We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Cod and Octopus in Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Lisbon - Sunset

Old Lisbon - Sunset
5837 Sunset Drive, South Miami, FL 33143
305-662-7435
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Lisbon - Sunset is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 58 restaurants in South Miami
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Cod and Octopus in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

This was our fourth time at this restaurant. If you want to try traditional Portuguese food this is the place to go. We started with the grilled Sardines, perfectly cooked and not over seasoned, meaty you would think that they are not from here..Sopa Verde, a clear broth consisting of chorizo and Collard Greens, excellent and of course, the Bacalao Gomes de
SA, traditional, homy and comforting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    11
    27
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a large business dinner here, taking up probably half the restaurant. We had a limited menu for a set price, but everyone was satisfied with the choices and they easily accommodated special dietary requests. All the food was excellent and the service was attentive and friendly

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Recalling how much we enjoyed the food the last time we traveled to Portugal, we have been wanting to try out Old Lisbon for quite some time. With the "Miami Spice" in full swing, we thought this is as good a time as any. We were there for lunch and we were ordering from the "Miami Spice" menu which usually has three items for each of the categories: Appetizers, Entrees, and Desserts. No sardine dish was available (even in the regular menu from which we ordered one dish) and only one dessert was available from the "Miami Spice" menu (although the menu on the "Miami Spice" site has three). No substitutions for the missing items were offered. We were quite disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“It is real Portuguese food in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This restaurant is a surprise among "ethnic restaurants" in the USA. The food is like we got in Portugal , it has not been Americanized. The cod, sardines, pork at the Alentejo style (with clams) are as good as in the home country. The service is actually better here than at many touristic places in Portugal. The setting is Portuguese themed without been overpowering quaint and the clientele counts with many who were, apparently, repeats. The wine selection is good and in keeping with the menu heritage.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous Portuguese Fare in South Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

On a recent trip to visit family in Miami I chose this restaurant out more because of a desire for Portuguese food than knowing anything about the restaurant. The appetizers were plentiful for five adults and everyone in my party was extremely satisfied with their main courses. The chouriço assado and Espetada Mista à Portuguesa were flavourful and the Vitela Assada fell right off the bone. I'd definitely go here again on my next trip to Miami.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Lisbon - Sunset also viewed

 

Been to Old Lisbon - Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Lisbon - Sunset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.