We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We plan on being regulars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capri at Siesta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Capri at Siesta to your Saves list
The Capri at Siesta
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   6782 Sarasea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We plan on being regulars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

This our first time in the Sarasota Area and boy are we happy we picked The Capri to stay, what a gem! Just about 2 minute walk from the beach access to a pool but when you have the ocean at your feet who needs a pool? We really like the approach the place takes at what they provide. There are two gas grills for those of us to like to cookout and there's also access to what we liked to call the "everything" room. There they have DVD's for kids and adults, and left over stuff which can be reused like sun screen, sugar, coffee, sealed water bottles, beach toys for kids and adults and best of all a washer and dryer. If you're the needy type and need service constantly I wouldn't recommend it for you. You almost never see the staff unless it's early and they're cleaning the rooms or washing towels but Heather is great when she's needed she helps keep everything very clean.
We stayed in the Jr. Suite and it was great for our family of 5, my daughter loved the futon and said it was very comfy, so much so she wanted to stay in bed than go to the beach. It had two large flat screens, one in the kitchen/living room and the other in the bedroom. The hotel is also very conveniently near a grocery store, a seven 11, restaurants and bars as well as a kayak and bike rental place. I guess the only thing I didn't like about it is the cable TV, which was xfinity/comcast, kept skipping but wasn't really interested in watching anyhow. This place is great for a family or just a couple on a romantic outing you won't go wrong.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    64
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
121
223
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doral, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I loved every aspect of this place. If you're looking for a quiet place to stay at Siesta Key close to the beach, then this is your place. The beach is just walking distance. I liked the fact that the entrance to this beach was private only for the people staying at the inns nearby. The cleanliness of the room as well as the surroundings were excellent. The kitchen was equipped with cooking utensils and dishes. A barbecue area is provided, each room has their own patio table with chairs. There is only one parking space per room, but that wasn't an issue for me. This is small and somewhat private inn, if you want to see nightlife you have to drive to get there, also not a problem for me, I was looking for a more quiet and relaxing place to stay and The Capri was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We booked a room at the Capri having stayed in the Tropical Beach previously. We have visited the area many times and looked forward to staying at the resort.

We arrived quite late (6pm) and found that the reception was closed, a note was left on the reception door and a key was left under our room mat. The room itself was nice (we booked because the room looked the same as the other resort) it was spacious for 4 of us, however there were no extra pillows for the sofa bed and there weren't enough towels for all of us.

The day after we arrived we ran into the concierge/receptionist, she was talking to another guest and took her time to greet us. She was very polite and asked if we needed anything, I mentioned the towels and she replied "sure, I'll get those right out to you". When we returned from a full day at the beach we found that there were no extra towels. As i left the room to go to reception I ran into the same receptionist(who was alone) who was very rude. I asked again about the towels, to which she replied "aren't there towels in your room?", i explained there weren't enough for all of us, she exhaled loudly, turned on her heels and said "fine, i'll get you more". she stomped back later with extra towels.

That aside, the resort was within walking distance to the beach and the parking was accessible. The cleanliness of the rooms was questionable, bearing in mind it is a beach resort, the rooms were not cleaned and the linens were not changed in the 4 days we were there. We complained about this and were told that the rooms were only cleaned when we left!

Having stayed at a resort a few blocks up from the Capri, the rooms were cleaned every day and the beds were changed too. We paid less for the tropical beach than we did the capri but the service was far better.

I would recommend that anyone looking to book here books into the the tropical resort instead, it is a far better set up!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Capri, Owner at The Capri at Siesta, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
The happiness of our guests is very important to us and we were very disappointed that the guest who left this review was less than satisfied with their stay. To ensure that all of our future guests are completely happy with The Capri and its staff we've taken steps to address and correct these issues.
We are changing the office hours so that staff will be on hand and ready to welcome more late arrivals.
We have also decided to stock more towels and pillow cases in each room and we are considering offering daily maid service at the hotel. Cleanliness is of utmost importance to us.
The service that this guest received was absolutely inexcusable. We recently terminated an employee when we discovered that they were not courteous to a guest and this may have been the same employee described in this review. However, we are holding additional training for our remaining staff to ensure that all of our guests receive friendly and helpful service 100% of the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape coral, florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

My wife and I needed to get away for a few days so we made our first visit to Siesta Key! I utilized Tripadvisor before making my reservation and I am glad we did! The Capri was exactly what we were looking for. A quiet place off the beaten path with a short walk to the beach. We stayed in Room # 106 "King Palm" which was recently renovated. King size bed, with a full kitchen, queen size futon and a giant flat screen TV. The bathroom is very small with a shower stall (no tub) but it was adequate for our 5 day stay! This property only has 10 rooms and the courtyard is beautifully maintained with nice patio furniture. There are 2 large gas grills for the guests to use! Although tis property is a few miles from the village, there are a couple of excellent restaraunts in walking distance (Javier's and Clayton's). If you do want to go down to the village and have a drink make sure to call "Johnny's Free Beach Rides" for a lift. They have a 6 person golf cart and they will take you wherever you want to go on the island and they work on "TIPS" only, they do not charge! Keep in mind that they do get busy so you may have to wait to get picked up so plan ahead.
The beach is absolutely gorgeous and there are chairs and umbrellas available for you to rent! They were $20 per day or $45 for a three day rental. You make the reservation with the attendant on the beach and the Capri adds the cost to your bill at checkout. There is a pool available for the guests to use but it is located across the street and it is shared between a few of the hotels. We did not use the pool but we took notice that it was never crowded the entire Memorial Day Weekend.
There is no daily maid service but you can get clean towels daily if you need them. There is also a complimentary laundry facility for your use. The staff did everything they could for us and during our stay and we will be back for another stay in October with some of our friends. The Capri is the place to stay when visiting Siesta Key!

Room Tip: Room 106 "KING PALM"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

This was our first time to Siesta Key and we loved the Capri!. The hotel sits in a little cul-de-sac with a few other retro - style hotels. The best part is that it is SO close to the most beautiful beach i have ever seen. Our favorite thing to do was to sit outside our room at the little dining dining, have breakfast, then walk down to the beach. It is also an AWESOME place to be if you want to see the sunset every night. Just follow the stream of people leaving their rooms to walk to the beach for picture taking and drinks in the sunset! The Capri is pretty much a self service place; where you don't have daily maid service, etc., but we liked that because it was very private. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a rooom with a garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subbiano, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

it started with friendly staff: before my arrival i received emails to make sure that whatever time i would arrive i would have received the service i need. Very friendly, direct and fast.
Room is refurbished new and very very clean. Staied there with 2 kids and their sofa converted into bed was very comfty too.
Barbecues with gas or with coal are available. Pool is very near. Beach is very near, walk 5 minutes without crossing the road. The beach is simply FANTASTIC.
had a wonderful stay

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

My friend and I chose the Capri at Siesta for the location, price and newly renovated room # 106. The room, bed, and futon were within the medium range of quality and NEW. I slept on the futon and found it quite acceptable. My friend found the bed to be just fine!
The stall shower was very nice as was the hot water. Everything basically was wonderful as far as quality except the pillows. BRING YOU OWN or find a Walmart near by. The pillows are covered in non-removable plastic and very hard and your head sweats on it. They actually made for a night of twisting and turning!

The kitchenette and fridge area were very nice. Oh! Folgers coffee provided...nice touch! Only one ice tray in the freezer...best to buy a bag at the local grocery! The gas barbecues (we did not use one) are great to have there. We smelled someones steak cooking....MMMMMmmmm!
I know the air conditioner was working fine, but could not find out how to adjust it and never asked. There is a ceiling fan that works just fine!

The beautiful grounds are very very nice as is the fountain with water dripping, soothing your mind after a day at the beach. Lovely little touch!
The price is affordable and reasonable too. Only thing wrong were the pillows. I did not get to tell the staff as yet, but will today!

Enjoy the Capri.....I would come back and stay here!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Capri at Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capri at Siesta

Address: 6782 Sarasea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Capri at Siesta 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capri at Siesta is a charming boutique beach resort located directly on Siesta Key. With only ten guest rooms we are proud to offer our visitors with a unique and intimate vacation experience with a touch of luxury. Here you’ll find friendly staff, well-appointed guest rooms, and a beautiful tropical setting, only 200 steps to the private access to Crescent Beach.The hotel has been newly remodeled and redecorated inside and out to provide you with a superior quality resort. The heated pool has been fully renovated, including new pavers and deck chairs. All of our guest rooms are furnished with comfortable features like large flat screen TVs and premium Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses and full kitchenettes. Because of the special design of our hotel, our courtyard is totally enclosed, creating a private tranquil retreat that is great for couples or groups. Here you can relax under the shade of tropical trees, surrounded by lush landscaping while you enjoy the soothing sounds of water coming from the fountain. New barbecue grilling equipment and ample outdoor seating allow you to dine in an idyllic setting complete with birdsong and gently swaying palm trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Capri at Siesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capri At Siesta Hotel Siesta Key
Capri International Siesta Key
Capri International Hotel
The Capri At Siesta Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capri at Siesta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.