We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational and Fun - Monkey Jungle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monkey Jungle

Monkey Jungle
14805 SW 216 St., South Miami, FL FL 33170
305-235-1611
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Dig (archeology), Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over 4,000 primates run free throughout this reserve.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Educational and Fun - Monkey Jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time learning about monkeys at Monkey Jungle. The staff was happy to answer any questions in addition to what they shared during the informational programs. It is a one of a kind experience and well worth the trip. Feeding the monkeys is fun for everyone regardless of age. 2 to 3 hours is appropriate. Bring mosquito spray and apply it before you enter the park. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Go early in the day so you are able to attend the all of the educational sessions.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    66
    28
    13
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great monkey experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Visited Monkey Jungle with two small children. Great experience. Hundreds of monkeys to see and feed as well as two old but impressive apes. The staff were highly experienced and willing to answer our questions. This is not an attraction that would take whole day to visit - two or three hours is more than enough but its worth it if you or your children like monkeys. Resonably priced food - limited choice but good value.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

was a little wary at first when I heard that it was $30 for admission. I thought we would walk around and be done in 30 minutes...but it was completely worth it! Loved just wandering around and being able to interact with most monkeys up close. The shows were very entertaining, informational and exciting. Make sure to check the show times and plan to spend 2-3 hours in the park at least.

My wife is now convinced that we need a pet monkey!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We loved Monkey Jungle. There are soooo many monkeys and they are all cute and adorable. You get to feed them and watch their behavior. There are swimming monkeys too. We had the great fortune of being there and seeing 2 very newborn babies!! They were so tiny and lovable. It remains an extremely happy memory for my boyfriend and I. INVEST IN BUG SPRAY though. It's more expensive in the gift shop and if you go during the summer, you will need it, head to toe. That is the one down side to this place - the gift shop stuff, I felt was to pricey for my budget and not varied enough. No reason not to go and have a good time.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Meet and feed the Monkeys @ Monkey Jungle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Earlier this week I had the opportunity to visit Monkey Jungle in South Miami and it was way more than I expected. A big thanks to Stephen and team for the gracious welcome.

At Monkey Jungle each guest has the opportunity to FEED a real MONKEY.... how cool! you can buy monkey food (raisins) for like $1. it is totally fun and not scary at all. But be sure to follow the suggestions (rules) given by your guide for safety.

Our guide Carlos was great and very informative. We were lucky enough to get to explore the Rainforest exhibition (totally worth the additional cost) where a monkey even climbed on to my arm --- great photos!

Megan told us about Mei the orangutan and King the Ape both of whom hold their own in the Jungle. I totally loved that the monkeys and apes were left to do their own thing... even in the "shows" if they didn't feel like doing a certain behaviour they didn't have to. In most parts of the Jungle the PEOPLE ARE IN CAGES while the monkeys run free. it's very cool to observe their patterns and habits.

overall Monkey Jungle is pretty cool. very clean, not smelly at all and incredibly informative. I can't wait to return.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Jungle also viewed

 

Been to Monkey Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkey Jungle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.