We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Siesta Beach Resort & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Siesta Beach Resort & Suites to your Saves list
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5311 Ocean Blvd., Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Siesta Key
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Vacation nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

I booked a room for what I thought would be a relaxing weekend stay at Siesta Beach Resort despite many of the negative reviews posted here. When I arrived early, my room was ready and like other posts here, the front desk staff was very friendly. The room, although nothing to write home about, was clean and quiet but that's where the accolades come to a grinding halt. I invited some local friends to join me for dinner at a Siesta Key restaurant where we pumped a considerable amount of cash into the local coffers. When we returned to the property three hours later, my friends vehicle was gone. Although they parked in an unmarked spot off the street, the town's contracted towing company snatched my friends car. When we complained to the manager he said he had no control over the towing company but agreed to call them (since they were still in the area trolling for other vehicles). We showed both tow truck operators and the night manager the spot my friends were parked in which was clearly unmarked and appeared to be a "street spot". They all looked and simply scratched their heads saying it was on the "Resort's" property. We had the manager call the owner who refused to intervene. He would only say the entire side of the street was resort property. Now clearly this is incorrect since a public road runs in front of the property. The management and the overzealous towing company took it upon themselves to decide where the property boundaries ended and where the street began. To make a long story short, the towing company charged over $200 (in cash only) to retrieve my guests car. What a ripoff! BTW-it would have been nice if at check in, I was told where guests can and cannot park. It also would have been nice to tell me the jacuzzi was under construction as was a good part of Ocean boulevard (where other public parking would have been). I think other potential guests should be aware of this potential problem when they come to this resort because even though we were correct, they chose to blame the problem on the chamber of commerce and not offer any type of consolation which might convince us to return another time.

  • Liked — easy check in
  • Disliked — lack of managment response when presented with a problem
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    61
    48
    45
    73
See reviews for
73
118
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buford, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

We stayed in a renovated one bedroom unit with a kitchenette. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and checked out on Wednesday. Our unit was located right across from the pool which made it very convenient. The unit was small, but still nice. We had our three boys (7, 5, and 14mths) so it was a little tight. There were two fold out beds (couches) in the main living area and a dining table which was attached to the wall with only two chairs. There was a king size bed in the bedroom which was quite comfortable. The grounds and rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.

There is a bar/grill next to the property, but we did not hear any noise at night. The beach was across the street from the hotel. It was a pleasant walk and not hard...even with a 14mth old.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms were small.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Siesta Beach Resort. I was a bit concerned after reading a couple of negative reviews. The reception was wonderful; the friendly and extremely helpful folks at check-in offered to upgrade us to a suite. This was especially nice since we were having a mini-honeymoon and had booked a room to save $. The suite was clean and tastefully decorated. Perfect for a little get-away. We weren't terribly thrilled with the Siesta Beach party scene so probably won't return, but we would recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Friendliness of accommodating staff. Clean and thoughfully designed suite.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

The location of this place is great..across the street from beautiful Siesa beach and right on the main drag. The place looks tropical and retro from the outside. The Jacuzzi Suite bathroom was clean...but the room was horrible..especially the BEDS! They were old and stained and the blankets had HAIR on them! Our room was a non smoking room , but smelled of stale smoke. There were guests outside of our room that were up until 3am partying loudly. I do NOT reccomend this place for families..maybe for spring breakers.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay area, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

My husband were looking for a reasonably priced accommodation for a 1 night stay on Siesta Key. We live in the area and wanted a decent place to stay so we could hook up with close friends who were staying at another resort on the key (the rate at their resort exceeded what I wanted to pay for a place to sleep.)

When we checked in it was clear the place is older but that's OK. There are many quaint older spots - that's part of the charm of Siesta Key! It isn't totally commercialized like some of the other keys.

The gentleman at the desk was very gracious and knowledgeable. I watched him give other guests great information about the area and how to get around easily on the key.

We'd been assigned a room across from the Blase Cafe - it would probably be a great spot for those who planned to spend the night over there but we were tired and just wanted to get a good night's sleep w/o the noise generated by an enthusiastic crowd of martini drinkers. He was very sympathethic and gave us another room - the one farthest from the cafe'.

The bottom line is.... the staff have great customer service skills but the place is old and in desperate need of of a total remodeling. The a/c is antiquainted, noisy and runs constantly. The bathroom, while spacious is outdated - mold/mildew in the shower and in the faucets; mirrors need to be replaced. The drapes seemed fairly new but there was a bare curtain rod on the window facing the street - take it down or put something (hopefully color-coordinated) on it. The floor has old crappy carpet - bring your flip flops - and an interesting slant that makes you wonder if the subfloor is sturdy. There was a stove and refrig - the stove was so rusted I didn't have the guts to look in the fridge. The exterior wrought iron railing is disintegrating - there's been an obvious feeble attempt to cover the rust with paint - but the handrail was almost rusted through in some places.

As 1 reviewer mentioned - this reminds me of a room that would be more than OK for spring breakers but not for an area that attracts families and professionals.

  • Liked — friendly front desk staff
  • Disliked — it's run down condition
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

After having read the recent unfavorable reviews of the Siesta
Beach Resort and Suites, my partner and I arrived with
some trepidation of what we would find.

We were greeted in a professional and friendly manner
by the receptionist. To our surprise we were given
a complimentary upgrade, which we were informed the
property tries to do for guests when available, to a
suite.

Our suite, 207, was extremely comfortable and afforded
a partial view of the beautiful Siesta Key Beach. It also
gave us a wonderful porch which overlooked the
entertaining street life and art fair going on the weekend
we were in Siesta Key.

The hotel is superbly located, both next to the Siesta Key
Village (with great restaurant and shopping venues) and
and the glorious beach for which the island is so well
loved.

I did not have an opportunity to see any of the non-suite
accommodations, so I cannot comment on other
guests' reviews.

However, I can say we spent a wonderful 4 nights in a
most comfortable suite, in a hotel that could not have
been better located to enjoy the pleasures that
Siesta Key has to offer.

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — small pool
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

My husband planned a romantic getaway as a suprise... He did hours of research online to find somewhere that had a jaccuzzi tub in the room and was impressed with the photos online.

When we arrived in the room- it was a bit small, no biggie. It was not directly on the beach, no biggie. We were still going to make the best of it.

The toilet was running and after calling maintenance- 2.5 hours later- they were able to resolve the problem. They found a broken crack pipe flushed in the toilet. Yes- true story. We requested another room but they were going to charge us more money for a room with less ammenities. When we asked for a discounted rate after being freaked out that there were drug users in the room the night before and the lost time/ aggrivation- they refused.

We left and found another hotel to save our weekend.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siesta Beach Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Beach Resort & Suites

Address: 5311 Ocean Blvd., Siesta Key, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Siesta Beach Resort & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Siesta Beach Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Siesta Beach Resort And Suites
Siesta Beach Sarasota
Siesta Beach Key
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siesta Beach Resort & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.