We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monkey Jungle

Monkey Jungle
14805 SW 216 St., South Miami, FL FL 33170
305-235-1611
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Dig (archeology), Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over 4,000 primates run free throughout this reserve.
Micanopy, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Wild!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to Monkey Jungle not know what to expect. We had been there as children & loved it. As adults, we still loved it. It is wonderfully kept up- w/a beautiful rain forest. The monkeys r basically free- the humans caged off, which is really cool! Impressed, too, w/the staff. They were helpful, knowledgable & very engaging. Loved the 2 older apes. A good time was had by all.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    66
    28
    13
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alhambra, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“GREAT experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Such a great place to visit...average $28/p depending on age.
We had a wonderful experience feeding monkeys along the caged paths where WE were in the cage and the monkey run free on 150 acres. There is a recreated actual rain forest on this property that was damaged by Hurricane Andrew but is already growing back.

The pathways are caged with monkeys running around above you...every once in a while there will be a dangling bowl on a chain where you can feed raisins or sunflower seeds to the monkeys that are waiting there...we even reached our hands up and a few would stick their arms down to take the raisins from our fingers!!

We sat for 4 shows and learned about monkeys, orang atans, silver back gorilla(rescued from a circus), and the spider monkeys in their rain forest. Watched various feedings and behaviors, narrated by staff members.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Educational and Fun - Monkey Jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time learning about monkeys at Monkey Jungle. The staff was happy to answer any questions in addition to what they shared during the informational programs. It is a one of a kind experience and well worth the trip. Feeding the monkeys is fun for everyone regardless of age. 2 to 3 hours is appropriate. Bring mosquito spray and apply it before you enter the park. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Go early in the day so you are able to attend the all of the educational sessions.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great monkey experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Visited Monkey Jungle with two small children. Great experience. Hundreds of monkeys to see and feed as well as two old but impressive apes. The staff were highly experienced and willing to answer our questions. This is not an attraction that would take whole day to visit - two or three hours is more than enough but its worth it if you or your children like monkeys. Resonably priced food - limited choice but good value.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

was a little wary at first when I heard that it was $30 for admission. I thought we would walk around and be done in 30 minutes...but it was completely worth it! Loved just wandering around and being able to interact with most monkeys up close. The shows were very entertaining, informational and exciting. Make sure to check the show times and plan to spend 2-3 hours in the park at least.

My wife is now convinced that we need a pet monkey!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Jungle also viewed

 

Been to Monkey Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkey Jungle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.