We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel next to beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Beach Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Beach Resorts to your Saves list
Tropical Beach Resorts
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6717 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel next to beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Down on the south side of the key in a quiet location, in a semi-circle of little motels. Very modern inside with updated appliances and flat screen tv and key west style furnishings. The outside is very tropical and lush and there is a walkway down to the beach. They put out lounge chairs on the beach every morning. It has a very low key vibe and you can just chill out and relax there. I would recommend staying there as a romantic getaway for couples or families with young kids. The room itself was superclean. There are bars and restaraunts within a short walking distance. Great place and worth the price compared to other beach hotels in the area I have stayed in.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

After our Bradenton, FL, wedding, my husband and I went to Sara Sea for a weekend honeymoon. Of course, they could not create the weather, but it happened to be beautiful. Thus, we had a great time walking the gorgeous white sant of Siesta Key, enjoying the hotel pool, and relaxing in our very clean, lovely unit. We had the biggest unit offered. The bedroom and bathroom, hough a bit small, are plenty adequate, and the living room and kitchen/dining area were spacious. My husband, when checking in early in the day, mentioned this was our honeymoon. When we arrived later in the evening, we had a bottle of champagne in our frig! We highly recommend Sara Sea.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Congratulations on your new marriage! We are so happy that you shared with us that your honeymoon was perfect! We hope that you will return to Tropical Beach Resorts for many years to come and are honored you stayed at the Sara Sea for your honeymoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The room was quite nice and the bathroom was much larger than we expected. The kitchenette had a fairly large refrigerator. It appeared clean and we had a good overall stay. Check in and out was easy. The layout of the complex is confusing. There are multiple small resorts tucked into the same area along a horseshoe shaped road. None of the rooms face the beach. Parking is limited and they seem to be quite strict about towing if you do not have a permit. The beach is close and there are 2 pools to chose from. The resort is one of the furthest from The Village but nothing on the key is that far away. It is within walking distance to Captain Kurt's restaurant, a few bars and the Crescent, a local grocery store (although a case of beer will cost you $25). We would stay again if only staying for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kayakingfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The set of motels that is Sara-Sea and others are very cute motels. The rooms are adorable with granite counters and kitchens. The bed was a hard but linens were nice. We loved the stay. The beach is just up the street and right near a good snorkling spot.

One comment for motel, if the tp holder falls off by barely touching it, the staff should not just hang it back up on the wall without truely fixing it. It needs a longer set screw. It wasn't a big deal, but it surprised me that we had put the holder on the toilet and the staff somehow managed to hang it on the wall without it falling off. The second anything brushed against it, it fell off again.

We would most certainly stay here again. It was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will be coming back to stay at the Sara Sea in the future! We are sorry that the the holder in the bathroom was loose and appreciate this being brought to our attention. We staff a full maintenance team seven days a week as well as schedule daily room inspections prior to guests checking in. We want to ensure our guests that if something is not perfect during their stay we will do everything possible to correct it immediately. We always strive for perfection and are committed to total guest satisfaction. Thank you again for the great review and look forward to your return stays at the Tropical Beach Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked a room here a couple of weeks prior to coming to Siesta Key. I don't feel like a great deal on the room and would hope to do better in the future on that aspect. I hope to move my rating to a 5 after my next stay. I booked through the website for what I thought was the SaraSea, which is another of the adjoining properties. When I "booked" the website showed me the room styles, I picked one, etc. Upon arrival I learned the room I had booked was actually in the Tropical Shores Resort. Turns out to not be a big deal, because the room was awesome. The beds were the most comfortable I think I've ever had. We had room 120 which was a 1 bedroom suite with 2 double beds. Room was great, location was great, beach was great. Nice amenities including a little hotdog cart that serves breakfast sandwiches and burritos. Great little bar with live music right around the corner - The Sniki Tiki. Overall a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Room 120 is a One Bedroom Suite with 2 double beds. Corner Unit ground floor. Very nice location w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin94947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We called to ask about late availability, and the reception lady was excellent - very accommodating and offered us the newly refurbished rooms at a good rate. She was also very kind and asked if we would like an early check-in - not guaranteed but she said they would try as best as possible. It was so nice to be offered this, especially since we were arriving early that day.

Upon arrival our rooms were made available for around 12pm, and we had complimentary use of the beach towels, chairs, pool toys etc. The reception was well stocked with self -serve complimentary coffee (other drinks too I think), lots of maps, and a selection of holiday items (sun cream, sunglasses etc).

We headed straight for the beach - really only a 2 minute walk. Absolutely perfect! The beach was busy but not crowded - beautiful sand and lovely clear water.

The room was small but adequate and very well equipped. We had a king bed and then a sleeper sofa for the kids. The small kitchenette was well equipped and tea/coffee is provided which is great.

The wardrobe was in the bathroom behind a mirrored sliding door, with a safe, and iron/ironing board provided too.

Very, very clean with nice modern decor. Extremely comfy King bed with crisp cotton bedding- slept like a log! Only complaint is the Wifi was very temperamental in our room, and this meant we had to walk out to the main car park to get a decent signal.

We have been to Siesta Key Public Beach before which is wider and a longer stretch of beach, but Crescent Beach is definitely quieter. They are the same stretch of beach, as they join together, so the sand is identical - very white and soft powdery sand.

Lovely! Just wish the sea water was warmer over Easter!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jojo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a quaint spot off the beaten path. My wife and I spent our first anniversary here and had a quiet relaxing time. We had the Grand Heron room, very romantic. The staff was very helpful, especially allowing us to have an late check out so we could enjoy the beach. 2 minute walk to the beach and away from all the crowds at the public area. The rooms are perfect for longer stays, full kitchen, dining table, and very comfortable bed (big plus). Wished we could of stayed longer! We'll definitely come back.

Room Tip: "Florida Residences should call for even better rate"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philgfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for the great review and for sharing with us that you really had a great time while staying at Tropical Beach Resorts. We hope that you will make plans to come back to Siesta Key and come visit your friends at TBR! The Grand Heron is one of our favorite rooms, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.7 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
2.5 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#11 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
2.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
0.1 mi away
The Capri at Siesta
The Capri at Siesta
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
5.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Resorts

Address: 6717 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Beach Resorts is one of the premiere Siesta Key hotels where you can enjoy your vacation at the #1 beach in the USA! Gently rolling waves, sun-drenched sand and spectacular sunsets... This is paradise, and it's called Siesta Key. T's truly the land of flowers and they bloom in a rainbow of colors. Home to exotic sea creatures, a lively village of friendly folks and some of the world's top-rated beaches, Siesta Key boasts Tropical Beach Resorts: a comfortable, yet stylish collection of properties just a short walk from Siesta's shores. The rooms at Tropical Beach Resorts are white-glove clean, feature 32" flat screen TVs and either double, queen or king-sized beds with fluffy white duvets. Most include a sleeper sofa and fully appointed kitchens. While none of the units overlook the gulf, they each offer a colorful garden view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Tropical Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Beach Resorts Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing