We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flip Flop Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Flip Flop Cottages to your Saves list
Flip Flop Cottages
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   8254 Midnight Pass Rd., Siesta Key, FL 34242 (Formerly Banana Bay Club Cottages at Heron Lagoon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Siesta Key
Trenton, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Went for a long weekend get away. Stayed in the Antiqua cottage. Quaint, clean and comfortable. First time here. Chose this place because we could bring our two dogs. Price is great. Close to beaches and shopping but away from the hustle of town. Everyone who stayed here was very friendly. Will certainly go back. Very peaceful.

Room Tip: Rooms on lagoon and pool area have screen rooms if that's what your looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    23
    4
    7
    7
See reviews for
34
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chestnut Ridge, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have been vacationing winters @ Banana Bay Waterside, on Siesta Key, for 12 years. David and Gina, the owners are always available to please, chat and accommodate your needs.The ambiance is fantastic and we have met the loveliest people over the years, many of whom we are in contact with during the year. There are only 7 rentals units on the property so it is very peaceful. We have already reserved our 2 bedroom/2 bath unit for winter 2014!! Thank you Gina, David and course to Toni and Jolie.

Muriel & Harvey
N.Y.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This establishment should be shut down. Period. The owners who are from England have apparently brought their slumlord ways to beautiful Florida. These were the most horrific, uncaring, sarcastic, insulting, degrading, disrespecting people I ever encountered in my 52 years! They should be ashamed of themselves...but they simply don't care whatsoever for the people that afford them the luxury of riding in a red Mercedes convertible with vanity license plate. Carrying a Louis Vuitton purse in white tennis gear or boating attire. This individual actually told me I was holding her up for her boat excursion! After coming back from grocery shopping with perishables (enough for six weeks!), refrigerator was not running...a fuse that should have been replaced kept tripping. We didn't have access to the fuse box so we called owner, he eventually got there. The following day his wife (co-owner) told me he likes his sleep and doesn't like being disturbed!!!! Who says this to someone that just handed you thousands of dollars! When we arrived air conditioning was not working...it was 87 degrees..had to wait for heating and air guy to show up, plumbing (bathroom was nightmare, sink backed up every time u turned faucet on, toilet didn't flush, and then made a running sound and wouldn't stop, shower would fill up to your calves with water as shower wouldn't drain...I actually bought draino to do ourselves as not to disturb the owners! This was the first days being there! Wouldn't you make sure your property is ready for a guest that is staying over six weeks! Rusty nails sticking up at door...walls not painted...nasty carpeting...vacuum smelled of dog, had to buy carpet fresh in addition to the draino! Was afraid to sit on couch should have been out with yesterday's trash. We had bite marks, I'm assuming from bed bugs....I can go on and on. This establishment rents to underage spring breakers and drinking parties on his premises, ...isn't this illegal??? We encountered some of the guests...lets just say they were different and not in a good way! Made sure our door was locked at all times! This is the best part ...for the first six days we were there their family was visiting from England....and he said things would not be done as he was busy entertaining with his family...he would get back to "work" after they left!!!! Really! My family had flights to come and stay....lost that money....this ruined our vacation that we had waited so long and worked so hard. We had to leave after 9 days of begging and pleading to change our room....he refused. we had no choice but to leave...the owner felt we were unreasonable...and it would be best if we left.....we felt unsafe staying another minute. Could not trust this person as he had a weird look on him...seemed like he had anger issues. We had to sleep in our car. we were driving for days trying to find a place to stay...but was high season and nothing was available for the amount of time we needed. we had to come home. So very sad that this had happened I tried so hard to try and make it work...but this place was a hell hole with heartless owners! If you are a standup hard working trusting person...please find another place to stay....rates will seem so reasonable and the pics they show are not what you get ....I hope this helps people from the awful experience that we encountered. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
As the owners we would like to assure all of our current guests, and future guests that our family owned and operated resort will continue to be ran with commitment and our personal service. Please feel free to contact us directly as we do not wish to make a response to above review . Thank you for all of your possitive comments. David and Gina Warren.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our stay at the Banana Bay Club Cottages was great. The cottage was very cute, cozy and very clean. It was very nice to have access at no charge to paddle boards, kayaks and canoes. The children really enjoyed them. I was very impressed with the pool area being so clean. We went fishing off the dock one night during our stay and the dock area was very well maintained too. The location was great, there were so many places to chose from in the area for dinner. We all had a wonderful time and would recommend to all!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
The best thing about running our resort is having happy guests! We know you will love it here!
Thank you, The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts on Siesta Key :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have stayed here twice and would be willing to give it another shot. The first time was back in 2003 and we stayed in one of the a one bedroom cottages. It was wonderful, very clean and quiet. We just loved the pool and the grounds were well maintained. On our most recent visit we went with the whole family and rented the 3 bedroom.. It was well appointed and you cant beat the view. It looked like it could use some updating, nothing major though.. The only thing wrong was the pool. We stayed for a week and I didnt see anyone cleaned it or checked the water the until day three when the water was was murkey and had foam floating ontop. That was a little disappointing because my son loves to swim and there was no way I was going to let him get into that mess. My mother in-law contacted someone and It was resolved in a timely manner. The other thing we didnt like was the carpet looked clean but after awhile it turned our feet black. Like I said its a great place but needs some updating asap.. We will go back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We always enjoy hearing great things about our guests' stays and we sincerely appreciate feedback on what we could do better! Thank you! The Owners at Banana Bay Club Siesta Key :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers Point, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

My husband & I spent the week of our 30th anniversary at the Banana Bay Lagoon Resort. We upgraded our accomodations to the Sunset Cottage (upon our arrival) as a last minute cancellation made it available. The Sunset efficiency had everything we needed. The pool was lovely & Sunset Cottage has its own screened lanai & a small patch of sand for sun bathing. We enjoyed them both so very much. The kayaks were great fun in the lagoon.
The property location is perfect. Literally a stone's throw, just about 1 mile either way on the main road, places you on either Turtle or Crescent Beach & in the midst of terrific dining & night life. The Resort Owners & the management staff were available & accomodating. We met some lovely people who were also enjoying their vacations. We cant say enough & look forward to going back soon.............Leslie & John K. New Jersey

Room Tip: Lagoon side was quite for sleeping & Bedding at Sunset Cottage was terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
As you can tell, our signature lagoon-front cottage, "The Sunset Suite" is our most popular unit for a reason! If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, secluded vacation with pool, free canoes, kayaks and all the comforts of home, then give us a try!
Thank you!
The Owners at Banana Bay Club Waterside Cottages at Heron Lagoon on Siesta Key
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Hubby & I have been staying at Banana Bay Cottages for 9 years now, twice a year in both May and October. We stayed in Bay Breeze for many of those visits with the whole family, but now for the past few visits we have been in Sunset Suite which is just perfect for the two of us. The atmosphere is peaceful & quiet with beautiful views of the lagoon, bird watching & fish jumping while relaxing in the lanai. We are always treated like family and would never consider staying at any other place. We have already reserved our two weeks stay for this May. Looking forward to being at our home away from home!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
There you have it...our 3BR/2BA "Bay Breeze House" and studio that sleeps 4, "Sunset Suite Cottage" (both waterfront units) have pleased another of our regular guests, again and again!!!!!!! We specialize in "regulars" as we know the importance and value of return guests, plus we love having them back all the time!

Thank you as always!

The Owners and Management at Banana Bay Club Resorts on Siesta Key!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
1.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#4 of 11 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,548 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#7 of 11 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
4.0 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#11 of 11 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key
1.9 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
5.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flip Flop Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flip Flop Cottages

Address: 8254 Midnight Pass Rd., Siesta Key, FL 34242 (Formerly Banana Bay Club Cottages at Heron Lagoon)
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Flip Flop Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flip Flop Cottages(formerly Banana Club Waterside) offers a great location on Siesta Key. A lagoon setting with private fishing dock and free use of paddleboards, canoes , kayaks and a paddle boat! All units have full kitchens, non smoking. Studios, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages available. We are also pet-friendly and offer free Wi-Fi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Flip Flop Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Club Cottages At Heron Lagoon Hotel Siesta Key
Banana Bay Hotel
Banana Bay Resort
Flip Flop Cottages Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flip Flop Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.