We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banana Bay Club - Great quiet getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flip Flop Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Flip Flop Cottages to your Saves list
Flip Flop Cottages
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   8254 Midnight Pass Rd., Siesta Key, FL 34242 (Formerly Banana Bay Club Cottages at Heron Lagoon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Siesta Key
Crown Point, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Banana Bay Club - Great quiet getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Banana Bay Club. We stayed in the Sunset cottage. It was very quiet and private. The room is very spacious. We loved the free use of the kayaks and canoe. The staff was very friendly and helpful! The Banana Bay Club is in a great location, close to Turtle Beach and many great restaurants.

KC

Room Tip: Rooms on the water are peaceful and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Our secluded, waterfront studio that sleeps 4: "Sunset Cottage" is the best little secret on Siesta Key and we invite all couples or small families to come visit and enjoy this little slice of paradise! We also have larger 2 and 3BR Cottages for those larger groups or families right at the same location on beautiful Heron Lagoon or less than 2 miles away at Crescent Beach!

Thank you!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Waterside & Beachside Resorts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    19
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
31
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ocala
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I highly recommend BBC for a relaxing getaway that is very reasonably priced. The staff in the office was extremely pleasant and very accommodating. The property is in a great location just a short drive from several beaches/ restaurants/ malls, ect . Very nice pool, deck on the bay, and plenty of outdoor seating. Also, this place is pet friendly, we took out two little dogs who had a great time. BBC offers FREE canoes and kayaks to take out on the bay! We brought our fishing polls and had a blast. There is a nice bait shop just down the road. Next time we are in Siesta Key we will be staying at BBC!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunset Suite. This studio is right on the Bay with a private beach area which was G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
We love to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay! Visit Banana Bay Club Resorts on Siesta Key for a tropical-setting, picture-perfect beach vacation!

Thank you!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at BBC while looking for a place to mvoe into and in the future i will always want to return for weekend getaway or for a nice vacation , it has everthing you need and is very friendly staff and owner you truly feel welcome :) Thank you jimmy and David and toni too lol

Room Tip: We stayed in the a Villa 1 bedroom it was very accomadating and met all our needs very enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Whether you choose a Villa close to the beach, or a cottage on Heron Lagoon, Banana Bay Club Resorts on Siesta Key is a great alternative to all the local out-dated, cookie-cutter condos as we are a small family-run resort that specializes in making your vacation the best it can possibly be by giving you that unique, simple and relaxing feeling of a charming little resort!

Thank you!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

If/when I plan to visit Siesta Key again, I would definitely book at Banana Bay Club. We initially booked here because they are pet friendly, but since the beaches are not, we decided to keep our pet at home. We stayed at a villa near the gulf beachside and loved the location, just steps from an awesome beach of soft white sand and spectacular sunset views. The kitchens are adequately stocked with cookware that you can definitely eat in if you want to cook in the villa. We also visited the waterside cottages and used the canoes/kayaks they have available to guests. We saw some fish jumping while canoeing. Overall, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
There's nothing more pleasing than to know we once again made a guest's stay a great one! Feel free to try out a studio, 1BR, 2BR, 3BR or even our 4BR/2BA, with full kitchens, king beds AND queen sleeper sofas, t.v., a/c, fully stocked kitchens, decks, TWO POOLS and much more!
The only thing you need to do is show up and relax away!

Thanks!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka, Japan
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed in Villa #7. It is a nice studio villa that was recently renovated. The building itself is better than most beach locations we have stayed with dogs. It is about 1/2 lock from the beach. The Siesta Keys beach is not dog friendly but did find a water spot on bird key that was dog friendly. We no complaints about the property and enjoyed our stay. We enjoyed the beach (especially the powdery sand and crystal clear water).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Another satisfied pet owner! We love pets and welcome them in select units! Please check us out if you are wanting to bring along your 4 legged friends, as we understand your pet is a family member and they deserve vacations too!

Thanks!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

we have stayed here 3 or 4 times and it is excellent, beautiful surrondings with great room and comfy beds. jimmy and david are extremly helpful with anything you might need. we brought friends from australia and they fell in love with it and want to come back. you will have everything you need in each for cooking and they have beach chairs for the beach as well. it is only a half a block from the beach. if you want a vaction in florida this is the place.

Room Tip: beach villa upstairs is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
It's true, if you are looking for a great place by the beach, than look no further than Banana Bay Club Resorts on Siesta Key. We're happy to hear that our fully-furnished studio "Villa # 7" has become another guest's favorite as it is one of our more popular units because of the privacy, full kitchen, large 4-post king bed and nice front deck...ask for Villa 7, if not try the new "Villa # 5!"

Thanks!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Banana Bay Club is the perfect getaway! My family and I Live in Sarasota, but we felt like we were in the islands.The beach is leisurely stroll away, without having to fight for a parking place. The resort has a home away from home feel to it, instead of the antiseptic feel of a hotel. The manager Jimmy was extremely helpful, and made our stay one we will treasure. Thank you for the memories Banana Bay Club. Tim Wong and family

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
We gladly welcome local residents to escape it all and try us out for a weekend and then tell your friends and family and bring them all back for a weekend, a week, 2 weeks even a month!
We have 7 Cottages on Heron Lagoon and 13 Villas near Crescent Beach, there's something for everyone...literally!

Thanks!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flip Flop Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flip Flop Cottages

Address: 8254 Midnight Pass Rd., Siesta Key, FL 34242 (Formerly Banana Bay Club Cottages at Heron Lagoon)
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flip Flop Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flip Flop Cottages(formerly Banana Club Waterside) offers a great location on Siesta Key. A lagoon setting with private fishing dock and free use of paddleboards, canoes , kayaks and a paddle boat! All units have full kitchens, non smoking. Studios, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages available. We are also pet-friendly and offer free Wi-Fi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Flip Flop Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Club Cottages At Heron Lagoon Hotel Siesta Key
Banana Bay Hotel
Banana Bay Resort
Flip Flop Cottages Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flip Flop Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.