We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend and will return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key to your Saves list
Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key
574 Canal Road, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$189 (USD)
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, OH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Highly recommend and will return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My wife, 11 month old and I stayed her for 3 nights at the beginning of August and would highly recommend! The units are clean, newly furnished with updated appliances and have everything you need. Ours came with a private patio which we definitely enjoyed. The pool area is very nice and we felt like we had it to ourselves more time than not. The beach access is right across the street and because it's not a public beach access there are a lot less people on the beach compared to other areas. Can't say enough about the beach itself, it definitely deserves all the praise it gets; white, powdery soft sand that doesn't get too hot. And great sunsets every night! Overall, the stay was perfect, Bob was a great host and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. You touched on two excellent points. The lack of crowds at our beach access and beautiful sunsets over the water. Thank you for the personal positive comment as well. Your host, Bob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    53
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
133
159
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My family (wife, 2 kids aged 8 and 3) stayed here at the end of July for 2 nights.
We were VERY happy with the accommodation. It was very clean and well cared for.
It is a perfect location for both the beach (white power sand) and the village (decent selection of bars / restaurants and shops)
We were greeted by Bob when we arrived and given a tour of the facility.
The free carts with folding chairs, sun umbrella , and beach toys for the kids was perfect.
We only wish we could have stayed for longer - we would give it a 100% recommendation
and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. As you mentioned, we supply a few amenities you need for the beach. At no charge we provide carts with folding chairs, oversized beach towels, umbrellas and beach toys for the kids. Thank you for your 100% recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at Seashell condo#7, and we couldn't have been more pleased with our 4 night stay. We had just returned from a week of scuba diving @ Little Cayman so this was our time for some beach relaxation and were not disappointed. Bob was very helpful with the "tour", and even called on his day off when we had slight problem connecting the TV (input had been switched).
The resort was fully booked yet you hardly saw anybody or heard anybody on the premises. We saw other resort guests with Sea spray beach carts @ Siesta Key Beach, but never to be seen again. We loved the beach cart and will be ordering one for ourselves soon. A short walk to the Village, very much appreciated when parking is nearly impossible. The grounds were beautiful, parking was plentiful, and everything maintained in an orderly fashion. We particularly enjoyed doing laundry during some downtime from the beach. We used the gas grills twice during our stay, and we came to think of it as home away from home.
We look forward to returning again soon!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. I am glad you enjoyed the beach cart we supply. You are the second guest that I know of to purchase one of the carts for home use. They are handy. We do try to keep our property quiet and respectful. We have great guests that do show respect for each other. You mentioned another great amenity, the free washer and dryers. Friday Aug 15 we will be receiving two new Maytag Maxima washer and dryer sets. These have the steam sanitation and wrinkle release. We are excited for the upgrade. The gas grills you mentioned are stainless steel and were just purchased earlier this year. I have another upgrade in the works too. More on that later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My mom & I stayed at the Sea Spray at the beginning of the month and were very happy with the accommodations. It was very clean, close to the beach (which was nice and quiet), close to the shops, and the kitchenette worked out so well. They provide beach chairs, towels, an umbrella, and even a cart to wheel them in which was a huge plus. We'd highly recommend it to anyone visiting Siesta Key.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. We are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed having a kitchenette. Units 101 through 302 have the kitchenettes (no oven/range). They have a microwave, toaster oven, 2 burner hot plate, refrigerator with freezer, dishwasher, garbage disposal and a toaster. Units 1 through 9 have the full kitchen with the oven/range. I hope you can come back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My two children and I stayed at the "Sea Spray Resort" for two short nights. Even though our trip was cut short by a Family Emergency we enjoyed our time at this Resort. We stayed in Sand Dollar #8 which had two patios and was nicely laid out. The rooms were spacious and inviting. The property has been well maintained and I noticed during my short stay how simple but elegant Bob tries to keep the place.

Our first night there after dinner the kids wanted to take a late night swim, Most hotels and resorts won't allow you in a pool after a certain time. My children and I met other families at the pool this night. The pool water was very warm in which my kids loved especially after dusk.

The fact that there were beach chairs, umbrellas, and a cart available for use everyday for free was a real plus. I always found one available when I needed it. The beach is a short walk away less than a block and down from the main crowd. This left me feeling more secure as I didn't have to fight a sea of people to keep and eye on my kids.

