We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Beach Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Beach Resorts to your Saves list
Tropical Beach Resorts
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6717 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Welcome Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We made a welcome return to the resort in November and were given an excellent room at a reasonable price for being regular visitors. This complex of 3 linked resorts with easy beach access and within walking distance to one of the best restaurants in Siesta Key [Miguel's] is well worth a visit, especially if you want a relaxing beach holiday. It may not have all the fancy facilities of a big hotel but it more than makes up for it with it's relaxing atmosphere and friendly staff,set in beautiful grounds with two pools and easy beach access.
The only drawback is that the blinds don't keep out the light and it can interfere with your sleep,but a few glasses of wine can help to alleviate this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnco56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Found this place on Trip Advisor, and then found a promo price on their website. While the resort looks old fashioned on the outside, the rooms are wonderfully updated and well appointed. Better than some so-called "upscale" hotels we've stayed in. Grounds are well kept, all is clean and lots of nice touches. Easy walk to the beach, close by stores & restaurants if you don't want to drive. Staff were great. Wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments with us! We are so pleased that you found your accommodations and stay perfect for your vacation and plan to come back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My daughter and I spent 3 nights in Siesta Key at the Tropical Shores Beach Resort. This property is composed of several mid-century low-rise motels with updated kitchenettes and bathrooms. We found it very laid back and relaxing. Being from out of state, I especially enjoyed the old Florida ambience, the tropical gardens and décor, and the short walk to the crystal sand beach. When booking, it might help to call the hotel directly to discuss what type of room might suit you, and you might be pleased, as we were, to get a better rate that way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NancyV555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed there 3 * already getting ready to stay there our 4th for New Years clean rooms awesome friendly staff walking distance to everything.... Pools Beach restaurants bars... Full kitchens makes you feel right at home

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spudguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience saying at Tropical Beach Resorts! We are so happy you had such a good time! We strive to be a casual wonderful laid back place for people to come back again and again. We strive for extremely high standards from our team and the property to ensure we can provide an exceptional experience for our guests. Look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We just got back from a stay at the Sara Sea at Siesta Key. It was spotless, homey and just a wonderful place to stay. We had a little table and chairs that we sat and had coffee in the AM. The staff was wonderful. We had trouble finding the place and the gal stayed on the phone and practically drove us up to the front door. Seemed like everyone that stayed there stays a lot. One couple said they had been going there for Thanksgiving week for 18 years. Says a lot about a motel/hotel. We will definitely be going back !!!!!

Room Tip: Room 170 is out of the way and very private....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita33311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My family stayed only one night August 9-10 for a day at the beach while staying at Disneyworld. If it were up to me I would of stayed the whole week here instead.

The room was very clean and smelled fresh. We got the one bedroom room which had a kitchen and living room area. The room was updated and put together very well. The kitchen had granite countertops and was spotless.

The property had a clean swimming pool and nice outdoor area that included a BBQ and tables. The property is a short distance to the beach which is accessed via a boardwalk.

The staff was extremely helpful and assisted us with faxing some documents. (We were closing on a new home while on vacation.) We were also allowed to park on the propery after we checked out to enjoy the day on the beach.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthewslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We book the hotel through the website and the only available room was King size with a sofa bed. I called to let them know that my parents will stay over and they said that they can use the sofa bed. When we checkout, they charge us $112.00 extra for my parents. They also tried to charge an extra $25 per night for the extra car that my parents brought. The front desk girl told me that we can park my parent's car at the public beach overnight. We did that and guess what, my parent got a parking ticket for $25 from the city. What a liar? We ended up putting my parent's car at a friend's house in Sarasota which makes our vacation very inconvenient.

We have some friends that live in Sarasota and invite them to see the sunset. They told my friends that they have to register at the front desk and if not they will tow their car. They were very rude to my friends. I told them that my friends will only park at the hotel for 10 min and they were plenty of spaces available.

