We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay on Siesta Key” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Beach Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Beach Resorts to your Saves list
Tropical Beach Resorts
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6717 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay on Siesta Key”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just got back from a quick 2-day stay at Tropical Sun. We live in Florida and find it easy to do spur-of-the-minute trips when we need to relax. We quickly learned that the end of August is considered "low season" on Siesta Key - great time of the year to visit!! We were able to get a "manager's special" that was 1/2 the regular price. Tropical Beach Resorts is divided into 3 different places: SaraSea; Tropical Sun; Tropical Shores. We stayed at Tropical Sun in Rm 151- Sandpiper w/ King bed. All the units in our whole building were remodeled last December and are beautiful. I understand they have a larger unit, but our room was perfect. There was a small kitchen with granite counters and stainless appliances - even had an oven & microwave & fridge with freezer. The kitchen is equipped with plates, cups, bowls, glasses, silverware, coffee pot, toaster - you get the idea! There is a glass-top table with chairs (for dining), a leather sofabed with side lamps & coffee table and the king bed. The bath had lovely tile, granite counter, tub/shower, closet with mirror sliding door and a safe. Each unit has it's own A/C unit - great to be able to control your own A/C. The place is new & very very clean. The maids come every day and replenish your towels and clean the place - they do an excellent job and should be very proud of their hard work! There are 2 pools with lots of lounge chairs - one pool seems to have more shade than the other with beautiful landscaping and large palm trees everywhere. Then there is the private beach that we (and a few other hotels) have access to. They rent umbrellas and chairs for $12 for 1/2 day and $20 for a whole day. We passed a Publix on the drive in, but found the grocery store across the street to have everything we needed to stock our fridge. In the back of this grocery store they have a deli with homemade meals (ready for the microwave) - wonderful stuff!! We found the public beaches to be beautiful and clean - reminded us of Sanibel Island. They all seem to have lots of free parking - a plus for some areas in Florida! The small "village" has lots of restaurants to select from or you could take a drive to Lido Key or Sarasota. All in all we found Siesta Key to be very relaxing and this property to be the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    359
    81
    27
    17
See reviews for
395
743
38
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valrico, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

At the last minute we booked at this resort. We have found our home at the beach. The grounds are beautiful with grills to cookout, heated pool, gardens and a short path to the beautiful Siesta Key Beach. Our room was so comfortable. A full kitchen with refrigerator, dishwasher, stove and fully equipped. The room was large with a dining table and chairs and leather couch. The bathroom had granite counters as in the kitchen area. The huge walk-in shower was great. It was extremely clean and with all tile floors, you didn't have to be concerned with what was imbedded in carpet. I don't want to say too many good things, because I still want to be able to book a room!! I highly recommend staying here. I hope you enjoy the stay as much as we did. Thank you for a wonderful 43rd wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: Parking is limited to one car per unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We just love this place, so quiet and relaxing. The palm trees and tropical bushes outside our unit were beautiful. The unit itself was well maintained and stocked with whatever we could possibly need. Housekeeping kept the place sparkling clean. Although not right on the beach, Sara Sea is close to the walkway down to it. This is the second time we have celebrated an anniversary at Sara Sea and I imagine we will be back again next year for out 45th anniversary...and probably many more mini-vacations in between!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We got back a couple of days ago from our stay here. My family and I had an amazing time! We even extended our stay by one day a couple of hours before we were suppose to check out because we just weren’t ready to leave yet. We appreciated all the little extras Tropical Beach Resorts offers too. From the beach chairs and the sand toys to the fresh coffee, cookies, lollipops and free movie rental at the front desk they made it a truly wonderful family vacation.

Side note: Sara Sea (don't know about the other 2 resorts) has a small island of grass with tables and a gazebo with 2 BBQ grilles in the middle of the resort. The grilles are kept clean. We made grilled steaks one of the nights. Yummy!
*Publix is less than a 10 minute drive. Great if you like to cook in and specially convenient when traveling with little ones.

My husband, son and I would love to go back year after year. Can't wait!!

Room Tip: All of the 3 resorts are within a comfortable walking distance but Sara Sea is the closest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed for the first time in July of 2013. Perfect location in the southern part of Siesta Key, away from the crowds but near restaurants. Also, Siesta Key has 2 free island taxi services, so you're never too far from anything! Private beach access to perfect white sandy beaches... We had a king room in Shores, and we were near a pool but literally a 2 minute walk to the ocean. Everything was super clean, both in the resort and the room. The room was recently refurbished and was small but nice, with a granite kitchen and everything. We loved it and will go back on a regular basis!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Decided to take a quick trip to Siesta Key after my daughter said it was the best beach she had ever seen. Found this wonderful resort and after reading all the reviews booked for a week. The grounds are beautiful and well kept and the beach is just a short walk. Beach chairs and towels are provided although if you are planning on spending the day at the beach you night consider renting an umbrella. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. The kitchen area is small but provided us with just about everything we needed. I didn't want to spend much of my vacation time in there anyway! There is a gas grill for each area of the resort, and every morning someone was wiping down the outdoor lawn chairs and tables. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I would go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My fiance and I have yet to stay but want to highly recommend based on initial experiences! We spent a day driving Siesta Key trying to secure a weekend place to marry and stay. We encountered rudeness, unlivable rooms and "sorry can't help you's" all along the way and in the process met GiGi. She understood our frustrations, gave us awesome recommendations and tried her best to accomodate in every way that she could. She turned a stressful day into one filled with relief and excitement about our upcoming wedding. The resort looks beautiful, extremely clean and the beach access is fantastic! We expect our stay to be one to remember and wanted to thank GiGi for making this special ocassion more special. Lee and Tami

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Resorts

Address: 6717 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Beach Resorts is one of the premiere Siesta Key hotels where you can enjoy your vacation at the #1 beach in the USA! Gently rolling waves, sun-drenched sand and spectacular sunsets... This is paradise, and it's called Siesta Key. T's truly the land of flowers and they bloom in a rainbow of colors. Home to exotic sea creatures, a lively village of friendly folks and some of the world's top-rated beaches, Siesta Key boasts Tropical Beach Resorts: a comfortable, yet stylish collection of properties just a short walk from Siesta's shores. The rooms at Tropical Beach Resorts are white-glove clean, feature 32" flat screen TVs and either double, queen or king-sized beds with fluffy white duvets. Most include a sleeper sofa and fully appointed kitchens. While none of the units overlook the gulf, they each offer a colorful garden view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Tropical Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Beach Resorts Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Beach Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.