We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Out of the way" getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key to your Saves list
Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9049 Midnight Path Road, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Out of the way" getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Nice quiet place to stay at the south end of Siesta Key. Do Siesta Key beach during the day, then head back for sunset at Turtle Beach. Ari and Gail who run the place are very nice. The Inn part is great for couples. Take advantage of the row boats!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    33
    12
    27
    25
See reviews for
38
146
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I did not get to honeymoon when we married and so on our 2yr anniversary I made up my mind to spend some money and "make up" for that lack. I was thrilled at the privacy we had. We did what honeymooners do best! We were able to walk from the bedroom to the hot tub outside unclothed and undisturbed. We both thought it was extremely romantic. There's a tiny tiny kitchenette that we used to fix sandwiches when we couldn't be bothered to dress and go out to eat. There is a bottle of wine (maybe sherry?) in a beautiful decanter in the room with two wine glasses. There are two terry robes available hanging by the shower. I wanted to come home and remodel our bedroom to look like this place!

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

If you are looking for a quiet romantic getaway then you have just found the perfect spot! My boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn for the weekend and it was PERFECT. We watched GORGEOUS sunsets while we fished off the docks. We went canoeing to a remote part of Turtle Beach (you can only get there by canoe, kayak or boat etc. ) it was absolutely breath taking. The cottage we stayed in was called the Sea Breeze, it was clean and it has the most comfortable bed. All the cottages have their own private patios with Jacuzzis!! All the amenities are included in the price. The staff is very kind and personable. They offer an early check in but we ended up getting there after 5 pm and they had posted a letter telling us where our cottage was and to check in at the office in the morning! What other hotel/resort would do that?! There are so many wonderful things I could say about this beautiful property. All and all it was an AMAZING experience and we will be returning! Thank you so much Gail!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location in Siesta Key. The resort itself is extremely quiet and located in a beautiful residential area on the south side on the island. It sits directly on a beautiful bay with jumping fish and many birds to watch. We hardly even saw the other guests, but when we did, they were a mature crowd (no party atmosphere, thank goodness). When we checked in, we were given excellent advice as to where to go, how to get around and how to get to an extremely private beach (only accessible by canoe or kayak - the resort provides both free of charge). I believe that was our favorite part of the trip. Know that is is not on Crescent Beach, but Turtle Beach which is a bit different. In our opinion, better. The best part of the place are the extremely friendly and accommodating owners.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake cit
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This resort is perfect for travelers who want to get away from the crowds. It has access to a peaceful bay and a wonderful private beach! The owners couldn't do enough for their guests, we felt like their friends.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our family travels to Sarasota at least once a year. We normally stay in our parents' home, but with four teens we opted for Turtle Beach Resort. We felt like we were not even in Sarasota. The need to leave the resort was only for the grocery and bait. We kayaked, fished, beached, cooked out, and generally chilled, all at the resort. The opportunities to see wildlife are abundant. We saw a manatee cruising by the dock, a raccoon paddling from mangrove to mangrove, turtle nests, and a pair of Osprey feeding their chicks. We all had a great experience.

The villas size-wise are really best for couples or small families; however, there was so much to do outside, the size didn't really matter because we were only inside long enough to sleep. We loved the quaintness and "old Florida" feel to the property. Hanging out in the private hot tub wasn't too shabby either.

All in all, I would recommend this destination if your family is more interested in being outside than staying in a luxury unit. I would definitely come back, but next time, without the four teens! It is quite a romantic spot for couples.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I want to be fair about this place because there truly are some nice things about it, but overall, we felt it was far too much money for a place that had so many issues. If we had been paying $200 instead of $400 plus a night I think we would have felt differently. I also think if we had been in another room, our experience would have been better. So here goes:

Pros:
Management was very nice and attentive and friendly; we had pleasant and helpful conversations with everyone on the management team.

The Bay side is quite tranquil and lovely and does not feel at all touristy.

Cons:

Our room (the Southwest studio) left a great deal to be desired. It was pleasant enough, a bit rustic, but that was fine. The problem was that its placement directly in front of the pool meant that your peace and privacy were wholly contingent upon whether the pool was in use and by whom. We like kids but during our first couple of days there, the pool was played in by about 6 children (and it is a very small pool) from pretty much the crack of dawn until early afternoon. Also, because there were three families together in the other rooms nearby, they "took over" not only their own patios but all the common areas. They were not unpleasant, simply noisy and oblivious to others. The space is small and you are subject to the whims of your neighbors.

Secondly, although the glass windows are one way during the day; they are not at night which means that anyone can see into your room during the night unless you keep the drapes completely closed, and therein lay another problem. Instead of having drapery with a curtain tracking system which close easily and completely (they have these in most hotels), the drapes were four single panels that we had to close manually and actually pin together every night otherwise there were gaps and the bed is literally right next to the floor to ceiling windows. Again, this created a privacy
issue especially if there were people by the pool (which the southwest studio looks directly over). It is difficult to understand why the owners wouldn't address this problem by putting in the right kind of hotel curtains.

There was also only one night stand with one lamp which meant that if both of us wanted to read in bed we had to keep the ugly overhead light on. Again, this should have been a simple fix.

As other have said, the rustic nature of the place has a certain charm but not for money you are paying.

I did not see the other rooms, but if we were to ever return (highly unlikely) the one that seems to have the best views and the most privacy is the country cottage. I would not recommend the southwest studio.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gailkippy, Owner at Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Every business has its worse day and considering the fact for the first time in 23 years of doing business, the family that caused the problem was asked to leave. It is unfortunate that this family caused these guests to have such an unpleasant stay and experience with us. Our guests who unfortunately suffered with that problem and requested with us to leave earlty were compensated for the problems and also refunded the remainder of their stay.
The peaceful, tranquil nature of the property was restored after this family had left and the remaining guests enjoyed their time with us for that weekend. Tthe hummingbrids came back to the flowers, the fish went back to jumping in the bay and dolphins returned while the sun came back out to shine again.
Concerning the one way glass and the curtains, this is an issue we were not aware of and we are going to take care of ir.
Since this unruly family was the first one in 23 years, hopefully we have another 23 years of bliss until the next one arrives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key

Address: 9049 Midnight Path Road, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#5 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort and Inn: Siesta Key & Sarasota Beach Hotels & Resort. Turtle Beach Resort Hotel & Marina is known as the most romantic beach resort hotel on Siesta Key, a beautiful barrier island located in Sarasota. We are an ideal place to vacation for you and your family. So, if you are looking for a beach hotel in Sarasota or a beach resort in Siesta Key, then our hotel accommodations and resort with the private hot tubs, hammocks, and boat docks will surely satisfy your expectations. Nestled at the south end of Siesta Key, Florida is an Olde Florida Style Resort where you will discover a romantic getaway for you and that special someone or a quiet vacation with family and pets. This boutique resort will offer you fishing off our private docks, boating, canoeing, kayaking, private hammocks and relaxation in your own private hot tub. Each waterfront cottage will offer you a private patio with your own private hot tub and hammock, and beautiful views of Little Sarasota Bay. As you're sipping your coffee on your private patio watching the sun rise over the bay, you might catch a glimpse of dolphins rolling by, pelicans and bald eagles fishing for breakfast, or a pod of manatees lazily swimming by. So, whether you are looking for an ideal family vacation, a romantic honeymoon destination or a pet friendly resort hotel, then Turtle Beach Resort is your place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key Hotel Siesta Key
Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.