We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear Donny” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan Inn

The Swan Inn
Swan Lane, Barnby NR34 7QF, England
01502476646
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Barnby
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oh Dear Donny”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

What has gone wrong? Used to be the ultimate fish restaurant with long waiting lists for Friday or Saturday nights. Should have known something was wrong when phoned Wednesday & had no problem getting in for prime time Friday. Whitebait sloppy, calamari tasteless, had to ask for essential dips. Both had whole turbot which had a strong chemical taste & smell. Persevered for a while, but gave up as it was obviously off. Nobody came back into the restaurant to check if all was OK. Eventually, I managed to call a waitress over & explained the problem, but neither she or the chef would agree, insisting both plates were fine, quite insulted that we should complain.
A reduced bill was hastily paid, glad to exit feeling slightly nauseous.
Had a similar disputed situation last year, when 1of 4 fish was off, but thought that was a one off.
Definitely will never go back again, they've lost the plot.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    18
    16
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willingham St. Mary Beccles Suffolk England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Barnby Swan Inn, Swan Lane Nr Beccles, Beccles England.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great best all round, best food, best staff, great ambiance for miles around, Can't fault a thing, been going for thirty years.Great value, lovely helpful staff always polite, with a smile, know where better for miles, See for yourself

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willingham St. Mary Beccles Suffolk England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Barnby Swan Inn, Swan Lane Nr Beccles, Beccles England.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My family and I have been going to The Swan Inn, Swan Lane, Near Beccles , England, For almost thirty years, and in all that time we have never had a poor or bad meal, it's all way's been cooked superbly, and plated well, served with members of staff with a smile, and staff all-way's been around to help if needed, I admit there have been occasional moments when new youngsters come, and maybe it's taken them to fall in line withe the longer reigning staff, but all restaurants, have occasions like that, the size of meals are well above average , you can't fault the size of the fish, it' truly good value for your money, Before my wifes stroke we had a standing Booking every week, alas it has to settle for every fortnight, So I feel in a position to speak for the Restaurants, Quality, food, and ambiance. Mrs M. Golding & Family.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This restaurant has really come down since being in its heyday. The food was overpriced and over rated. The waiting staff were average but the food was below par. Its a shame really because it was good at one time but as other reviewers have said, it is stuck in a time warp and needs an overhaul, of the menu and the surroundings.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

By the look of the car park this place is popular. However, we were totally overwhelmed by the huge menu and specials available. The inn specialises in fish but there was so much choice it was difficult to decide. In the end we selected sea bass but it was very bland. The sauce tasted of nothing in particular although it was supposed to contain brandy. The new potatoes were buried under a mountain of chips.
Service was prompt and efficient/ We understood that there are two sittings and we had the early table. Deserts were good but not exceptionable

I believe that this place could be so much better if the menu consisted of less choice and
the catch of the day was displayed clearly on the board.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.