Flay at the Sobe wine and food fest burger bash), and the catering menu is great too (though they will happily package up anything off the regular menu to go also).

Run by a Miami local - and an all-around great family - one of Miami's best!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whisk also viewed

 

Been to Whisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whisk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.