We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families - close to the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Beach Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Beach Resorts to your Saves list
Tropical Beach Resorts
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6717 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$199 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place for families - close to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We just returned from a 4 night stay with our 2 kids (3 yrs & 10 mos). This was our 2nd time staying at Sara Sea - Dh & I stayed here about 5 yrs ago & loved it & said we would always return w/ our kids someday. We decided on the Sara Sea property to be closest to the beach. We had a boutique room with a king size bed: the room itself was sufficient for us (they even had a high chair & pack n play for the baby which was great!) and the small kitchen w/ coffee maker, toaster & microwave was enough for us. But the only big negative was the size of the bathroom - it is a really tight squeeze to even get to the toilet. The shower is very nice & updated (no bathtub - just a stall) - but it really is very very small. If we return I would opt for staying at the Tropical Shores property to have a bigger bathroom next time. The entire property is very well kept & maintained - beautiful palm trees, grills & chairs to sit outside.

The beach is so close - only about a 3 min walk or so, and the umbrella/chair rental is very convenient also. The resort has a huge box of sand toys for the kids to use which was also great. The beach is so beautiful here - soft white sand and very shallow - great for small children. We met many nice people staying nearby on the beach. The evening sunsets are gorgeous & the kids loved it too.

As for food - we got pizza one night from Solzanos (very good!!!) and some fish plates & sandwiches from the Big Water Fish Market just across the street from the resort (you can call ahead & get take out, or eat there) - the snapper was delicious & very fresh.

The resort staff was very helpful in giving tips for local attractions & if we needed extra towels or early housekeeping they were also very accommodating with this.

The only complaint really was that our last day they were cutting and sawing down palm trees in the little park area all.day.long... and it was very loud - we couldn't even really enjoy the pool that day. But the hotel management said it was the association surrounding the property - not their doing - but it was quite annoying & loud - too bad it just happened to be when we were there.

We will definitely be returning to Siesta Key - for us it's the most beautiful beach we've been to in Florida. We miss the nice warm weather already! =)

Room Tip: Sara Sea is closest to the beach - the boutique rooms have very small bathrooms. Tropical Shores is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    348
    80
    27
    16
See reviews for
385
728
37
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The beach was amazing, but the beds in our room left alot to be desired. we had the suite for 4 people, 1 bed and a pull out sofa. The bed was ok, but the sofa was horrible! you could feel the springs under the matress and we could not sleep on it. I ended up giving my kids the bed and sleeping on the floor. I think that for $250+ per night, they could at least provide a decent matress. I don't know, I love the area, the beach and all, but maybe next time I will try a different resort.

Room Tip: Bring your own matress!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This was a last min family vacation, and it was great relaxing here. the beach was minutes from our rooms and the staff at tropical shores were excellent . We have found our new peaceful getaway. We will definitely be back .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I recently visited for a beach weekend getaway. We had heard that Siesta Key had a beautiful beach and it was less than a 3 hr drive from our home. The beach was indeed beautiful! White sand, beautiful clear blue water. That being said, Tropical Shores Beach resort was simply OK, not great. The room was VERY small, with almost no closet space and a tiny kitchenette. We went out for all of our meals, so we really didn't need a kitchen. We liked having a refrigerator but we only used the oven once to reheat pizza. (The oven was so small that the cookie sheet provided didn't even fit in the oven!) Cleaning service was pretty poor, especially at that price. Our dishes were not washed and put away- the counters weren't even wiped down. All they did was make the beds and change the towels. The place really could use some updating- it's pretty rundown and tired looking. We loved the beach, but I was expecting more than just an average motel room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a great, relaxing vacation here. We rented a one bedroom villa with a separate kitchen and lounge/TV viewing area. There was a flat screen TV in bedroom too. Lots of free movies to rent at office. Very clean, updated decor, comfortable. The walk to the beach was just thru the resort and not on any public roads. It was a breeze. And the beach--sand like sugar, aquamarine Gulf of Mexico water, shallow a long way out from the beach, tons of shells for shell collecting--delightful!! We rented chairs and umbrellas each day--very easy. There was a heated pool and hot tub but the beach was so fantastic we never used them! Everyone heads down to the beach to enjoy the sunsets and take pictures. This resort is for young and old alike. We would definitely return and will tell our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend for Mother's Day. The room was small, but it was just my daughter and myself. Time was spent on the beach and out on the town, so we don't spend much time in the room anyway! The beach was beautiful, not too crowded and very peaceful. The staff were all amazing! Anything you needed, they were right there. The next time we come back I will get a larger room, but for this stay it was just perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This was our fourth time at Tropical Shores and the property continues to provide us with everything we want in a vacation. A week is never enough and the last day is always a sad one when it's time to pack up for home. The accommodations are first rate, clean and comfortable, and the location on Crescent Beach is terrific- just a short walk to the wonderful beach. Maid service is so appreciated- the room is straightened, floors mopped, bathroom cleaned everyday. It's a real pleasure coming back from a day's activities to a clean, inviting place to change for dinner and later sleep in the comfortable bed. Only a few minutes drive to Siesta. Village with its shops and restaurants and of course, the public beach- the best anywhere, with sand like flour and the warm, calm gulf water. Service is amazing- our minor requests were handled immediately. We can't wait to return to our place at the beach in beautiful Siesta Key.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine but we prefer the Sara Seas part of the property- quiet, away the pool, beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Resorts

Address: 6717 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Beach Resorts is one of the premiere Siesta Key hotels where you can enjoy your vacation at the #1 beach in the USA! Gently rolling waves, sun-drenched sand and spectacular sunsets... This is paradise, and it's called Siesta Key. T's truly the land of flowers and they bloom in a rainbow of colors. Home to exotic sea creatures, a lively village of friendly folks and some of the world's top-rated beaches, Siesta Key boasts Tropical Beach Resorts: a comfortable, yet stylish collection of properties just a short walk from Siesta's shores. The rooms at Tropical Beach Resorts are white-glove clean, feature 32" flat screen TVs and either double, queen or king-sized beds with fluffy white duvets. Most include a sleeper sofa and fully appointed kitchens. While none of the units overlook the gulf, they each offer a colorful garden view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropical Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Beach Resorts Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Beach Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.