We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Lovers of the Great Outdoors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key

Save Saved
You added Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9049 Midnight Path Road, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Siesta Key
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for Lovers of the Great Outdoors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our family travels to Sarasota at least once a year. We normally stay in our parents' home, but with four teens we opted for Turtle Beach Resort. We felt like we were not even in Sarasota. The need to leave the resort was only for the grocery and bait. We kayaked, fished, beached, cooked out, and generally chilled, all at the resort. The opportunities to see wildlife are abundant. We saw a manatee cruising by the dock, a raccoon paddling from mangrove to mangrove, turtle nests, and a pair of Osprey feeding their chicks. We all had a great experience.

The villas size-wise are really best for couples or small families; however, there was so much to do outside, the size didn't really matter because we were only inside long enough to sleep. We loved the quaintness and "old Florida" feel to the property. Hanging out in the private hot tub wasn't too shabby either.

All in all, I would recommend this destination if your family is more interested in being outside than staying in a luxury unit. I would definitely come back, but next time, without the four teens! It is quite a romantic spot for couples.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    28
    10
    25
    25
See reviews for
35
126
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I want to be fair about this place because there truly are some nice things about it, but overall, we felt it was far too much money for a place that had so many issues. If we had been paying $200 instead of $400 plus a night I think we would have felt differently. I also think if we had been in another room, our experience would have been better. So here goes:

Pros:
Management was very nice and attentive and friendly; we had pleasant and helpful conversations with everyone on the management team.

The Bay side is quite tranquil and lovely and does not feel at all touristy.

Cons:

Our room (the Southwest studio) left a great deal to be desired. It was pleasant enough, a bit rustic, but that was fine. The problem was that its placement directly in front of the pool meant that your peace and privacy were wholly contingent upon whether the pool was in use and by whom. We like kids but during our first couple of days there, the pool was played in by about 6 children (and it is a very small pool) from pretty much the crack of dawn until early afternoon. Also, because there were three families together in the other rooms nearby, they "took over" not only their own patios but all the common areas. They were not unpleasant, simply noisy and oblivious to others. The space is small and you are subject to the whims of your neighbors.

Secondly, although the glass windows are one way during the day; they are not at night which means that anyone can see into your room during the night unless you keep the drapes completely closed, and therein lay another problem. Instead of having drapery with a curtain tracking system which close easily and completely (they have these in most hotels), the drapes were four single panels that we had to close manually and actually pin together every night otherwise there were gaps and the bed is literally right next to the floor to ceiling windows. Again, this created a privacy
issue especially if there were people by the pool (which the southwest studio looks directly over). It is difficult to understand why the owners wouldn't address this problem by putting in the right kind of hotel curtains.

There was also only one night stand with one lamp which meant that if both of us wanted to read in bed we had to keep the ugly overhead light on. Again, this should have been a simple fix.

As other have said, the rustic nature of the place has a certain charm but not for money you are paying.

I did not see the other rooms, but if we were to ever return (highly unlikely) the one that seems to have the best views and the most privacy is the country cottage. I would not recommend the southwest studio.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gailkippy, Owner at Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Every business has its worse day and considering the fact for the first time in 23 years of doing business, the family that caused the problem was asked to leave. It is unfortunate that this family caused these guests to have such an unpleasant stay and experience with us. Our guests who unfortunately suffered with that problem and requested with us to leave earlty were compensated for the problems and also refunded the remainder of their stay.
The peaceful, tranquil nature of the property was restored after this family had left and the remaining guests enjoyed their time with us for that weekend. Tthe hummingbrids came back to the flowers, the fish went back to jumping in the bay and dolphins returned while the sun came back out to shine again.
Concerning the one way glass and the curtains, this is an issue we were not aware of and we are going to take care of ir.
Since this unruly family was the first one in 23 years, hopefully we have another 23 years of bliss until the next one arrives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were here recently as a family wedding was nearby and we made a long weekend of it.