Bob was very friendly and accommodating asking several times if we needed anything. I will return to the Sea Spray the next time I am in Florida. We are planning another trip in 2 years. I wish I did not have to leave on such short notice but hey sometimes things don't work out as planned. But for the price and what you get here it was worth it!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Wow thank you for your great review. You touched on many of the great reasons to stay with us. The non crowded beach access yet close to the main Siesta Key beach. The fact that we provide beach chairs, umbrellas, beach towels and a cart to wheel them to the beach. And most importantly, the spacious and inviting units. Technically the pool closes at dusk. We do have a pool light though. The pool area is a focal point of our property and a nice place to socialize. 99.99% of the time everyone is quiet and respectful of others and if someone is not, please call me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here in the sandpiper room. I'm stately a hotel snob and generally very picky- so keep this in mind. Checkin was great, we were an hour early and it was no big deal. Bob gave us a tour, super nice guy. He even allowed us a locked place for or kayak which was great. The room was nice, bigger than expected and well appointed with things like silverware and plates. The king size bed was comfortable enough. Other than some old coffee grounds left in the coffee machine the place was clean. My only downside to the room was the upstairs neighbors must have been elephants with a baby elephant running around. Ok it wasn't that bad, but it was noticeable. Luckily not a lot of time is spent in the room for us anyway. Beach was a short walk around the corner, loved the umbrellas. We enjoyed siesta key village at night, the first few nights we walked (usually on the beach which is a smidge longer but beautiful sunsets) but the last 2 nights we took the "free ride" service that works off tips alone. They were awesome and would come pick you up at your door and take you downtown.

Overall great stay and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We have no problem with early check ins. We will check you in whenever you arrive (after 11 am please). If you can request the early check in ahead of time, it would be helpful as I have to leave to buy supplies occasionally. If the unit is not ready, you may enjoy the pool, the village for lunch or go right to the beach. I recommend everyone see as many of the sunsets as possible. Watching the sun set over the water is a nice treat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We spent an entire week at Sea Spray last week. We found the Sea Spray to be exceptionally family-oriented - free beach chairs, umbrellas, and carts; chest full of pool toys, free beach towels. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and well maintained. Yes, I would have preferred a beach view but it is not a long walk at all and the beach is quiet and beautiful. The proximity to the downtown area is great - short walk or bike ride... but far enough away to avoid the noise and crowds. Restaurants, ice cream, shops - all close by.

We had a unit with a hot plate vs. stove/oven. We used the hot plate and/or outside gas grill and cooked just about every day with no real inconvenience. Would suggest to the management the need for lids for cookware - covers help speed cooking time when using hot plates. I would also recommend more instructions at check in with regard to obtaining fresh towels, where to take garbage ... feel like we were constantly bothering someone with these questions and we did not get the introductory "tour" that others mentioned. Otherwise, everything worked out well for us.

Honestly, we had some problems with air and hot water that could have ruined our whole experience but Bob did all that he could to ensure that the issues were immediately addressed in a timely manner and the inconvenience was minor. (I understand that an electrical circuit had to be replaced to resolve the issues.) Things happen but it is how they are handled that makes the difference and management was quick to act.

We take a family beach vacation each year and would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: You will hear upstairs foot noise if you opt for a ground level unit. The people above us were very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for your great review. You mentioned something I tend to forget to mention. The chest full of pool toys. We have things for the beach too. Buckets, shovels and sand molds among other items. We just ask that you rinse the sand off those items at one of our two hoses before returning them to the toy chest.. We also like if you rinse the 99% white quartz sand off of your feet at the same hoses. If something is not clear, please feel free to ask any questions you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key

Address: 574 Canal Road, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Siesta Key
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#2 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the "Sea Spray Resort" ...Just steps to the beach on beautiful Siesta Key... Your source for clean, comfortable and affordable vacation rentals. If you want to enjoy a tropical vacation where you are steps to the beach, walk 3 blocks to the Village for drinks, shopping or dinner, or simply lounge by the pool and bbq, then "Sea Spray Resort" is the place to be! From our tropically landscaped grounds to our granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances and turnkey tropical furnishings, you will find your full condo sized accommodations new, clean and relaxing...And we are "Pet Friendly"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Resort On Siesta Key Hotel Siesta Key
Sea Spray Resort On Siesta Key Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.