We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint family stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Sun Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Siesta Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropical Sun Resort
Save Saved
You added Tropical Sun Resort to your Saves list
6722 Midnight Pass Road, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Siesta Key
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Quaint family stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This resort lives up to the previous reviews. It is reasonably priced. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Amazing movie selections for free. Really comfy beds. There were 14 in our group and the tiki hut was awesome! Used the grill for a crab leg and shrimp feast. Grocery is close and beach is just a short stroll. Have already recommended to a friend coming this summer. Job well done folks. Job well done. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Rm 120 is a little dark but other 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom suites were beautiful and newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Sun Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
It's always great to know read that a larger group really enjoyed their stay with us so much! Thanks for sharing how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you this summer and are very happy that you plan on returning to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    24
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
58
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

While searching for somewhere close to home to vacation I stumbled on the Tropical Beach Resorts- consisting of three properties adjacent to each other: Tropical Beach, Tropical Sun and Sara Sea. A two minute walk to the beach and we were in heaven.

The property itself is well kept, friendly staff and they go above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable. There is complimentary yoga Saturday and Sunday mornings which is a must. The room was perfect for what we needed, and we got it at an excellent price online through the hotel website.

Complimentary coffee, beach towels were a great help. The beach, Crescent Beach, is not crowded like Siesta Key beach and just as beautiful. I'm not for the hustle and bustle of tourist places so it was perfect.

Strongly recommend!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Sun Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We really loved reading your review and want to thank you for your great feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, took advantage of our beach yoga, and truly enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you in the future the next time you visit beautiful Siesta Key!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

A adorable little condo style resort. The room was a little small but a full kitchenette, bed, dining table and couch/love seat. The beach was a quick walk over a small bridge. The room was very clean even with the tile floors which are difficult to maintain with all the sand. The provided beach chairs which was nice. I can't say much about the pool as we spent our time out by the beach. There were lots of resturants with in walking distance. I spend alot of time traveling to various hotel/motels and it was def worth the money we had the best time

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Sun Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share you great comments with us! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! Your comments really do mean a lot to us and we look forward to seeing you in the future! As just a small note of correction so not to confuse future travelers.. there is not a bridge connection from this hotel to the beach. Accommodations are located gulf side, no roads to cross, with a direct beach access. All apartments offer a garden view, not a beach view, and are less than a five minute walk from any room to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Found this place on Trip Advisor, and then found a promo price on their website. While the resort looks old fashioned on the outside, the rooms are wonderfully updated and well appointed. Better than some so-called "upscale" hotels we've stayed in. Grounds are well kept, all is clean and lots of nice touches. Easy walk to the beach, close by stores & restaurants if you don't want to drive. Staff were great. Wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Sun Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments with us! We are so pleased that you found your accommodations and stay perfect for your vacation and plan to come back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Wife and I arrived mid-week for a six day stay. Everything was as advertised -- place was neat and clean. Good location with small grocery and a few restaurants within walking distance. Paid about $100 per night via booking.com, which was reasonable given the location and local market. Friendly staff. All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Sun Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We sure appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again this year! We truly appreciate your positive feedback and support and will also strive to exceed your expectations and make your stay on Siesta Key extra special!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We arrived late in the evening and the staff kindly arranged a late check in for us which was greatly appreciated! The room was very nice. It was spacious and clean, and included a nice little kitchenette area. They provided plenty of extra towels in the room, which is always nice when you are staying near a beach. Free wifi was nice for relaxing in the evenings.

The beach is about a 5 minute walk. Be sure to pick up beach towels and chairs from the front desk for no charge, otherwise there's no good place to set your things. There are chairs with an umbrella that you can rent on the beach, but it costs $20 each! They are nicer than the free ones, but not worth it unless you are staying all day.

There are lots of restaurants and shops nearby, or if you want a quick snack on your way to the beach try the Doodle Dogs cart, which has bagels, breakfast sandwiches, hot dogs, etc.

We enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be back if we visit the area again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Sun Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thanks so much for the great review and for staying with us! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Tropical Sun while staying on Siesta Key and really appreciate your recommendation! We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Date and Travellers: July 30 (check-in at 2:30 pm; normally at 3:30 pm but we arrived early and the staff was nice enough to let us check-in early) and July 31 (check-out no later than 10 a.m.); my pregnant wife, two-year old daughter, and I.

First Impressions: After pulling off of Midnight Pass Road and onto Sara Sea Circle, we proceeded to drive around the resort’s complex and make a loop to get an overall impression of the grounds and were very happy to notice the nicely manicured lawns, litter-free grounds, and abundance of palm trees and flowering bushes; all of it lent a “tropical getaway” feel and definitely met our expectations. There were tiki huts/patios with gas grills and, while they were situated next to the private roads, still looked secluded and a nice place to relax due to their being enclosed by plants and bushes. The beach access was clearly evident at the apex of the road before it wound back toward Midnight Pass Road and although Tropical Beach Resorts are right next to other resorts situated closer to the beach access (Sea Club V, The Capri, etc.), everything felt like a resort community.

