We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at Jamaica Royale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Royale Condominiums

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Jamaica Royale Condominiums to your Saves list
Jamaica Royale Condominiums
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   5830 Midnight Pass Road, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
Hotel amenities
Alliance, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved our stay at Jamaica Royale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed August 10 thru the 17th in room T41 and loved it. This room has one of the best balcony views on the entire beach (the balcony is huge)! The interior of the unit is nice the furniture is typical beech rental style from our past experiences. The entire wall that faces the north west is glass and sliding glass doors which makes for easy beach and sunset viewing even from inside the unit. The beach is huge and the sand is like flour. The pool is close and well taken care of. The only cons I can think of is the elevator is small and very slow, and as most of the reviewers have stated the wifi is very patchy or non existent at times. But I didn't go to the beach to play on my phone!

Room Tip: Tower rooms that end in 1 have the best views by far! Get a unit with a washer and dryer in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica R, Manager at Jamaica Royale Condominiums, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Thank you for your review. We strive to make your vacation stay a wonderful experience. T41 being a front condo does have wonderful views up and down the key. Especially beautiful sunsets!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    25
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

What a pleasure it was staying at 805. It was clean and modern with a fab balcony. We have been fans of SK for 20 years now and decided to try JR. (Bad experiences with SSRC lately). The beach is huge!!!!! The 3 pools are great. 805 had spices, ziplock bags, coffee filters, etc. who does that???? We can't wait to return again again!

Room Tip: 805 is a great condo.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica R, Manager at Jamaica Royale Condominiums, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our unit #36 was remodeled and in excellent condition. We had brand new appliances and the kitchen and bathroom were in perfect shape. The murphy bed as very comfortable and there were very few things we didn't like about the resort.

The beach was beautiful. For us, the walk from the room to the beach wasn't bad but some would not have been happy with the distance from some of the condos to the beach. If you want to be very close to the beach then choosing the tower units would be a good choice.

The parking for the garden units could not have been any better. There is a carport directly next to the door.

Our biggest disappointment was the WiFi. We could not get a connection in our unit and we had to sit on the patio.

This was a great trip for us and I was very skeptical not choosing a brand name hotel but I'm glad that I gave it a chance.

Room Tip: Choose a tower if you want to be steps from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica R, Manager at Jamaica Royale Condominiums, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Our apologies for not answering you sooner. At the time you stayed here, Jamaica Royale was discussing options for internet. As of January, we now have internet//Wi-Fi in each and every condo. Each condo is privately passworded. We appreciate you comments, as it makes us more responsible to achieve the best possible vacation for our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My family and I have stayed in various places on the west coast of Florida for many years. This was our first time at Jamaica Royale. No doubt, the view and beach are excellent. The pool was in a great location near the beach. One of our biggest disappointments was the fact that the beach chairs were restricted to the half way point from the condo to the water. You felt as if you were sitting in a desert surrounded by sand, while the ocean was a ways in front of you. However, all the condos south of Jamaica Royale allowed their guests to bring the chairs right up to the water. I have never experiened such a restriction in any condo in Florida. We stayed in unit 805 and were again disappointed with the contents: stained rugs, some shelves that were broken and most surprising was the awful water pressure in the kitchen. So bad that the dishwasher could not be used, dishes came out dirty. Try to wash them in the sink and we waited far to long for the sink to even fill. These are things that vacationers should never have to deal with, especially when paying a fair price for their vacation.
We will certainly come back to Siesta Keys, however not in this building. Owners need to update their condos if they want to have guests not only come back for years to come, but more importantly, enjoy where they stay instead of being disappointed and discouraged each time they arrive back in the condo.

Room Tip: Don't allow the pictures to deceive you when looking for a unit. Tripadvisor may be your best a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica R, General Manager at Jamaica Royale Condominiums, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you took the time to give us your feedback. This review will be forwarded to the owner of this unit so that they may be able to make any changes that are needed. We do regret that the water pressure was down. We did not realize that this was an issue with this condo. We will look into this matter. We try to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible and meet any possible request we can, though we were not able to meet with the request to bring our beach chairs to the water. We were able though to get you chairs for yourself and your husband that could be brought to the water. We hope they met your needs.
We thank you very much for your feedback and are glad you did enjoy the Jamaica Royale property and the beach. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent Springs, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

stayed at JR from July 4 - July 11 2014 with 2 families ... Each in their own unit.
We had a great week.
Pros
Beach - Beach at JR was vacant; easy to find good beach location.
Tents - Could put tents as close to ocean as possible (no rules on location of tents)
Rates - rates were reasonable in Comparison to SSRC
Our unit on 8th floor - was a very nice unit - top floor - remodeled kitchen - would stay again.
Friends unit on 8th floor had an old kitchen - they would not stay again at their unit.
washer - our unit had washer and dryer in unit.
Sunset - could see sunsets from both units
Pool - pool was close to beach.
Elevators - didn't have to wait long on elevators; they were on 8 or 1
Grill - didn't have to reserve ... It was gas ... First come first used though (both pro&con)
Parking - each unit has it's own spot.
Listening to ocean - can sit outside and hear the ocean at night ... Awesome views

Cons
Keys - each unit only got 2 sets total. Had to have master to bottom door. Very frustrating.
Chairs- could not bring them out very far. never used them.
Large Beach - a long walk to ocean. Beach is very deep at JR
Unit - not every unit is the same quality - need to look at the pics online and pick one on kitchen.
Wifi - it sucked ! ... Very slow and spotty
Washer and Dryer - On the first floor. If you don't have one in unit have to take elevator.
Towels - no towel service; only gave us 4 towels.

