We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siesta Beach Resort & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Siesta Beach Resort & Suites to your Saves list
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5311 Ocean Blvd., Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Siesta Key
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is the 5th time I have stayed here. I was amazed at how much more they have done with an already wonderful place. When I first pulled up with my family, I noticed all of the new landscape and reworked courtyard. Upon checking in, the front desk attendant wad pleasant and friendly. We were shown to our rooms, to find new windows, freshly painted exteriors. After retiring for the evening, I laid down to one of the most comfortable mattresses I have ever laid on and slept like a baby. The next day we went to the pool, to find it, as well as the courtyard and deck surrounding it to also be redone. I cannot wait to return to it next year and see what new and pleasant surprises are next. Simply said WOW!! AN UNBELIEVABLE STAY.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    70
    55
    53
    76
See reviews for
82
132
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel was very affordable for what it included during our stay. The facility was less than a block from the beach and tourist activities and back far enough from Ocean Blvd that we were not bothered by the tourists.

The bathroom was a bit small, ill fitting shower curtain, tiny sink. The AC unit was too small for the room and barely kept it cool enough. I can not imagine how it would have been if the day time temps would have been any hotter.

Kitchen area was a nice touch though, and the fridge was decent sized.

Complimentary coffee was watered down and the Danishes were pre packaged. Nice attempt, but not worth it.... The coffee in the room was better, and we bought groceries from the store down on the strip for our second morning's stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in a room in the single floor bldg. We weren't bothered by any neighbors, but we had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed in the separate little bungalow. It was separate from the motel. The kitchenette worked out great for us . being a chef helps. The room was quite, linens clean. Yes looking at some of the other rooms it's not 4 star's. BUT the walk to the beach is basically just across the street. The price was right. After finding out what expidia was charging I called the hotel myself and negotiate a very fair price. I found the staff to be very cooperative. If you are looking for a real nice room and a view for an inexpensive price this is not for you. If you can tolerate a so so room as close to the beach as possible then book this place. Go for the single bungalow if you are just a couple. Always Chefnfly

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on a last minute trip to Siesta Key. We dove down the beach looking for hotels and this one had the best price and a Great Location. It is right across the street from beach access and walking distance to many places to eat or grab drinks.
The hotel was nice but nothing special, if you are looking for something fancy, this is not for you. It is a older hotel, our room was updated a little but can still tell its a old place. It worked for us because we pretty much only slept in the room and spent the majority of our time outdoors.
we never used the pool area or laundry so I'm not sure how they were.
Service was good, when we first checked in my husband noticed a window in our room wouldn't lock and he called the front desk, they offered to change rooms immediately no problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I booked my vacation through Expedia. We stayed 2 nights at the Siesta Beach Resort. Upon arrival, we noticed that the facility is more "motel" than hotel, which we did not expect at the rates we paid.

The lobby is the size of a postage stamp and really run down. I was given 3 room keys and a map to our room. We drove to the back street to park and found the room. All 3 keys failed to work. I returned to the lobby and was given 3 new keys. They worked. Hooray. Upon entering the room, we were very disappointed. It was dark and dingy. The decor is sad and depressing, with furniture that has seen better days. The plaster on the walls was cracked and walls & ceiling were discolored. I did feel good that at least my kids couldn't ruin anything in this room. Sandy old tile was the flooring. The beds were clean and ultimately comfortable for sleeping. The flatscreen TV mounted on the wall worked well. The air conditioning unit did run cold air but with the only temperature options being "on" or "off". We either froze or were gasping for breath. The positives end there.

The kitchen efficiency was pitiful. The tiles were missing, dirty, had a sparse amount of silverware - all mismatched, the countertop was splotched formica. There was a small microwave and a couple of mismatched plates and bowls. There is no way you could actually prepare a meal here other than nuking a frozen dinner. There was a colony of ants on the kitchen counter and in the bathroom.

The bathroom was the most appalling part. It was tiny, tiny, tiny. The tile was circa 1970s with grout to match. The window sill and window were filthy. The faucet was caked with lime and dripped pretty consistently. The water pressure was low and it was just gross to be in there.

My daughter discovered the back of the drapes, which were smeared with brown something???? God, I hope it wasn't feces. But, um, it sure looked like it.

The door to the room was peeling and rotting in places. And once again, upon arriving back to our room after dinner the second night, all 3 keys failed to work and ANOTHER trip to the lobby was in store!

The pool area was nice enough. The hot tub was a bit sketchy and the concrete table we sat at to eat our lunch was rimmed in some kind of greasy, moldy dirt (which is now being laundered out of my daughter's shirt).

The hotel maids were very friendly and did the best with how run down the facility is. We had consistent service from housekeeping.

