We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sara Sea Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Beach Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Beach Resorts to your Saves list
Tropical Beach Resorts
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6717 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sara Sea Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Sara Sea Resorts in Feb. 2013. We really enjoyed it and would consider going back. The staff were friendly, helpful and responded quickly to our requests.
This resort is crowded in with many other small resorts, but it is surprisingly quiet. A very short walk to the lovely Siesta beach meant a nice morning walk each day, yoga on weekends, and a sunset each night. The area has lots to do being so close to Sarasota. We visited a few museums and galleries, the Selby gardens, and restaurants in Sarasota are terrific.
The hotel, housekeeping rooms are very small. Too crowded really. The pictures are accurate and the quality of the room is very good, but very small, with little counter space to put your stuff. We had to store our suitcases in the car. There was really no room. If they changed the king bed to a queen, that may make it better. BUT, we would stay there again and probably ask for a bigger room, if they have it. I do recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank-you for staying with us this past season! We are so happy to hear that you are planning to come back in the future! It's great that you were able to enjoy many of the cultural activities that Sarasota offers as well as walking the beach, catching the nightly sunsets, and participating in our complimentary yoga classes. We do offer a variety of room layouts and and it sounds like a larger suite may best suit your needs on your next vacation. Our accommodations range from standard rooms (fully equipped but compact, ideal for stays of three days or less) , to designer efficiencies, and suites offering one or two separate bedrooms. We always encourage our guests to contact us directly to make reservations so we can help assist with choosing the perfect room for your vacation. We really appreciate you staying with us and hope to see the next time you are stay on beautiful Siesta Key.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    358
    81
    27
    17
See reviews for
395
739
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, MA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Actually stayed at the Sarasea which is part of same group. It would be fine for about half the cost. It is a 50's motel with upgraded rooms but cars outside your front door. I spent 6 nights here for a cost of $2000 and could easily have found a weekly condo rental that was much better by contacting siesta4rent.com.

For $350 a night I was really disappointed. It would be fine for maybe half that price. They even charge a $10 resort fee for what I can't imagine. There is a pool but no towels and the beach cairs need to be rented separately by snarly beach attendants.

Stay away so you do not feel cheated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We traveled to seista key to visit friends and stayed at beach resorts. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are in need of an update, especially the bathroom. We enjoyed the chairs and table outside the room with an ashtray. Steps from the one of the most beautiful sandy beaches in the country but we needed to rent lounges or carry chairs to the beach. There is a lovely relaxed attitude that we enjoyed on our way to the keys.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

While the facility may be older, it is kept in great condition. Room extremely clean. Landscaping is beautiful. Not hard to find, especially with GPS. Close to ocean with easy walk to the beach. Pools look fine. Location is great as it is on south end of Key away from the real heavy traffic. Can walk to Claytons which is a great restaurant. Remember, this is not the Ritz but also not the "over the top" Ritz price as are many hotels on the Key. Overall, a fine experience and great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

This is an adjacent group of 3 small single story motels in a great place. Couldn't be happier. Terrific beach access, clean, quiet. Only here for 2 nights but even our small queen unit has a fully equipped kitchen. The whole thing is charming. The room was small (they told me in advance) but I just used the car as an extra closet! Bring a steak and you can cook out right here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Found this resort through a special on Expedia and grabbed it because it was for under $200 a night during Feb. this place is just lovely, extremely comfortable and immaculately maintained. The Boutique room was more than big enough for my husband, me and our adult daughter. There was no extra charge for a third person in the room, although she was a late add-on. The king bed was comfortable, our daughter was ok with the sofa bed, nicely equipped kitchen. The rooms surround a little park let with a grill and lounge chairs and tables. Lots of nice little touches, unlimited coffee, tea, lemonade, cookies, candy hot chocolate to be had in reception, movies (with micro popcorn) to borrow, beach chairs and beach towels. The staff were all extremely nice. The bathroom was very small, bit had a good shower. The beach is beautiful and only steps from our room, nice enough pool. Just a very, very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Boutique room gives you the most room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This place has a a wonderful staff, but if you are looking for a upscale vacation spot this is not the property for you. Probably a great group weekend getaway for locals. The group can grill and hang out etc. The strip is definitely not in walking distance. Siesta beach public area is nice but not in walking distance either.
The beach here near the property is ok, but you will have to walk about 5 minutes then the beach area is smaller with many more shells and dead fish etc. I wish we could have heard the ocean from the room but couldn't.

Rooms were small but updated and had comfy beds.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and share with us that you enjoyed your stay! We are always pleased to read that you found the staff to be excellent and your accommodations very comfy. We are sorry that you stay with us in early February presented less than perfect beach conditions. There are typically not a lot of shells or any dead fish in the beach. We did have a couple weeks of some so-so beach conditions and we sure wish Mother Nature did not stop by to to visit us during your stay with us! We can let all of our guests know that the beach is in very nice condition and there has not been any reports of dead fish on the beach for awhile. Siesta Key also offers free shuttles that go up and down the island (operate on tips only) that will shuttle around the island from 10am until 2 am daily.. an easy way to get into the village while still enjoying all that the south end has to offer. We do have several shops and restaurants within immediate walking distance and find that our guests enjoying hanging out in the village at some point but happy to come back to this part of the island for relaxation and a true island like feel. We hope to see you in the future and really appreciate your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Resorts

Address: 6717 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Beach Resorts is one of the premiere Siesta Key hotels where you can enjoy your vacation at the #1 beach in the USA! Gently rolling waves, sun-drenched sand and spectacular sunsets... This is paradise, and it's called Siesta Key. T's truly the land of flowers and they bloom in a rainbow of colors. Home to exotic sea creatures, a lively village of friendly folks and some of the world's top-rated beaches, Siesta Key boasts Tropical Beach Resorts: a comfortable, yet stylish collection of properties just a short walk from Siesta's shores. The rooms at Tropical Beach Resorts are white-glove clean, feature 32" flat screen TVs and either double, queen or king-sized beds with fluffy white duvets. Most include a sleeper sofa and fully appointed kitchens. While none of the units overlook the gulf, they each offer a colorful garden view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tropical Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Beach Resorts Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Beach Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.