Recommendations
Nicer Unit - Look for a unit with a nice kitchen. The rest of unit will follow suit.
Washer - look for a unit with washer and dryer.
Wifi - Complain about it until they fix it.... It was aweful
Keys - ask for more keys. Or give everyone key cards ... This was the biggest issue. Fix the keys !
Other complexes have key cards and it makes it easier.
Towels - provide more towels

Would stay here again. But make sure you check out the unit before booking.

Room Tip: The 06 units in Tower 2 overlook the pool.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica R, General Manager at Jamaica Royale Condominiums, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We thank you for both the positive and constructive feedback of our community and to the condos that you and your family stayed in. We encourage our owners to make updates to their units in order for our guests to enjoy all aspects of Jamaica Royale. We may be looking into the issue of key cards, but our maintenance staff would have been happy to make a couple additional keys if they were needed. Our Housekeeping department had just come off a very busy week when you arrived on July 5, 2014, and there was a shortage of towels, but each condo was given at the very least enough towels for four people that were registered in your condo. In the future, please contact us if you are in need of anything. Our office is open 8am – 4pm Monday thru Saturday, and 1-4pm on Sunday. Our Housekeeping department is available from 8 am – 4pm Monday thru Saturday We do have security on the property, and they also would have been glad to bring more towels if needed. As for the wi-fi, though we have it throughout the property and in our community room, we are currently working on a long term solution to this situation, and a decision will be made by the end of this year.
Again, we thank you very much for staying at our property and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We love Jam Royale, and have been many times. Stayed in unit 54 this time, and it needs to be updated! Specifically the bedroom. Upgrade to a king bed and have a sleeper sofa, at least. My husband and I slept in two double beds in the only bedroom, while my children took the couch and floor. The description promised a sleeper sofa in addition to the one bedroom. It was wrong. About a 5 minute walk from the condo to the beach. Not bad, but I will definitely book early enough next year to get a place in the tower facing the beach. If you want 4th of July week there, book waaaay in advance!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica R, General Manager at Jamaica Royale Condominiums, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Your deposit was returned as of this writing.
Thank you for your suggestions, we appreciate your feedback. The owner of this unit is still in the process of making changes to the condo, and this will be helpful. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time at Jamaica Royale and that you plan on returning. We value our guests and strive to make your vacation as enjoyable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed the week of the 4th of July for the sole purpose of the amazing fireworks on the beach. this was our second time at Jamaica Royals and again we were NOT disappointed. The only let down was we booked in advance in a top floor tower unit that had all the bells and whistles two bed two bath washer dryer, ocean view.... only for the owners to decide later that they wanted the unit that week. The staff was very helpful in finding us a unit that would work but we were not able to get a tower unit and ended up near the entrance and lost the washer and dryer along with the view. The long walk to the beach was a bit to much for 3 year old and we ended up with the added expense of renting a wagon to cart her back and forth. I cannot stress enough that this was n fault of the management staff. They were very apologetic and helpful' I just want people t know that this is a possibility. They did not offer any discounts or perks, but did mention that they could get us in the tower the following week , however we were traveling with 3 other family's so that was not an option. We will be back for sure, and hope we get what we ask for next time.

Room Tip: Try to get as close the beach as possible if you have little ones>!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica R, General Manager at Jamaica Royale Condominiums, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We strive not to have to move anyone, and in this event, the owner wanted to use their condo. We again apologize. Since all the condos at Jamaica Royale are individually owned, discounts are honored by different owners. We are delighted that you enjoyed our property. We value our guests and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jamaica Royale Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Royale Condominiums

Address: 5830 Midnight Pass Road, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Siesta Key
Hotel Class:4 star — Jamaica Royale Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMERICA'S #1 BEACH IS SIESTA KEY!!!! Siesta Key, Florida, and our white sandy beaches(Voted #1 in the U.S.) Create the perfect setting for the type of vacation you deserve with our studio, one and two bedroom condominium rentals. We have one story villas, two story Penthouses and two Bedroom Gulf View Tower Condos. We also have condos available for sale. You will be glad you came to Jamaica Royale. In addition to our beautiful beaches, the Jamaica Royale beautiful tropical grounds are very relaxing. You can enhance your stay further, by relaxing in one of our three heated swimming pools, enjoy playing shuffleboard, or have a BBQ at Beachside or on the Barbeque Island and patio. WE HAVE HIGH SPEED WIRELESS INTERNET ON THE PROPERTY AND IS ACCESSIBLE AROUND OUR POOLS, THE BEACH AND FROM MOST OF OUR CONDOS. Jamaica Royale offers not only quiet beachfront seclusion, but also beautiful sunsets on our World Famous Siesta Key Beach, Florida. Siesta Key Village is close to many activities and attractions, including shopping and an array of restaurants. Access to Tennis courts are a short walk. All condominiums are completely furnished with fully equipped kitchens. There are laundry facilities on site or in the units at Jamaica Royale. Irons, ironing boards, linens are supplied. Friendly staff awaits you. Just bring your sunscreen. Beach chairs are supplied, AND many condos have beach chairs and beach towels to take down to the beach water edge.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Jamaica Royale Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Royale Condominiums Hotel Siesta Key
Jamaica Royale Condominiums Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaica Royale Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.