We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Royale Condominiums

Save Saved
You added Jamaica Royale Condominiums to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Jamaica Royale Condominiums
5830 Midnight Pass Road, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
Hotel amenities
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We first stayed here on our honeymoon in 1985. We came back a couple of years later with 2 other family members. We went back for the first time in about 24 years in June 2011 with 20 family members. We love Siesta Key and the Jamaica Royale is the only place we've ever stayed when visiting Siesta Key, but we didn't want to travel that far with small kids. The beach is the biggest draw, but they have some nice cabanas that you can sit under to get some shade, a nice sized pool, and some units have covered parking.The condo was very nice and had all of the essentials. We had some small problems (the drain in the shower didn't work very well, a couple of shade blades were missing, and we saw a water bug), but we called the front desk and they took care of it the next day. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
21
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This is a great location on Siesta Key! This unit is steps from Crescent beach. I prefer the villas to the towers as you pull right up to your front door and can exit to the lawn/garden and beach out your back patio. We stayed in this same unit about 8 years ago and not much has changed since then. The bathroom was very nicely re-done and there is a new sofa bed plus lots of storage with additional built-ins. The kitchen is the same but well maintained and clean. The laundry room is a big plus too as you will need to wash your own towels through the week.The villas have an old-style Florida charm that reminds me of visiting my grandparents and this unit is especially true in that aspect. You can tell the owners take pride in their unit and it is very clean and well-organized and decorated like well, my grandmother's house. The biggest issue we had with the unit this time was the two double beds need to be replaced. It is past due and they should both be at the same height. Our backs were killing us at the end of our week stay. The other problem with this type of rental was limited toilet paper and tiny bars of soap, no dish soap, laundry soap or dishwasher soap. No salt and pepper, no sugar, tea or coffee. We had to buy every little basic thing. I think these items should be maintained in the unit especially since there is no maid service until you leave. The office staff was very polite to us but I do recommend that you are dressed properly when you go to the office. Late check-in is easy and efficient. The property is very well-maintained. However, Sarasota is a village of basically elderly people and lots of realtors, doctors, and lawyers. People watching on the beach tends toward the geriatric. Order and control is a big deal in this community. We came off the beach in the evening and sat under a cabana to escape the rain and were questioned about whether we were staying at the property. My husband at 55 liked the orderly control of not allowing the beach lounges and chairs past the sign (far from the water) and put up every night, in comparison to a nearby property with chairs strewn about the beach up to the water's edge. But myself, I prefer a warmer, more flexible social environment. I would have enjoyed lying on a chair near the water.
I highly recommend Morton's Market for prepared foods and their superb bakery. Siesta Village market had some excellent rib eye and Taste of Germany had an outstandingly authentic apple strudel. Otherwise, Publix grocery off Stickney Point will suffice for basics.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom condo in October. This facility is located right on Siesta Key Beach; it has 3 pools and is less than 2 miles to Siesta Key Village where the restaurants, bars and shops are located. It was immaculately clean and well maintained. The price was very reasonable and we would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Check on the internet and try to see pictures of the facility before you book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I recently rented Unit No. 1 for my Daughter from Michigan, she was able to stay for 12 days and loved the Unit and the Beach! The unit could not have been nicer, a beautiful unit on a beautiful beach! Because of my Daughters experience my Grand Daughter and her family will be visiting The Jamaican Royale in December!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

As always the grounds and beach were great! I will definately be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Arrived late due to Thomas cook flight delay so arrived at 11pm the key to the room was in a box waiting for us and a security guy on a buggy arrived to show us our way to our room. We had number 604 in number 2 tower block which was a bit tired looking but very clean and tidy. The grounds were very clean and the pools also very clean, sunbeds by the pools and on the private beach where plentyfull. We where very happy with our room until we went to have a drink on our last night with some people in room 603 our faces dropped this room was fabulous marble on the floors very modern a 62" television also a marble topped kitchen beach view from the balcony. On reflection our room was a dump compared to this if we would have seen it on the first night then we would have complained but please dont let me put you off the Jamaica Royal overall it was Fantastic.

Room Tip: 603 in number 2 tower block was Fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This was my first time a Siesta Key and the Jamaica Royale. We originally were scheduled to stay in another condo, but a week before travel we were advised it had sold so they booked us into #91.
The two ladies at check in acted like it was a bother to get our parking pass.
The condo smelled musty and like mildew when we opened the door and it took several days of air conditioning for the smell to clear. We both had headaches after sleeping one night.
The sliding glass door didn't work and would not shut. Maybe that would explain the small gecko like lizards that popped out from behind the pictures in the living room. I'm sure the geckos liked the dead flies on the floor under the patio doors as well.
Beach is wonderful though. It is confusing to figure out why you can't take the chairs closer to the water though.
I'd come back to Siesta Key but will pass on this property. Nothing royal about the treatment or experience I had.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jamaica Royale Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Royale Condominiums

Also Known As:
Jamaica Royale Condominiums Hotel
Jamaica Royale Condominiums Hotel Siesta Key
Jamaica Royale Condominiums Siesta Key, Florida
Address: 5830 Midnight Pass Road, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Specialty lodging in Siesta Key
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Jamaica Royale Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaica Royale Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.