We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place to Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monkey Jungle

Monkey Jungle
14805 SW 216 St., South Miami, FL FL 33170
305-235-1611
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Dig (archeology), Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Over 4,000 primates run free throughout this reserve.
DC Metro area
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fun Place to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice place to come for a couple of hours. Grounds are clean and the staff was friendly. The animals look like they are taken care of. As you walk through the park, there are plenty of areas where you're in a cage and the monkeys drop down cups on a chain for you to put food in. Lots of fun. They also have some shows. We did the behind the scene tour and got to hand feed the monkeys and have them climb all over you. Nice place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    61
    26
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
RI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Monkey Jungle with 8 and 10 year old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

MJ is amazing however, very pricey. The website is somewhat misleading in that you can see lots of monkeys and they are roaming free but they are separated from the guests. It is the guests who are in an enclosure and for regular admission you only get to put food into bowls that the monkeys pull up on chains into the canopy to eat. Unless.... you pay an extra hefty fee (100 more). Then you can go inside an open area where there are Capuchin monkeys that will tentatively take food from your hands and occasionally crawl on you. This is not a cheap escapade but if you have the bucks to burn it is a cool but brief (20 minute) adventure.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Monkey Business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

If you are in to Monkeys than you will love Monkey Jungle, very interactive, a lot of monkeys, good shows, not too long and informative.
We all thoroughly enjoyed our visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had to visit this spot since this was just down the road from our campground. It is expensive but worth the price. We did not spend the extra money to “play with the monkeys” but more on that later. They say that this is a place where the monkeys are free and the humans are caged and they are right. Of course, having over 4000 simians, you have to limit their territory to a place smaller than SW Miami! The monkey enclosure is enclosed and your paths are caged in them. Other reviews were critical that the residents were really in cages but they may just be overly critical. You walk through the park and there are many cages with exotic birds, apes and monkeys in them but they are very large cages, and well kept. I have not seen cleaner exhibits even at the Bronx Zoo or Phila Zoo. The residents were in well kept habitats; very clean and appeared healthy. The bird exhibits were spotless, clean and the birds were comfortable. We have had birds as pets and know when they are stressed. These birds were content and very well cared for. The monkey cages were constantly being cleaned while we walked through the park; very impressive especially considering how much area is covered. As you walk though the display you are actually caged in and the monkeys are all around you. There are several stations within the park that have little pans on chains where you can put in raisins or sunflower seeds and the monkeys pull them up to have a snack. The staff are knowledgeable about the animals and their habitats and give presentations at various stops within the park. They were informative and well presented. We were really impressed with the conditions of the ape and monkey residents that we felt that it might be worth going on the "one-on-one" tours with the monkeys on our next visit. The admission tickets are not cheap and the tickets to interact with the monkeys are even more but when you see how clean, well kept and fed all of the animals are, you will gladly pay the price to have the experience and help support their care. We give a “Well Done” to Chris who recommended a visit while at the campground!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Marvelous Monkey Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our afternoon at Monkey Jungle. It was rainy and cool - definitely not beach weather - so we headed to Monkey Jungle. The six of us (my parents and our young kids (ages 4 & 5)) all really enjoyed the experience.

We spent three hours walking the exhibits. It is a small facility, but fantastic with what they offer. We love the Cincinnati Zoo and we thought this was even more interactive and better for our kids. The monkeys are really really cute and we got to spend a ton of time hands-on with them. They are running around on top of you almost the entire time you are in the facility. The monkeys are adorable and wild. We got quite a lot of time to enjoy them.

They loved the raisins/craisins/berries and sunflower seeds. It was fantastic to feed them and put treats in their little metal dishes. They then pull them up and nibble away. They are human-like that it's almost crazy - I have such an appreciation for these animals.

This isn't a cheap place to spend a few hours, but it is unique and an experience your family will love.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Jungle also viewed

 

Been to Monkey Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkey Jungle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;