The room was very small. Much smaller than what the pictures were showing in the website. Our refrigerator wasn't working the first day which make some of our food to be spoiled. We have to call service to get the refrigerator to work. The 2nd night, my kids was taking a nap and the house keeper didn't get a change to clean the room. I call the front desk around 6pm requesting to clean up the room and they said that the house keeper were no longer available. This is worst than a 1 or 2 star hotel.

We also tried to cancel the 4th night on our 2nd day but the front desk girl said that they can cancel the room but would not refund the nightly fee. Their policy clearly said that they have a 72 hours cancellation policy. When we called them, it was clearly 72 hours before the 4th night that we tried to cancel.

We should have stay at a known chained hotel with much better service and quality. I should have learn not to stay at a mom and pop's resort. I think people overrated this hotel for some reason.

Another thing, this is not a beach front resort. You have to walk about 200-300 yards from the hotel to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrmaJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We appreciate all the comments that are posted on Trip Advisor and thank all of our guests for their comments and feedback. Our philosophy is to strive for exceptional customer service and feel that our reviews speak very highly of our commitment to our guests. We do very much apologies to this guest that their stay did not meet their expectations. We respect the comments that our recent guests made, however we do feel the statements made are misrepresented. The room reserved for this couple was for two persons at the Sara Sea Resort.
The guest called prior to arriving and advised us a third person was going to be staying with them. Then, the guests called and stated another couple was also joining them as well. As the hotel was sold out we suggested contacting their third party booking service and to see if they could cancel their reservation as the room did not accommodate five persons. Our guests decided to keep their reservation and we welcomed the second family to stay in the room with them, understanding that they could not find a second room for their friends. Although we did not recommend this, we could not have tried to be more helpful. The guests were charged an additional fee of $25.00 per night total for the three extra persons staying in the room. (That is total, not per person). There was never a charge of $25.00 for their additional car nor were they ever advised to park at the public beach. They did mention having more vehicles and family coming to the property and were told that during the peak holiday weekend, that their additional day guests may want to park at a public parking area and take a free shuttle to the hotel during the day. We believe our guests understand that in offering several extra parking spots to one registered room, it would take away parking for our other registered guests and their visitors. We try to be very fair and help all of our guests have an enjoyable experience. It is also very true to say that housekeeping would have been gone at 6pm but we do call every room around 4pm if their do not disturb sign is still hanging on the door of a guest room and if there is no reply additional provisions are left outside. We would not enter a room with a do not disturb sign unless of an extreme emergency. A complimentary maid service is offered from 9:30 am-4:00 pm seven days a week. In addition, if a reservation is made through a third party, the cancellation terms are through that direct booking site and we have very little control over assisting travelers with changing their dates. Lastly, depending on what building a guest is staying, a walk to the beach is 80-100yards not 200-300 yards as stated by our recent guest. We absolutely love our guests and strive everyday to exceed our guest’s expectations. We do very much apologies to this guest that their stay did not meet their expectations but really don’t feel this review represents the actual situation or how we tried to help these guests and take care of their family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.5 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#11 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
2.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
0.1 mi away
The Capri at Siesta
The Capri at Siesta
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
5.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Resorts

Address: 6717 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Beach Resorts is one of the premiere Siesta Key hotels where you can enjoy your vacation at the #1 beach in the USA! Gently rolling waves, sun-drenched sand and spectacular sunsets... This is paradise, and it's called Siesta Key. T's truly the land of flowers and they bloom in a rainbow of colors. Home to exotic sea creatures, a lively village of friendly folks and some of the world's top-rated beaches, Siesta Key boasts Tropical Beach Resorts: a comfortable, yet stylish collection of properties just a short walk from Siesta's shores. The rooms at Tropical Beach Resorts are white-glove clean, feature 32" flat screen TVs and either double, queen or king-sized beds with fluffy white duvets. Most include a sleeper sofa and fully appointed kitchens. While none of the units overlook the gulf, they each offer a colorful garden view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Tropical Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Beach Resorts Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing