We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in a great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Sun Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Siesta Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropical Sun Resort
6722 Midnight Pass Road, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Siesta Key
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great value in a great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We arrived late in the evening and the staff kindly arranged a late check in for us which was greatly appreciated! The room was very nice. It was spacious and clean, and included a nice little kitchenette area. They provided plenty of extra towels in the room, which is always nice when you are staying near a beach. Free wifi was nice for relaxing in the evenings.

The beach is about a 5 minute walk. Be sure to pick up beach towels and chairs from the front desk for no charge, otherwise there's no good place to set your things. There are chairs with an umbrella that you can rent on the beach, but it costs $20 each! They are nicer than the free ones, but not worth it unless you are staying all day.

There are lots of restaurants and shops nearby, or if you want a quick snack on your way to the beach try the Doodle Dogs cart, which has bagels, breakfast sandwiches, hot dogs, etc.

We enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be back if we visit the area again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Sun Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thanks so much for the great review and for staying with us! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Tropical Sun while staying on Siesta Key and really appreciate your recommendation! We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    23
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
58
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Date and Travellers: July 30 (check-in at 2:30 pm; normally at 3:30 pm but we arrived early and the staff was nice enough to let us check-in early) and July 31 (check-out no later than 10 a.m.); my pregnant wife, two-year old daughter, and I.

First Impressions: After pulling off of Midnight Pass Road and onto Sara Sea Circle, we proceeded to drive around the resort’s complex and make a loop to get an overall impression of the grounds and were very happy to notice the nicely manicured lawns, litter-free grounds, and abundance of palm trees and flowering bushes; all of it lent a “tropical getaway” feel and definitely met our expectations. There were tiki huts/patios with gas grills and, while they were situated next to the private roads, still looked secluded and a nice place to relax due to their being enclosed by plants and bushes. The beach access was clearly evident at the apex of the road before it wound back toward Midnight Pass Road and although Tropical Beach Resorts are right next to other resorts situated closer to the beach access (Sea Club V, The Capri, etc.), everything felt like a resort community.

Check-In: Effortless. As local travelers arriving from the Tampa area on a Monday (July 30, 2012), we had booked our room the very same morning of the day of our arrival and, except for a minor glitch pertaining to one of their internet specials (discussed at the end of the review), the staff was very friendly and had us in and out of the small registration office in a matter of minutes. It is always comforting to know that a hotel’s staff can handle themselves even amidst some frustrating situations (taking calls for maintenance issues, dealing face-to-face with irritated guests, and welcoming arriving guests cramming into the small office space) because we noticed the staff dealing with all of those situations while still making us feel welcome and resolving the issues at the same time.

Location/Room Type/Beach Access: The resort is actually three different resorts (Tropical Sun, Sara Sea, and Tropical Shores) located on the gulf-side of Midnight Pass Road meaning you do not have to cross any streets and deal with car traffic to make your way to the private beach access and onto beautiful Crescent Beach. We reserved the Sun Grand Heron King room at their Tropical Sun Resort via phone using a “Manager Promo Internet” designation that we found online and were pleasantly surprised and extremely pleased at unit 167 because it was on a corner by itself next to Midnight Pass Road. It was a very spacious room and the décor and furniture definitely yelled “seaside” and was very nice and comfortable; the king-sized bed was the star of the room and was a hit with all of us, especially my 2-year old. There is a fully-equipped kitchen and the bathroom also had a Jacuzzi tub which we did not get to use but was nice and large.
With a pregnant wife and 2-year old daughter who loved to stop and look at the flowers or tell us how much she loved being on a beach vacation, the walk to the beach took us a couple of minutes but it was a pleasant walk through nice grounds and a serene resort community/neighborhood. Upon arriving at the beach around 3:30 p.m. or so, we loved the soft sand, the spectacularly naturally occurring medium-sized tide pool offset from the shoreline that was popular with kids and adults alike, and the generally peaceful and calm environment that we felt immediately surrounding us. My daughter immediately set to picking up shells and my wife and I immediately set out to relax and enjoy the beach before dinner. The only thing that detracted from the beach scene was a line of seaweed along the shore but, trust me, it was not a huge impediment to our enjoying the beach and was easily ignored and traversed. You can rent chairs/umbrellas for $20 but unless absolutely necessary and desired, you can forego it and just check-out chairs from the office itself.