Check-In: Effortless. As local travelers arriving from the Tampa area on a Monday (July 30, 2012), we had booked our room the very same morning of the day of our arrival and, except for a minor glitch pertaining to one of their internet specials (discussed at the end of the review), the staff was very friendly and had us in and out of the small registration office in a matter of minutes. It is always comforting to know that a hotel’s staff can handle themselves even amidst some frustrating situations (taking calls for maintenance issues, dealing face-to-face with irritated guests, and welcoming arriving guests cramming into the small office space) because we noticed the staff dealing with all of those situations while still making us feel welcome and resolving the issues at the same time.

Location/Room Type/Beach Access: The resort is actually three different resorts (Tropical Sun, Sara Sea, and Tropical Shores) located on the gulf-side of Midnight Pass Road meaning you do not have to cross any streets and deal with car traffic to make your way to the private beach access and onto beautiful Crescent Beach. We reserved the Sun Grand Heron King room at their Tropical Sun Resort via phone using a “Manager Promo Internet” designation that we found online and were pleasantly surprised and extremely pleased at unit 167 because it was on a corner by itself next to Midnight Pass Road. It was a very spacious room and the décor and furniture definitely yelled “seaside” and was very nice and comfortable; the king-sized bed was the star of the room and was a hit with all of us, especially my 2-year old. There is a fully-equipped kitchen and the bathroom also had a Jacuzzi tub which we did not get to use but was nice and large.
With a pregnant wife and 2-year old daughter who loved to stop and look at the flowers or tell us how much she loved being on a beach vacation, the walk to the beach took us a couple of minutes but it was a pleasant walk through nice grounds and a serene resort community/neighborhood. Upon arriving at the beach around 3:30 p.m. or so, we loved the soft sand, the spectacularly naturally occurring medium-sized tide pool offset from the shoreline that was popular with kids and adults alike, and the generally peaceful and calm environment that we felt immediately surrounding us. My daughter immediately set to picking up shells and my wife and I immediately set out to relax and enjoy the beach before dinner. The only thing that detracted from the beach scene was a line of seaweed along the shore but, trust me, it was not a huge impediment to our enjoying the beach and was easily ignored and traversed. You can rent chairs/umbrellas for $20 but unless absolutely necessary and desired, you can forego it and just check-out chairs from the office itself.

Locations of Interest/Restaurants: Some notable locations that we did not get to explore but show-up on visitor guides are: Turtle Beach, Point of Rocks (right next to the resorts Crescent Beach, actually), and Sarasota Public Beach. We would definitely recommend Siesta Key Village as a destination for breakfast, lunch, and dinner because we ate at Bonjour Café for breakfast on the day of our departure and it was a perfect way to end our stay. On the day of our arrival, we ate at “The Cottage” for lunch and spent $36.36 but it was the best lunch we had ever had for the price in terms of presentation and taste. Do not let the “bar” environment fool you; stay and order food and you will be insanely surprised. We also ate at the Lobster Pot for dinner on the day of our arrival and it, too, was very enjoyable and delicious. Definitely visit Big Olaf’s Creamery for ice cream and delicious fudge (note that they take CASH ONLY) and visit the Mini Donuts establishment attached to the Lobster Pot building. Siesta Key Village is definitely pleasant and nice to walk around, especially toward dusk, and we would recommend it for families and couples alike. ALSO, there is a hot dog stand right across from the resort's registration office called "Doodle Dogs" and it is run by a very nice gentleman who serves Nathan's hot dogs; good place to stop for a snack before or after the beach.

Verdict: Overall, our stay at Tropical Sun Resort was stress-free and a great introduction to the Siesta Key area. As for the aforementioned "glitch" with the internet special: the resort's website states, "Make a direct reservation (one special offer per reservation) with us for any dates in August 2012 between July 27-August 5th, 2012 AND receive a one night gift certificate to come back before December 24th (Sunday-Thursday!)..." After calling earlier in the morning to book the room and further confirm that we qualified for this special "gift certificate", we found out that we didn't qualify for it, after all, because we had booked the room using a "Manager Promo Internet" special (even though the person on the phone confirmed that we qualified for it as I was making the reservation that morning). Not a big deal; just confirm and reconfirm a special as you check-in but for its pleasantness, beauty, and overall great place for a getaway, we do not hesitate to recommend the Tropical Sun Resort as a place to stay on Siesta Key! We look forward to returning one more time before my wife’s due date in December. 

Room Tip: Check the resort's website for truly awesome rates, especially their "Manager Promo Interne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Sun Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank-you very much for the great review of the resort and the overall area on Siesta Key! We are pleased to say that beach conditions are very favorable and the seaweed that washed ashore has been cleaned up. Regarding a free night certificate.. yes, it is correct a manager promotion does not qualify for additional discounts (one special offer per stay). If you were told otherwise, at anytime during the reservation process, please call me directly at 941-349-3330 Ext. 203 and we will be happy to take care of this for you. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your family coming back in the future! Thanks again for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sun Resort

Address: 6722 Midnight Pass Road, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Siesta Key
#2 Green Hotel in Siesta Key
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#5 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All include high-end amenities; luxury furnishings; Sealy pillow-top beds; full state-of-the-art kitchens including stainless steel appliances and granite counter tops; spacious bathrooms with tubs; central AC, soundproof windows and high-tech conveniences such as free wireless Internet access, 32” flat panel TVs, iPod docking stations, DVD players, key card entry, in room safes and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropical Sun Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Sun Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Sun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.