We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whisk

Whisk
7382 SW 56th Avenue, South Miami, FL 33143
786-268-8350
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1 of 57 restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sunset Drive & 74th Street
Description: Whisk Gourmet provides homestyle food using fresh, local, and organic ingredients. Come try Chef Brendan"s contemporary American cuisine with Lo'Country influence. We welcome reservations for parties of 6 or more only. All other guests will be seated on a first come first serve basis.
Miami
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surpassed expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This place is tucked away off the main roads, but not hard to find. The parking lot is way small for the building, but there is plenty of street and lot parking a quick walk away. We were there just at the start of dinner time and our wait was reasonable, less than 30 minutes, the waits were getting longer. It seemed like its crowded inside, but after we sat it was fine. The tables are not to close together, which is a refreshing change and the ambient noise and music are reasonable. Our server came over quickly and we’d ordered several sides and appetizer and just one entrée to split. The waiter or kitchen took care of pacing the meal out to us so we constantly had new dishes coming out as old ones were empty. They were busy, so this attention to detail was impressive. To the food, they really do hit the mark. Good quality ingredients that are simply prepared and the center points of the dishes and the sauces and dressing is where the creativity shows, very nicely balanced. One point to note, the appetizers are smaller portions than is common, but are priced accordingly. The proportion of the entrée and sides were normal though. When you’re there make sure to get something involving corn, we had cornbread and several cornmeal crusted items and they were sweet and fresh tasting. I hadn’t had any good restaurants experiences in this part of town prior, so in the future I’ll start walking past those others and head straight to Whisk.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    43
    34
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fried Green tomatoes and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Not easy to find but we'll worth the search . Located on out of the way street behind the ACE hardware they specialize in gourmet southern comfort with local flare. Place is small and bit cramped ,reservations are recommended or 15 to 45 min wait is probable.
Food is fresh and local ingredients are the standard . We had fried green tomatoes and cornbread for starters followed by Shrimp and grits with fried chicken breast mashed potatoes and fresh veggies for main course. The sandwiches looked hearty and salads also seemed fresh and large . The bar is mostly wines with some locally brewed beers on tap . All around good food and service, definitely worth a try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasty casual eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Whisk offers a very healthy and enjoyable menu. The parking is rough and it can be noisy, but the food and service are great. The fried green tomatoes along with the bell jar glasses gives it a southern feel, but with modern food tastes. We enjoyed the sandwiches and entrees we ordered. Good food, good service and good value adds up to a good place to eat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I love whisk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The only negative is the acoustics in the restaurant every thing is excellent! It gets very noisy! The food, service and ambiance is great! Highly recommend this restaurant!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Foodies, don't miss it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Ate lunch here for the first time with my older son. Nice modern atmosphere and decor, OK service (U won't mind), because of the wonderful uniquely prepared food. Moderate prices with a good wine list. Will be back again & again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whisk also viewed

 

Been to Whisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whisk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.