We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm, savory codfish croquettes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Lisbon - Sunset

Old Lisbon - Sunset
5837 Sunset Drive, South Miami, FL 33143
305-662-7435
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Lisbon - Sunset is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 60 Restaurants in South Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“warm, savory codfish croquettes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Old Lisbon is on the popular restaurant street in the heart of the commercial district of South Miami. we went on a Monday night and it was busy and plenty of customers that looked like repeat visitors. We ordered the croquettes for appetizers and they were wonderful in appearance and flavor and came accompanied with black-eyed peas. I would have been happy with these as dinner! But we ordered codfish filets grilled and fried. Both very good and came with excellent potato sliced as chips or the healthy red peppers and potatoes.
Super warm and friendly waiters. And I ordered the Vinho verde, my husband the red house wine, he found great. Obrigada!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    38
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Old is new again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I've been going to Old Lisbon on Coral Way for years. It started when I moved to Miami and my best friend who is of Portuguese descend came to visit. He loved the food and so did I. When that restaurant a few blocks from my house, closed for renovations I was hesitant to try their new one in South Miami. A local friend finally convinced me and we had a lunch date. The new set up, like the old one, is small and cozy. Street parking, as in all of South Miami, is a problem, but there is a municipal parking garage less than a block away and metered parking in the back of the restaurant.
The menu is pretty similar to what I was used to, most of the "bacalhau" (cod fish) staples are there, but I also noticed they added a few beef and chicken dishes. We tried the Pasteis de Bacalhau (codfish croquettes) and they were very tasty though a little bit chewy. The Paelha à Marinheira (seafood paella) was simply spectacular, cooked to perfection and enough for 3 people (though the 2 of us made a very good dent on it). For dessert the Pudim Português com Vinho do Porto (the Portuguese version of flan) was very good and my friend loved the Delicia de Fátima (a custard and cream traditional dish) though I have never liked it, but that is a personal taste.
The service was confident, non-intrusive but friendly and very courteous. Prices are moderate and they have several lunch specials. I would highly recommend this place, especially if you like seafood.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best octopus in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Wherever I go I'm always looking for the best octopus in town and this time I found it in Old Lisbon at Sunset.

The grilled sardins are excelent, service and wine list as well.

This is a place to go back...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Fabulous Grilled Sardines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

While its not everyone's idea of fine seafood a perfectly grilled Portuguese sardine makes for one of the best dining experiences anywhere. Plump and charred on the outside and at a very reasonable price to boot. Also had an excellent sopa marinheira (seafood soup) slightly spicy broth with a good selection of properly cooked seafood. Topped off with good desserts and coffee on a pleasant sidewalk dining area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“real bacalhau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

this is an authentic portuguese restaurant with the best bacalhau that you can eat. simply delicious. it is worth a trip to this off the tourist route location.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Lisbon - Sunset also viewed

 

Been to Old Lisbon - Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Lisbon - Sunset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.