OK, here is the real deal on the false advertising...1) THIS PLACE not a "resort" in even the most generous use of the word, 2) THIS PLACE does NOT have a continental breakfast (it isn't even mentioned at check in and I realized at check out that it consists of a single thermos of coffee and four honey bun packages set on a little shelf (yes, honey buns as in something that drops out of a vending machine wrapped in a plastic pouch), and 3) THIS PLACE is not on the beach or even 40 steps from the beach as advertised. There is a public beach access adjacent to the beautiful condominium across the street, sort of diagonal from the lobby rooms, which are really not the main part of the motel. It is a good hike to the beach.

We would NEVER stay here at Siesta Key "Beach Resort" again and would be very hesitant to EVER book with Expedia again since the hotel advertised was misleading in every way.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corey k, Guest Relations Manager at Siesta Beach Resort & Suites, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
I would like to state that this guest booked their online reservation through Expedia.com. Expedia has their own advertisements for our hotel, so any "misleading" information that the guest thought they encountered was from Expedia, not our actual hotel web site. We NEVER tell people we are "on" the beach or that we have a continental breakfast, because we don't have it! Our hotel is closer than most hotels on Siesta Key to the beach, so if a one or two minute walk is too long for you to get to the beach, we recommend you research accurately and confirm that the hotel you are booking has beach views, and can walk right out for your room to the beach. We serve COMPLIMENTARY coffee and pre-wrapped pastries in the morning. Again the key word is COMPLIMENTARY, you are not paying for these. We do not have the facilities here to provide a full continental breakfast. Siesta Key is an old fashioned key, and there are very few hotels on the key that serve continental breakfast. I personally don't even know one of the top of my head. Please contact Expedia when you have issues like this, and let them know their advertisement is incorrect. If you visit our website, or talk to one of our front desk agents, we will never mislead our guests.

Second, as for our rooms, they are cleaned by our wonderful houskeeping staff on a daily basis. They are always there to correct problems if they exist. Our hotel is in no way dirty, if that was the case we would be out of business! We sell out on a weekly basis and have a great group of return guests that come back on a weekly, monthly and yearly basis. If the "Old Florida" style that we provide our guests is too out of date for you, then again I recommend doing the proper research to make sure you are staying at a place the fits your wants and needs.The kitchens in our Efficiency rooms are called "kitchenettes". They are not "full" kitchens. They are only meant for people who will be using microwaves, toasters, fridge, and coffee pots. They are not meant to prepare full meals. If you would like a room with a full kitchen, please book a one or two bedroom suites.

We appreciate everyone's in put, it helps us detect if a problem exists, and then figure out the proper steps to correct them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The bathroom was filthy, the room was old, other guests were loud until 3:30 AM both nights. But this is nothing compared to the icing of the nastiness of these people. They just unilaterally charge my credit card $ 50.00 extra and when I called they stated yeah you checked out but your stuff was still in the room. Folks, God as my witness, swear under oath, we and all of our stuff were out of this room 15 minutes early. They cannot describe what was left in the room or how and when it got removed. I know there is video surveillance. We have yet to hear from a manager after repeated calls. Tammy just asks "you calling me a liar: IE - we have your money. Be forewarned.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corey k, Guest Relations Manager at Siesta Beach Resort & Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
This matter has been resolved. The guest was charged $50 because of a late checkout, which you sign for at the time of registration. After further review of the situation, the guest was returned their $50. We are not liars, if we are in the wrong we will ALWAYS fix the problem. We take pride in our customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. lauderdale,Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We spent Fri-Sunday at this place on 5/16/14. I can tell you first hand, that the pictures do not really show the condition of this facility. The staff was friendly, but the room has seen better days. Besides being musty, kinda dirty, and serious paint issues. The Tiles on the floor are loose, Cracked, Not grouted properly, or at all in some cases. The room had a kitchenette that was to have all needed to cook, and eat in. Well had to buy paper plates, because they supplied 1. Had to buy plastic utensils, because again 1 of each were provided. The outlets in the kitchen did not work, until the breaker was reset by management. The dead bolt on the front door fell off on to the floor.
Siesta Key is a nice place, and they deserve the traffic they receive, however this hotel needs to improve greatly, if they expect the $149.00 per night the get. I would not stay there again, because I feel it is not worth the money! I have stayed in far better suites for way less money. Naples Inn in Naples comes to mind.
We like to travel on weekends during the summer months here in Florida, after the departure of the snowbirds. As I am sure that Siesta Key will be a place to go again, this hotel will not !!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Siesta Beach Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Beach Resort & Suites

Address: 5311 Ocean Blvd., Siesta Key, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Siesta Beach Resort & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Siesta Beach Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Siesta Beach Resort And Suites
Siesta Beach Sarasota
Siesta Beach Key
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siesta Beach Resort & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.