Locations of Interest/Restaurants: Some notable locations that we did not get to explore but show-up on visitor guides are: Turtle Beach, Point of Rocks (right next to the resorts Crescent Beach, actually), and Sarasota Public Beach. We would definitely recommend Siesta Key Village as a destination for breakfast, lunch, and dinner because we ate at Bonjour Café for breakfast on the day of our departure and it was a perfect way to end our stay. On the day of our arrival, we ate at “The Cottage” for lunch and spent $36.36 but it was the best lunch we had ever had for the price in terms of presentation and taste. Do not let the “bar” environment fool you; stay and order food and you will be insanely surprised. We also ate at the Lobster Pot for dinner on the day of our arrival and it, too, was very enjoyable and delicious. Definitely visit Big Olaf’s Creamery for ice cream and delicious fudge (note that they take CASH ONLY) and visit the Mini Donuts establishment attached to the Lobster Pot building. Siesta Key Village is definitely pleasant and nice to walk around, especially toward dusk, and we would recommend it for families and couples alike. ALSO, there is a hot dog stand right across from the resort's registration office called "Doodle Dogs" and it is run by a very nice gentleman who serves Nathan's hot dogs; good place to stop for a snack before or after the beach.

Verdict: Overall, our stay at Tropical Sun Resort was stress-free and a great introduction to the Siesta Key area. As for the aforementioned "glitch" with the internet special: the resort's website states, "Make a direct reservation (one special offer per reservation) with us for any dates in August 2012 between July 27-August 5th, 2012 AND receive a one night gift certificate to come back before December 24th (Sunday-Thursday!)..." After calling earlier in the morning to book the room and further confirm that we qualified for this special "gift certificate", we found out that we didn't qualify for it, after all, because we had booked the room using a "Manager Promo Internet" special (even though the person on the phone confirmed that we qualified for it as I was making the reservation that morning). Not a big deal; just confirm and reconfirm a special as you check-in but for its pleasantness, beauty, and overall great place for a getaway, we do not hesitate to recommend the Tropical Sun Resort as a place to stay on Siesta Key! We look forward to returning one more time before my wife’s due date in December. 

Room Tip: Check the resort's website for truly awesome rates, especially their "Manager Promo Interne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Sun Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank-you very much for the great review of the resort and the overall area on Siesta Key! We are pleased to say that beach conditions are very favorable and the seaweed that washed ashore has been cleaned up. Regarding a free night certificate.. yes, it is correct a manager promotion does not qualify for additional discounts (one special offer per stay). If you were told otherwise, at anytime during the reservation process, please call me directly at 941-349-3330 Ext. 203 and we will be happy to take care of this for you. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your family coming back in the future! Thanks again for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Well after doing hours of research, I choose to go to the "Best Beach in America". It looked gorgeous in the pictures. We got there on thurs the 19th of July, and left the 22nd. We checked in to the hotel, the people at the front desk were very nice. And went to our room. The room was decorated nicely, with new appliances, a small fridge, a little stove, and it was stocked with pots, pans, and silverware. But it was a tiny room. And the walls are paper-thin, u can hear your neighbors breathe. The reason why we picked this place was because it was on beach, and the beach was supposed to be so beautiful..... But... The hotel isn't ON the beach, there are hundreds of hotels on the beach here, but the three sister hotels are not. It was about a 5 min walk down a path, not bad,but not exactly what I envisioned. So we walk to the beach, and to our dismay, the beach literally is 20ft deep in smelly seaweed. I mean BAD! And it's as far as the eyes can see!! It stunk like fish. Now to their defense, the sand was like I imagined, it was soft like sugar, and I can see the beauty of the beach if it hadn't been mostly covered in seaweed. I asked someone if the beach would be cleaned, and if this was a normal occurrence... They told me the beach wouldn't be cleaned, and it did happen once in a while. Kinda sad. There was no way to even get into the water, without climbing thru shin deep seaweed, and while laying on the beach having to smell it. Pretty gross actually.
We did find some yummy places to eat! You gotta try the Lobster fondue and New Orleans style grouper at Daquiri Deck:) the food was awesome! And from 4-7 every day they have 2 for 1 Daquiris! So good!!
Overall it's a nice place, I'm sure it's amazing when the beach is clean. Be sure to ask first about the seaweed. The hotel is good. I would def try to stay at one of the many hotels that are actually on the beach first, if I come back. But it's still a cute little place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Sun Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We are very happy to let our guests know that the beaches are looking really great again! Sarasota county did a fantastic job getting the beaches cleaned up while still protecting our environment as the most recent storm put the sea turtle nesting and some various birds in danger. Tropical Beach Resorts also hired additional staff and had volunteers gently rake the beach to help make the beach look as good as possible! Our current guests said it best when she wrote," I am sure it's amazing when the beach is clean!" And we definitely agree! We also try to very specific about our location in that we are located gulf side, with a 2-3 minute walk from your actual room to the beach with no roads to cross. All apartments are located gulf-side, garden view, with direct beach access. Although you can't see the room from any of units, the beach is very short walk and extends for over three miles. We are located at Crescent Beach on the south end of Siesta Key which is known for some of the best swimming, snorkeling, and most desirable areas in the area. One of the nicest things about Crescent Beach on Siesta Key is that there are aren't any rip tides (safe to swim!) No undercurrents in the water, and very shallow.. Crescent Beach is for sure... a gift from Mother Nature! :) We are sorry that our recent traveler didn't experience Siesta Key's beaches like they are suppose to be and hope that you will give our beautiful island another try! Please call me directly at 941-349-3330 EXT 203 and I will personally help you arrange a weekend will a lot less seaweed! Thanks for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Thanks to Trip Advisor, we found not only the Tropical Sun, but Siesta Key, as well. The resort is a modernized vintage motel, with gorgeous landscaped grounds, personality, character and charm. This resort did not disappoint in any way. There was a short stroll to the beach from our Grand Heron room, but it took no more than 2-3 minutes down beautiful quiet street. Hotel had chairs, towels, beach toys and movies for loan, no charge. Nicer beach chairs with umbrellas were available to rent at beach, if you prefer. Housekeeping was available every day but would let you switch towels out if that's your wish. Linens were nice, bed comfortable, kitchen modern and well appointed, bathroom was nice and spacious, and pools were great! Towels at the pools were an excellent touch. Staff was helpful, pleasant and truly seemed to enjoy working there. The star is Crescent Beach, with its crystal clear water, powdery white sand and seashells everywhere! Thank you for a lovely family memory. We will be back! Amazing value, too!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalSunResort, General Manager at Tropical Sun Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review! We love this quote," The star is Crescent Beach, with its crystal clear water, powdery white sand and seashells everywhere!" We are so happy to be a part of your vacation experience and look forward to seeing your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Awesome place for family. Rooms a bit small but who cares. My wife and I work so hard that we decided to go to Florida. SK did not dissapoint. My kids ask me when can we go back and why cant we live there. The hotel is an enjoyable walk down a nice landscaped path to the beach. The beach is nicer than most carribbean spots. Best sunset handsdown. I almost don't want to say anything else that could spoil this severer lil spot. We just came back from the Cayman Islands and found ourselves comparing to Siesta Key. Next year we will be back! SKOB rocks for a great happy hour!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalSunResort, General Manager at Tropical Sun Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thanks for the great review! We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your vacation and plan to return! Anytime our guests tell us it’s nicer than most Caribbean spots.. we know we are in good company! Look forward to seeing you next year and thanks for the great comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed here for one night with my wife and 2 children to take a break from Disney! We had a room with big double bed and double sofa bed for the kids. Room as also had small kitchen. Really nice, good condition - felt like it had been recently renovated.

