We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful condo complex in a fabulous Siesta Key location. Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Midnight Cove II Vacation Condos

Midnight Cove II Vacation Condos
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siesta Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Midnight Cove II Vacation Condos
Save
You added Midnight Cove II Vacation Condos to your Saves list
6327 Midnight Pass Rd., Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
Hotel amenities
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
“Wonderful condo complex in a fabulous Siesta Key location. Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Important Note: Midnight Cove and Midnight Cove II are NOT the same complex. But it appears Trip Advisor treats them the same. Do your research so you know what you are getting from each. We rented a 2 bdrm, 2 baths, 2nd floor condo in Midnight Cove II for one week in January 2012 for $930, including all taxes & fees. We rented the unit directly from the owners via homeaway.com. This complex is NOT on the Gulf of Mexico. It faces a private lagoon that empties into an inter-coastal waterway. It is across the street from the gulf and has a “private” boardwalk entrance to Crescent/Siesta beach on the gulf. You need to bring your own chairs, etc. to the beach as MCII does not provide them (only MC does). The complex has an outdoor heated pool but we did not use it. The grounds though small & compact were clean and very well maintained.

Our condo was the Firethorn layout that worked great with plenty of room for 2 adults. It would be acceptable for a family of four but might be a bit too small for 4 adults; the 2nd bedroom is quite small. It was nicely furnished with everything we needed for our vacation, i.e., dishes, cookware, microwave, full stove & refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, blender, plenty of towels, beach gear, coolers, etc. One unfortunate surprise was the lanai; we expected it to be fully exposed to the outdoors and our unit’s was not. It was more like an extension of the living room, fully enclosed within the unit though the “wall” was all sliding glass doors with screening to keep out bugs. But we noticed other units had an outdoor porch/patio/lanai; if this is important to you be sure to ask. The complex was quiet and we had no problems sleeping and never heard any noise from other units. Wi-fi is available in a screened porch by the office but luckily it reached our unit, with only 1 night giving me problems with connectivity. Our unit’s building did not have an elevator so if mobility is a problem, be sure to ask but for us carrying luggage and using stairs was not a problem. It also had one covered, convenient parking spot and a private washer & dryer in a closet just outside the unit; both much appreciated.

We thought the location on the key was perfect! It was very easy to get to whatever we needed/wanted on the “mainland”; grocery, bars, restaurants and other stores are within a couple blocks and definitely walking distance. It’s a short drive or 45 min walk to Siesta Key Village. The Crescent beach area near the condo was definitely less crowded than the Siesta beach area; see my reviews for details. All in all a wonderful, affordable (for Siesta Key) condo within a short walk of THE best beach I’ve ever experienced and other conveniences. Highly recommended and I would return!

Room Tip: Be sure to get details for your room because they are all a little bit different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The condo had great decor and was very well kept. Had recently been remodeled. The view of the beach/pool was fantastic. We stayed in unit 4 and had a very quick walk to the beach. Beach chairs were readily available and the beach in front of the condos was well maintained. They have someone at the beach to help with umbrellas, offer advice on the area, etc. Very appreciated. We loved having the laundry room in the unit. Full size washer/dryer. Loved the lanai which stretched from the living room to the master bedroom. Definately going back there.

Room Tip: Look on their website for pictures of each room. They should have a view from the room. We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

My husband and I spent a week in July at Midnight Cove II. We rented a 2 bedroom / 1.5 bath condo, which was lovely, recently updated with granite countertops in the kitchen and baths. The unit was spacious and well equipped with everything we needed. There is a dedicated beach space and path for guests across the street. No chairs are provided at the beach, but there were some to carry from the unit. The pool was nice, not crowded at all, lots of chairs available. The complex was a little old, but very well maintained. Had a great stay, but have decided to stay beach side next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The condo was up to date standards. The ocean view is beautiful, you can not have a better looking sunset. Great for all ages. I would highly recommend.
The only thing we didnt like is that there is rug instead of tile in the dinning room? with children that is hard for accidents not to happen.

Room Tip: Book with months in advance, rooms get booked rather quickly!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

My family spent a one week spring break vacation at Midnight Cove this April. Condo complex appears to have been built in the late 80's early 90's. Grounds are well taken care of. Convenient pool location next to the beach. Resort provides free beach chairs and umbrellas. Beach is GREAT! Good snorkeling nearby at Point of Rocks. Our 2 bedroom Unit was on the beach side and had fantastic views. Decor was good but not great. Complex provides wireless internet which can be accessed at the pool...but not in the units. Some units may have their own wireless service but be sure to check if this is important to you as it is inconvenient to take your laptop to the pool. Management company requires that you pay them a $45 fee for "damage insurance" which you don't get back...even if you don't break anything. They also charge an $89 management fee on top of the rental and tax is about 12% on top of your total. Complex seemed pretty "kid friendly" however the association rules and regulations seem a bit outdated as they indicate that "all children over five must carry identification tags at all times and give their names and unit numbers on request of an adult" This seems a bit much and we instruct our children to specifically NOT give their names or unit numbers to any strangers! Location was great, about 3 miles to Siesta Village. An easy bike ride on the beach or road to the shopping/ restaurant area. Highly recommend Siesta Key Bikes. Also several restaurants within walking distance of Midnight Cove, particularly Captain Curt's. Also highly recommend locals favorite Walts Fish & Chips on the mainland for excellent fresh fish. Unassuming place is only a 5 min drive and also has a great fish market. Great, but pricey, ice cream at Big Olauf's in Siesta Village.

Room Tip: Units on the Beach side of the road are preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at both of these sister properties every Thanksgiving for going on 6 years now. You have to do some legwork yourself to view pictures and communicate with the owners to ensure that the unit you are renting meets your needs. We have stayed at a different unit each year and only had problems once, which were immediately rectified by the unit owner. Another great thing is that many of the year rounders know the unit owners as well so are also friendly and helpful.

Midnight Cove I is a little more expensive, but you get two pools and chairs/chaises and umbrellas at the beach. Save some $$ and stay on the cove side, not beach side. It's a short walk to the beach and it's nice to look out on the boats in the lagoon.

Midnight Cove II only has one pool and no beach side units, but I think they all overlook the lagoon. And, personally, I like this pool better. Again, just a short walk across the street to the beach.

One last thing is that the location can't be beat! You can walk to Captain Curts Crab Shack and Midnight Pass Grocery, as well as several other restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Major shortage of beach chairs, they have very rude lounge chair lady who patrols the beach chairs and checks when you leave. People get to beach at 7am to put towels on chairs to reserve. If you are gone more than 15 minutes from lounge chair she confiscates your belongings. Many guests complain about her attitude. They don't have the Disney Word friendliness at Midnight Cove.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Midnight Cove II Vacation Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midnight Cove II Vacation Condos

Address: 6327 Midnight Pass Rd., Siesta Key, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Siesta Key
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
Midnight Cove Ii Vacation Condos Hotel Siesta Key
Midnight Cove II Vacation Condos Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midnight Cove II Vacation Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.