We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite tasty....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ophelia's on the Bay

Ophelia's on the Bay
9105 Midnight Pass Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2919
941 349 2212
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ophelia's on the Bay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 35 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Stickney Point Road
Description: Ophelia's on the Bay is one of Sarasota’s premier fine dining waterfront restaurants. Enjoy beautiful vistas of Little Sarasota Bay, from the floor-to-ceiling windows that line the dining room. Or join us for al fresco dining on our open-air patio, as the dolphins and manatee swim by. Winner of many awards both locally and nationally, including an Excellence rating from Zagat as well as being listed as the number one restaurant in America in Power and Motoryacht Magazine for dock and dine. Ophelia's on the Bay has also been voted most romantic, best waterfront and best restaurant with a view by its loyal customers. The menu changes nightly using fresh and seasonal ingredients, fresh fish flown in from all over the world and specialty meats. There is certainly something for every palate! We feature an extensive wine list, specialty martinis, as well as a full bar. Family owned and operated for over 22 years, we have an experienced staff that prides itself on exemplary service.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quite tasty....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I chose Ophelia's on the bay based solely on reviews....the ambiance was divine, sitting out on the deck overlooking the bay....the silence was almost deafening but soothing at the same time. My family and I ordered the mussels which was mouth wateringly good in a tomato based sauce with bread for dipping...along with calimari which was fresh tasty and done right. Our main included the whole snapper with shrimp pad Thai and a lobster dish...cost was slightly on higher end, but worth it. All were pleased with the exception of flies! I hate to write this but that was the biggest distractor in completely enjoying our food...ugh...that's the fastest I've ever eaten and I'm a faster eater. A few solutions to that problem would be to give guests choices and tell them of the fly problem on the outside, set up fly traps or something....if wasn't for the flies, I would've given a perfect score. All in all, would I go back...yes! Last but not least, Our service was great!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    135
    72
    38
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dairy allergic: served cheese on frites....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Was thoroughly looking forward to our meal at Ophelias having enjoyed a wonderful three days on siesta key. However the meal was a disaster. Having already spent 8 days in Orlando we had already experienced some fine dining in the United States. This was the most expensive meal we had and by far the worst. Our waiter made our dairy allergic 9yr old son feel uncomfortable and there was none or very limited options for him. I appreciate fine food and expect to pay good money for the experience. However, having given the restaurant 6 days notice with our reservation no attempt had been made by the chef to make my son feel welcome. Having waded through the menu to find something for our son we settled on the steak frites starter. On arrival, the frites had reggiano shavings. Go to the old cottage in siesta key village. They know what they are doing.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Stunning view and excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Would have to say that this was the best restaurant that we had a meal in, the food was excellent and the staff attentive.

The only reason that it did not get 5 stars was at the end of the dinner we felt as if we were being rushed out of the restaurant as I was presented with the bill before I asked for it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Dinner Was Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

To be truthful, I wasn't sure what to expect when we arrived. But we were greeted cheerfully and promptly. Seated outside next to the bay. We were treated to rainbows and fantastic service.

We started with shrimp wantons (good but not great) and Opah appetizers. The Opah was truly fantastic. If you don't order anything else here, order the Opah.

Soups and salads were tasty. Our table sampled a variety of entrees - "lazy" lobster, grouper, Yellow Fin Tuna, scallops - all were fantastic. Dessert was very nice cap on the evening with caramel sea salt ice cream and s'mores dessert.

Would go back here in a heartbeat!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

And it was exceptional. With my wife, and her cousin and wife. Enjoyed the Crabcake appetizer, two nice cakes sitting on fried green tomatoes. The ladies had Scallops, done to perfection, the guys had Lobster served on a bed of gnocchi with sauce. Melt in your mouth. Miriam our server was very attentive and had great suggestions. This was our second visit, must go back sooner next time!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ophelia's on the Bay also viewed

 

Been to Ophelia's on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ophelia's on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.