We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great condos right on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Royale Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siesta Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jamaica Royale Condominiums
Save
You added Jamaica Royale Condominiums to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   5830 Midnight Pass Road, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great condos right on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

We've been to Siesta Key many times but this is our first stay at Jamaica Royale Condos. Here is our feedback:

PROS:
- Great location
- We stayed in Tower 2 (both Tower 1 and 2 are on the beach, other bungalows run lengthwise towards the street)
- Great pools very clean
- Quiet and good security
- They recycle here which is nice
- Condo was great size beautifully decorated felt like home
- Properly was well taken care of, grounds were very nice
- We didn't have kids but it looked like a great spot for them (I noticed free beach toys,etc)

CONS:
- they say they have WIFI but a bit misleading as it is only for the bungalows (tower unit didn't get it)
- a bit pricier than some of the other condos on the strip
- office staff could be more customer service friendly (some were OK but the others need some training)
- I saw other condo units here, it really depends on which one you choose (they differ greatly!!)

Tips: In Tower 1, units ending with a "1" or "2" are closest to beach and best views. In Tower 2, units ending with "01" and "02" same thing.

We did a lot of research and were very happy, but again know the unit owner or get recent pics before you rent. Their website is also very good. Enjoy.

  • Liked — Beach and pool and our unit
  • Disliked — The condos vary greatly so make sure you get a good one
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    25
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancs, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

We rented a private garden room on the resort (#51) and it was absolutely fantastic.

The resort consists of 2 towers which over look the beach, then two rows of bungalows which run from the beach to the road. Your car is parked on what is your front patio leading to the front door. This leads to an open plan kitchen, dining and living room, then a hallway which had a bedroom, bathroom, linen cupboard and utility room running from it. The living area has patio doors which overlook a private patio area (with furniture) and the resort pools and gardens. Our condo had everything you could think of in it from a 'George Foreman Grill' to beach toys for the children. Our condo, and also the resort common room, had Wi-Fi which was a great for our son. On one part of the resort there were also gas bbq's and tables which could be used by all guests.

The resort gardens were spotlessly clean, full of trees and very colourful. All three pools were warm, clean and serviced everyday. The private beach was beautiful and free sunbeds were always available on the beach and also by the pool. The pool also had umbrellas for a bit of welcome shade.

We just couldn't fault the condo or resort, it was perfect and after a couple of days we just referred to it as 'our house'. In fact we met a few people who actually lived on the resort.

I would recommend anyone to take a holiday on Siesta Key and stay at the Jamaica Royale. A definate 5 stars.

  • Liked — Closeness to the beach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

Our family has stayed at Jamaice Royale for 6 years and we still keep coming back.
We had a Tower 2 unit that had all the amenties
Elaine and Alice in the office are professional and caring experts
Some of the others could learn from them
The beach, town, pool, and overall maintenace of this complex is second to none
I have looked at other condos and always come back and say
that JR is the best
The other guests are friendly and helpful
You wil not be disappointed!

  • Liked — very well maintained, fabulous sunsets, great location on beach
  • Disliked — can't think of anything we go twice a year
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortwayne
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

My family and I have been to Siesta Key for many years now, We have stayed at the Jamaica Royale before.

This year was very very different. We were met at check in with very rude staff, the room was not ready and we were not allowed to check in untill 5pm, check in was promised at 3pm

When we got to the room we were met with a very foul smell, there were still wet moldy towels in the washing machine from the last guest.
Mid week we met a very rude man who said he was the GM of the place, his name was Tom Davis.

Mr. Davis informed me that he had a complaint from another person about a rude text messsage from one of our children.

Since when does a Hotel GM get involed with kat fights is beyond me, Our week ended with Mr. Davis demanding that we leave, Ask our neighbors, we were the model visitors, Real motive is Davis wanted our room for his family!!!

The night we left, we were given proof that someone else moved in!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Davis has not heard the end of this matter, I am in the process of contacting all organizations and agenices that have anything to do with this place and am considering legal action.

It really saddens me that poor management has allowed such a find estabishment to great guests with such utter rudeness. There are plendy of other places to stay on Seista Key, I would suggest that you choose another place.

I will continue to visit Siesta Key, However, I will tell everyone I know to NEVER set foot into Jamaica Royale.

One of many from Fort Wayne, Indiana!!! Spring Break 2008

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

Some health issues kept me from traveling for several years. My wife and daughter stayed in a Garden Unit in 2006 and Loved it. My wife convinced me to try and make the trip in 2007 and I am so glad she did. Our kids came at the same time so it made it even better.The Unit we stayed in was 2 bedroom. 2 baths and it was very nice. Very Clean, comfortable, quite and well maintained. I want to go back in 2008.

  • Liked — Clean, Comfortable anf Affordable
  • Disliked — No Internet Service in unit we stayed in.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

We stayed in a 'Garden Apartment' for seven days in early/mid November. The garden apartments are mostly single storey and have a small patio. Our patio was south facing and therefore caught the sun from sun-up to about 3.30 in the afternoon. It was great to be able to breakfast on the patio in glorious sunshine and very difficult to persuade yourself to move! Our apartment was also very close to the pool situated furthest from the beach. The pool was generally quiet, particularly at the end of the day, which made it more inviting. The beach lived up to expectations with fine white sand. We never had a problem getting a sun bed on the beach, but we were out of season.
The one bedroom apartment was nice. Very clean, well equipped, maintained & presented. Everything required for a weeks R & R. I would definitely go back again, especially if I could get a south facing patio!

  • Liked — Cleaniness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2007

I can't offer an up to date review, but want to say that I grew up living on Siesta Key in the 60's and after moving North in the 70's. continued to vacation on Siesta Key staying at Jamaica Royale. Back then, very limited development, and quiet beaches. We loved Jamaica Royale. Now we vaction on Long Boat Key, but just this week I visited Siesta Key, wow, how things have changed. No sleepy village anymore. A litle bittersweet. But still a nice place to stay.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jamaica Royale Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Royale Condominiums

Address: 5830 Midnight Pass Road, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Siesta Key
Hotel Class:4 star — Jamaica Royale Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMERICA'S #1 BEACH IS SIESTA KEY!!!! Siesta Key, Florida, and our white sandy beaches(Voted #1 in the U.S.) Create the perfect setting for the type of vacation you deserve with our studio, one and two bedroom condominium rentals. We have one story villas, two story Penthouses and two Bedroom Gulf View Tower Condos. We also have condos available for sale. You will be glad you came to Jamaica Royale. In addition to our beautiful beaches, the Jamaica Royale beautiful tropical grounds are very relaxing. You can enhance your stay further, by relaxing in one of our three heated swimming pools, enjoy playing shuffleboard, or have a BBQ at Beachside or on the Barbeque Island and patio. WE HAVE HIGH SPEED WIRELESS INTERNET ON THE PROPERTY AND IS ACCESSIBLE AROUND OUR POOLS, THE BEACH AND FROM MOST OF OUR CONDOS. Jamaica Royale offers not only quiet beachfront seclusion, but also beautiful sunsets on our World Famous Siesta Key Beach, Florida. Siesta Key Village is close to many activities and attractions, including shopping and an array of restaurants. Access to Tennis courts are a short walk. All condominiums are completely furnished with fully equipped kitchens. There are laundry facilities on site or in the units at Jamaica Royale. Irons, ironing boards, linens are supplied. Friendly staff awaits you. Just bring your sunscreen. Beach chairs are supplied, AND many condos have beach chairs and beach towels to take down to the beach water edge.) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jamaica Royale Condominiums Hotel Siesta Key
Jamaica Royale Condominiums Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaica Royale Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.