We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always out of something” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Backyard Boys Bar-B-Que

Backyard Boys Bar-B-Que
1840 South Ridgewood Avenue, South Daytona, FL 32119
386-767-5252
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Port Orange, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always out of something”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The food was good BBQ but when your 10 yr old daughter orders choclate milk from the menu and you are informed that they are out of it you again must question the management for not going next door to Publix and buying some Hersheys syrup. Or take it off the menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“When you have a HANKERIN' for RIBS, this place satisfies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

The St. Louis Rib dinner comes ALL you can eat, plate after plate of succulent smoked satisfaction! The ribs are tender and meaty, and the meal comes with either garlic toast or cornbread loaf and a choice of two sides...one of which MUST be the greens in my opinion, they are loaded with pork and tremendously flavorful. The service is really friendly and FAST, they turn around a re-order of ribs before you can finish the one in your hands! Interestingly, with the all you can eat option, you can request ANY of the meats (pulled pork, chicken, turkey, beef) upon reorder...I have had the pulled pork and put it open faced on the toasted garlic bread, YUM. They even send you out the door with a "to go" cup of your beverage...satisfaction is their business.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Shores,fl
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“good bar-bque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Everything we have have eaten has been very good. Be sure to try the corn nuggets( a side)
Ordered our Thanksgiving smoked turkey from them and would definitely do it again

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good Local BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We first ate here for lunch several months ago after they first opened. The food was good, they had a nice selection of sauces, and the wait staff was very attentive.

Since that first visit we have been back many times and it's now a regular on our lunch circuit. The Cole slaw is delicious, not too wet, and the fried apples are great. I had the turkey and brisket - and topped it off with some excellent corn bread. Their corn bread is moist and juicyand is definitely a great complement to the meal.

The restaurant is always clean, and neat, and the staff is friendly as can be. I will continue to be a regular.
.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Out of Baked taters at Dinner?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Six of us dined there minutes ago and it was hectic. If not for the good food the night would have been a total loss. 6:45 and when our meals arrived we were informed that they had just run out of sweet and baked potatoes. Could you have given us a heads up before ordering? Then while food on table was chilling they scrambled to get our newly ordered side items. By the time they arrived(ff,fried mac and corn nugs) they forgot to bring my daughters applesauce and moms slaw. Oh not to mention no silverware for five mins to eat my salad. I did go get some at the servers station. No sincere apology....wait I just remembered one more thing, no large togo containers, when finally fed up we had to take home our cold food in many little sandwich containers. Need I say LAST VISIT> and 50degrees in there bring a parka

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backyard Boys Bar-B-Que also viewed

 
South Daytona, FL
 

Been to Backyard Boys Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backyard Boys Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.