We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Siesta Sands, Beach to die for!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siesta Sands Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siesta Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siesta Sands Beach Resort
Save
You added Siesta Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list
1001 Point of Rocks Rd., Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
Hotel amenities
Harsens Island, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Siesta Sands, Beach to die for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Siesta Sands Beach Resort is located on one of the nicest beaches you will ever find. The view from our Condo was awesome with the beach 100 ft. away. We are always pleased with Richard and his staff as they are always there to help. The Condo was on the 4th floor (411) of 6 and was decorated well but needed a little updating (mattresses) but overall was very well outfitted for our week on the beach. Full kitchen was used and well equipped also the grill that Siesta Sands supplies was as good as it gets.
We always enjoy the multiple restaurants, attractions, and businesses in the area and will be back to stay again if our schedule permits.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    17
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Overall, the property was a nice place to stay. We had a top floor 3 bedroom ocean front unit with an amazing view of the entire Siesta Key Beach (the sunsets were terrific). Our condo was mostly updated with plenty of space for everyone. The pools were actually heated to a temperature that allowed comfortable swimming in December, and the staff was helpful and friendly. The beach was very nice, although it is quite narrow compared to the other beach areas of Siesta Key, which means it was more crowded. There is a public access trail right next to the property which adds to the congestion. Also, the water is quite shallow on this part of the Key. Like many vacation areas, better soundproofing would have been helpful. You can frequently hear doors slamming and other vacationers played loud music from their balconies. The neighbors in the gaudy house next door also were loud and liked to swim/scream very late at night. Smoking seems quite common on balconies and at the pool areas – it would be great if the entire property could be smoke free. The condo had almost nothing included except for starter toilet paper, bath towels and a few bars of soap – no beach chairs (unless you rent them), no paper towels, salt/pepper, coffee filters, etc. Last, the WiFi signal was very weak and frequently disconnected. Overall, we enjoyed the stay. However, at the price paid, I would have expected more, therefore the average rating.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Being on the beach is it's only redeeming quality. The units are tired and outdated, but they are clean. The resort provides no paper towels, no kleenex, no beach towels, and no coffee filters. Having to "rent" beach chairs is inexcusable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Spent three nights at Siesta Sands in November. We loved the location - being able to walk through the gate right onto beautiful Crescent Beach. Beach chairs and an umbrella were provided but you need to bring your own towels for the pool/beach. Our unit (#210) was very clean and nicely furnished, with a comfortable king bed. Although only on the second floor, there was still a lovely (side) view of the water. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. My only (very small) disappointment upon waking up the first morning was the absence of filters for the coffee maker. Luckily the 7/11 was only a short walk away :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The space it's self was great-two balconies, large bath, nice size rooms; however, the entire time spent in the space was spoiled. Everything was poorly maintained, Kitchen had badly soiled dishes, cups, and silverware. The wine opener did not function, all appliances old, poor quality utensils. The carpet through out was old, soiled and in need of replacement. The beds and linen, were old, well used and needing replaced. The closets were junked with old hangers old clothes baskets and carpet remnants. All air vents were full of dirt and dust, some vents were uncovered. Some light switches worked some did not. TV's in bedrooms old and bulky taking up the entire dresser space. I can mention many other items, my point hopefully is made, when I compared unit 609 (my sister's unit) to 608, a world of difference and rates being the same. Shame on 608, I strongly feel this unit 608 should not be rented to another person until it is brought up to standards. I also feel that I should have and adjusted refund. I was charged over $1,300 for unit 608, by comparison 608 maybe should have been $700.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Excellent family vacation. Siesta Sands Beach Resort is located on the beach with great views from Ocean Front Rooms. The facilities were clean, the ocean front rooms 611 were spacious, good parking, located at the quiet end of Siesta Key. It would have been nice if there were a gym on site.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our 5th stay at Siesta Sands. My wife and I spent our first week for our anniversary 5 years ago. Since, we have brought different family members with us. Last year we brought my mom and dad. We arrived in the afternoon, and that night, during the sunset, my mom admitted she was worried we had "over sold" it. She literally teared up as she confessed it was more beautiful that she could have possibly imagined and impossible to describe. Perfect distance south in the gulf so the sun sets straight out from the gulf front units. The property is quiet, well maintained and possibly the perfect location to recharge ever created. Be sure and hit the drum circle on the public beach every Sunday night at sunset, interesting. Lotsa Lobster on Tamiami sells live lobster for under $9 a lbs. We buy a dozen or so and have a lobster night every trip. We always stay in the units owned by the McGuirk family and they are set up very nicely. I can recommend units 211, 212, 412, and, if you can get it, 512. I'm sure all the units are nice, but I have stayed in all of these. This is the PERFECT beach vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siesta Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Sands Beach Resort

Address: 1001 Point of Rocks Rd., Siesta Key, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siesta Key offers a variety of cuisines with numerous restaurants and cafés. From beach shops to fine clothing you can shop ‘till you drop. With Sarasota only minutes away, you are never at a loss for things to do and see. The Ringling Museum, Selby Gardens, Mote Marine, Spanish Point, Jungle Gardens, dozens of art galleries and antique shops, the opera, symphony, ballet and numerous live theater groups are just across the bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Siesta Sands Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Siesta Sands Beach Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siesta Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.