We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Lisbon - Sunset

Old Lisbon - Sunset
5837 Sunset Drive, South Miami, FL 33143
305-662-7435
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Lisbon - Sunset is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 70 Restaurants in South Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
163 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a large business dinner here, taking up probably half the restaurant. We had a limited menu for a set price, but everyone was satisfied with the choices and they easily accommodated special dietary requests. All the food was excellent and the service was attentive and friendly

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeneDoc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Recalling how much we enjoyed the food the last time we traveled to Portugal, we have been wanting to try out Old Lisbon for quite some time. With the "Miami Spice" in full swing, we thought this is as good a time as any. We were there for lunch and we were ordering from the "Miami Spice" menu which usually has three items for each of the categories: Appetizers, Entrees, and Desserts. No sardine dish was available (even in the regular menu from which we ordered one dish) and only one dessert was available from the "Miami Spice" menu (although the menu on the "Miami Spice" site has three). No substitutions for the missing items were offered. We were quite disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KamalP33156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
208 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“It is real Portuguese food in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This restaurant is a surprise among "ethnic restaurants" in the USA. The food is like we got in Portugal , it has not been Americanized. The cod, sardines, pork at the Alentejo style (with clams) are as good as in the home country. The service is actually better here than at many touristic places in Portugal. The setting is Portuguese themed without been overpowering quaint and the clientele counts with many who were, apparently, repeats. The wine selection is good and in keeping with the menu heritage.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank martinezcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous Portuguese Fare in South Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

On a recent trip to visit family in Miami I chose this restaurant out more because of a desire for Portuguese food than knowing anything about the restaurant. The appetizers were plentiful for five adults and everyone in my party was extremely satisfied with their main courses. The chouriço assado and Espetada Mista à Portuguesa were flavourful and the Vitela Assada fell right off the bone. I'd definitely go here again on my next trip to Miami.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aflopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A piece of Lisbon in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you like Seafood, Old Lisbon continues to provide great quality. They do many things right, but they have mastered the Cod fish!
The Cod fish, in any of their offerings, is the Best in Miami, period!

We try mixing it up, but always order the Cod Croquettes, Un-believably good! The Paella is also very good, made while you wait and served steaming Hot!
Last week we ordered the grilled Seafood platter and it was fantastic, with generous portions of Scallops, Fish and Lobster.
We keep going back and the food and hospitality only get better; The owner is always around and has a great staff; Sandra is a WONDERFULL server and always makes us feel welcomed.
Old Lisbon has stayed around for so long because they keep things simple and the quality of the food is top notch. I highly recommend a visit to Old Lisbon when in Miami.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rafi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Lisbon - Sunset also viewed

 

Been to Old Lisbon - Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing