We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ophelia's on the Bay

Ophelia's on the Bay
9105 Midnight Pass Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2919
941 349 2212
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ophelia's on the Bay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 35 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Stickney Point Road
Description: Ophelia's on the Bay is one of Sarasota’s premier fine dining waterfront restaurants. Enjoy beautiful vistas of Little Sarasota Bay, from the floor-to-ceiling windows that line the dining room. Or join us for al fresco dining on our open-air patio, as the dolphins and manatee swim by. Winner of many awards both locally and nationally, including an Excellence rating from Zagat as well as being listed as the number one restaurant in America in Power and Motoryacht Magazine for dock and dine. Ophelia's on the Bay has also been voted most romantic, best waterfront and best restaurant with a view by its loyal customers. The menu changes nightly using fresh and seasonal ingredients, fresh fish flown in from all over the world and specialty meats. There is certainly something for every palate! We feature an extensive wine list, specialty martinis, as well as a full bar. Family owned and operated for over 22 years, we have an experienced staff that prides itself on exemplary service.
St. Albert
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Service was amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is right next door to Turtle Beach resort (we stayed there) and on our last night, we walked over not really knowing anything about it but thought we would check it out. It was fantastic. Food was delicious, service was amazing and being directly on the water, the view was outstanding!! Definitely a place to go for a good meal. My husband went with seafood and I had the filet mignon. YUM!!! So good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    109
    64
    33
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quniessential Florida Diging Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

While visiting my Dad in Florida, we went out to Ophelia's on the Bay. Located on quaint Siesta Key, we enjoyed a great meal of well prepared appetizers which included crab cakes and escargots and foie gras (at treat for us since it is now banned in California). Skillfully prepared entrees included Maine lobster over tortellini, perfectly seared ahi, tiger shrimp scampi all washed down with a fabulous Patz and Hall Chardonnay and topped off with a nice dessert. The view of the bay at sunset was gorgeous and the service was spot on. They were offering a savor Siesta Key menu which was a nice affordable option to experience a variety Ophelia's food. Definitely worth a trip if you are in the Sarasota area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place for that special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We consistently find Ophelia's a top quality restaurant. We make it our preferred choice for Anniversaries and other special occasions. This family owned restaurant, situated on the bay
in Siesta Key is a charming setting combined with outstanding food. The service is extremely attentive. We love the outdoor seating option as you are very close to the bay. Once when we were there and choose the outdoor seating, it got a little cool and the waiter brought individual
heaters to the tables that needed them. The chef ranks at the top for fine Sarasota restaurants. The menu is imaginative and all selections are well prepared. We especially like their seafood. With the romantic setting, great service and fine cuisine, it can all make for a pleasant and memorable evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Consistently Phenomenal in Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Ophelia's is a class act, delivering scrumptious meals with impeccable service in a lovely setting overlooking the bay. Outdoor dining is refreshing and indoors it is romantic. Dishes are complex and the menu changes to highlight what is fresh. I have been going there for ten years and have never ever had a disappointing meal. Valet parking is a plus, too!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, I
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Beautiful setting...dont miss this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We went to Ophelia's on our last night of vacation as a special treat. The service was the best, the menu selection was like none other and it was tucked away in a private, beautiful little cove. The chef was willing to accomodate some food allergy and preferences (pescatarian) without it being a big deal. Will definitelyncome back and highly recommend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ophelia's on the Bay also viewed

 

Been to Ophelia's on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ophelia's on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.