Hotel has a few pools. All nice and clean. Best thing is the beach. Short walk down a private path and you are onto an idyllic beach with white sands and warm clear blue sea. You can borrow towels and also buckets and spades from reception.

Not much in terms of food on-site. Small supermarket in walking distance for essentials and breakfast. For restaurants you need to get in the car.

Great stay and location. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalSunResort, General Manager at Tropical Sun Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thanks for the great review! We loved to read this quote,” A short walk down a private path and you are on an idyllic beach with white sand and warm clear blue sea!” Tropical Beach Resorts does have several restaurants within immediate walking distance of the resort to include Javiers, Miquel’s, City Pizza, Sniki Tiki, Captain Curts, Claytons, and Anna’s Deli. There is also a grocery store, ice cream shop, drug store, 7-11, hair and nail salon, and several tourist style shops within walking distance as well. The village is located three miles north of Crescent Beach… and if you don’t feel like driving.. There are free ride services that operate on tips that run up and down the island from 10 am until 2:00 am seven days a week. Without a question, there is no shortage of great restaurants in the area! Thanks again so much for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Not extravagant or pretencious at all. Tropical lush gardens, nice pool, very comfortable room with rich tropical decor. Clean, comfortable, polite staff, very short walk to the beach.....THE BEACH has the softest sand I have ever felt. The waves were fun and my daughter had a blast looking at all of the shells in the surf. Florida's paradise! The adjacent city of Sarasota is also very lovely. I would definately go back again again and again. Thank you for the wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalSunResort, General Manager at Tropical Sun Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thanks so much for great view! More great quotes that we just love to read! “I would definitely go back again again and again.” Simply stated... That is what we strive for! We look forward to seeing you in the future and thanks for taking the time to let us know about your great experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropical Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sun Resort

Also Known As:
Tropical Sun Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Sun Hotel
Tropical Sun Resort Siesta Key, Florida
Address: 6722 Midnight Pass Road, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Siesta Key
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#5 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All include high-end amenities; luxury furnishings; Sealy pillow-top beds; full state-of-the-art kitchens including stainless steel appliances and granite counter tops; spacious bathrooms with tubs; central AC, soundproof windows and high-tech conveniences such as free wireless Internet access, 32” flat panel TVs, iPod docking stations, DVD players, key card entry, in room safes and more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Sun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tropical Sun Resort to your Saves list