The pros: if you are intrigued by "old Florida", this is it. Felt like going back in time. Beautiful views on the bay, we really enjoyed sitting by the pool and relaxing. We liked that we were on the quieter side of the island and there are many free taxis if you want to get into the busier areas. Owners very friendly and helpful. For boaters, this could be a stop if you are boating up/down the intercostal as they have a dock and you wouldn't need a car. The entire place very beautifully landscaped and many nooks and crannies for privacy.

The cons: know that the experience is much more akin to renting a house/condo that renting a room at a resort. No maid service, no coffee station in the morning, no room service. So, just know that is what it is. To me, that made the "resort" title a bit of a misnomer. Our room felt a little tired - mattress felt saggy, bathroom felt like it could use an update, towels a little thin. Just felt a little dated - but reconcile that with the "old Florida" experience if that is what you are looking for.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and the area, just felt the price was high for the experience and thus the rating. If I knew the area better and could compare rates with the experience of others on the water I might have a different rating.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this place. I've become a regular here, and I wouldn't stay any where else in Siesta Key---truly the area's best kept secret. This place is perfect for those looking for a quiet getaway (perfect place for couples), and for those who want their own space and freedom to enjoy the amenities and what the area has to offer. The property is very private and beautifully landscaped with an incredible waterfront view, quaint pool and BBQ area along with docks complete with unlimited canoe/kayak access. Each cottage on the property is unique in style and has its own fenced-in courtyard area, with private hot tub.
If you are looking for a secluded little beach nook with a relaxed, kick-back, home-away-from-home feel, you've found the perfect place!

Oh, and the owners are the sweetest, kindest, most gracious hosts! They help make this place truly special!

Room Tip: Tell the managers how many people you're travelling with and what your priorities are for your v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I had made reservations for my husbands Birthday and had to cancel unexpectedly. Gail, the owner of Turtle Beach Resort was kind enough to refund my total deposit minus a $50.00 processing fee. This is not their usual policy and her kindness went beyond my expectations as an owner of a resort. Gail treated me like I was her family so sweet, understanding, and kind.
This sincere treatment I received from someone I have never met was greatly appreciated.
Thank you Gail

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Went for a midweek getaway and was thrilled. Love the fact dog friendly, my Lucie loved it had gated courtyard she could hang out in. Stayed in jasmine cottage. The manager and the owners were so helpful and kind. Couldn't ask for better hosts. Have canoes, kayaks, heated pool and beautiful views. Will be sure to return. Room was clean and comfortable, highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

That a wonderful find. We were looking for a weekend getaway on the west coast of Florida and were so happy we found turtle beach resort. The location is fantastic. Our room had a view of the bay and was an easy walk to the beach and three restaurants (one very nice one). The resort is so relaxing with the private hot tubs and canoes and kayaks and fishing poles all for the use of the guests. Lots of open space on the bay front to relax. Be warned though there is not daily maid service. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Great variety for different needs ( couples/families). We are a couple and loved the privacy of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key

Address: 9049 Midnight Path Road, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#6 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort and Inn: Siesta Key & Sarasota Beach Hotels & Resort. Turtle Beach Resort Hotel & Marina is known as the most romantic beach resort hotel on Siesta Key, a beautiful barrier island located in Sarasota. We are an ideal place to vacation for you and your family. So, if you are looking for a beach hotel in Sarasota or a beach resort in Siesta Key, then our hotel accommodations and resort with the private hot tubs, hammocks, and boat docks will surely satisfy your expectations. Nestled at the south end of Siesta Key, Florida is an Olde Florida Style Resort where you will discover a romantic getaway for you and that special someone or a quiet vacation with family and pets. This boutique resort will offer you fishing off our private docks, boating, canoeing, kayaking, private hammocks and relaxation in your own private hot tub. Each waterfront cottage will offer you a private patio with your own private hot tub and hammock, and beautiful views of Little Sarasota Bay. As you're sipping your coffee on your private patio watching the sun rise over the bay, you might catch a glimpse of dolphins rolling by, pelicans and bald eagles fishing for breakfast, or a pod of manatees lazily swimming by. So, whether you are looking for an ideal family vacation, a romantic honeymoon destination or a pet friendly resort hotel, then Turtle Beach Resort is your place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key Hotel Siesta Key
Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.