We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good to be back at Tropical Shores” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Shores Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Tropical Shores Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Tropical Shores Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6717 SaraSea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Siesta Key
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“So good to be back at Tropical Shores”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

As always we had a great time at Tropical Shores. The staff, the rooms and the gardens are great, not to mention those sundowns on the beach. We appreciated having free beach chairs and towels, and this year we used the nice gas grill provided. Absolutely nothing to complain about with this place. All the same good restaurants we nearby, and a plus was a fresh fish market that has opened across the street. We find Oct. a nice time to visit, and hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Shores Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thanks for the great review! October really is a great time to visit Siesta Key... it’s our favorite month of the year.. the weather is fantastic! We look forward to seeing you in the future and thanks for sharing your comments with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    496
    193
    48
    16
    9
See reviews for
235
361
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Rented a tiny studio, room 183, Sara Sea Beach Resort, so we could swing a trip to Florida during our Fall break (we're teachers from GA, just the two of us). The price was right in October and the crowds were few. Like other reviewers, we also enjoyed the well groomed grounds, the not-too-far walk to the beach & the complimentary "clickity-click" chairs/loungers. We also appreciated the complimentary beach towels. Don't waste any of your packing space with bulky towels. You may use theirs from two easily accessible hampers and return them after going to the beach in a third "return" hamper. We had a "mechanical" issue with a canopy we brought and needed some tools. One of the maintenance guys was more than happy to loan us what we needed, he even helped us try to fix the thing the best we could. Nice touch. Only a couple of negatives for us, which is just personal preference things: The bed in 183 was too soft and lumpy for us, but it didn't keep us from having a wonderful time. And, unfortunately, we had some inconsiderate neighbors that were hanging out & talking loudly at 2 and 3 A.M., but that wasn't Sara Sea's fault, just people that don't think about others. Second, like one other recent reviewer below, the high rise property next to this complex was having some aesthetics done on it's beach facing facade (think: drilling and pounding out square holes in the building). They were using a hand held jack hammer and a saw that cuts through concrete. So, just use your imagination as to what that sounded like. It was annoying, but we tried to tune it out by being distracted by the beautiful Gulf and outrageous, sugary sand. Lastly, we rented a couple of bikes from Siesta Sports Rentals, which is just across the street and down about 100 feet from the resort entrance. That was one of the best parts about our stay as we had a blast riding up to Siesta Village one day, then all the way down to Turtle Beach the next. Our bottoms were quite sore, but it was all good. HA HA. If you are coming with more than 2 people, this studio will be too small for you. We didn't spend a whole lot of time indoors, & like I said earlier, this unit was affordable at this time of year, so we just made do with the tight space. Seven yrs. ago we stayed within the same Tropical Beach Resorts complex in Conclare, and it was great then. No disappointments seven yrs. later. Thanks Sara Sea for a relaxing get away. We really enjoyed it.

P.S. We have relatives that live just a few miles from this location, and we went with them to The Bangkok Restaurant, 4791 Swift Road. If you like Thai food, this place was really delicious! We also went to SweetBerries Eatery, 2881 Clark Road for frozen custard. It too was delicious. They also had what sounded like good sandwiches. Both places are within 2 to 5 miles of Sara Sea Resort. Check them out when you go. : )

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is our second visit (first visit was at Tropical Sun), and certainly not our last.

We stayed in the 2-bedroom suite for two nights last week, as a family of four. We arrived early hoping to take advantage of some added beach time and much to our surprise our suite was ready. Check-in was a breeze, and the staff very welcoming (even more so than our first visit). The suite was right across the street from where you check-in and was exactly as pictured. You get lots of natural lighting / windows as the suite is located in the outside corner of the building. Everything in the suite was just perfect, especially the beds (super comfy). We got settled quickly and then went back to the “lobby” to ask about beach chairs, beach toys, towels, and a few other things. We can’t thank the staff enough for being so helpful and friendly, and for ensuring all our needs were met.

We had asked about specials for Canadians visiting, but nothing was applicable for this particular unit. They did mention they would have a bottle of wine or champagne for us though, which was a nice offer. Unfortunately they did forget about the wine, but when we mentioned it they were very quick to rectify the situation.

The grounds are impeccable and the gardens stunning. On our first night we even happened to see some hummingbirds! The pool areas are also extremely nice; the water is sparkling, clean and warm. There is more than enough loungers to accommodate everyone. I won’t say much about the beach, as it speaks for itself. We were lucky enough to see some dolphins on our second day though, which was very exciting.

Both evenings we borrowed movies from the “lobby”. They have a great selection, including recent releases and family friendly options. Plus you can get microwave popcorn as an added treat :)

Our 8 year old daughter loved the welcome area of the “lobby” and throughout the day she would sneak in and visit – usually to steal a cookie or two.

Our only complaint about this suite would be that the Sundeck Studio is located directly above this particular suite so you can easily hear guests talking and moving around patio furniture above you. Not a deal breaker, but slightly annoying.

Without any doubt we would highly recommend this resort. We hope to make our stays a family tradition, and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for a week this September and it was our third year running at this hotel. It is that good!
We requested by email the room we had last year and they were happy to give us that room again. Infact you feel that nothing is any bother for the reception staff.
( just a tip, if you find this hotel for a cheaper price, ring them direct before booking and they will price match)
I won't go into a lot of detail as all the other reviewers have, just to say that if you want a relaxing holiday, with a 2 minute walk onto the beach, modern clean rooms with top rate kitchens, lovely pool, well kept gardens, Gas BBQ areas, free coffee and biscuits in reception, etc etc etc, well look no further, because you have found your destination.
Thankyou Tropical Beach, see you next year.

Room Tip: we like to stay in room 123, where it is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our room was at the front of the property, a little walk from the beach but close to the pool. We had a small dog traveling with us and found this resort very accommodating for those traveling with small pets.
Beach area was really great, for a $20 daily fee you could get a lounge and umbrella, however if you did not want to pay the fee you could get sign out a free beach chair at the office.
The whole resort was well kept and the rooms (our had a king bed, large bathroom, sitting area, dinning table and chairs and a full kitchen) all were very clean and well kept. Overall I would recommend this resort to anyone traveling with a small pet.

Room Tip: If your into using the pool, ask for a room close to the road, if nearer to the beach request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very nice hotel located just few minutes from the beach and main amenities.
We were in room 129, the one with the access to the beautiful terrace. From the hotel you do not have sea view, but it's surrounded by trees and grass and we found it very relaxing.
The bedroom, including a kitchen area and a spacious bathroom was lovely with a beautiful bow window facing the terrace. It's all very modernly furnished with an elegant touch.
The only negative point was that, being probably a wooden structure, you can hear the noisy from your neighbour and for the 2 nights we were here, we had small kids waking us up during the night - but this can happen anywhere, not definitely anybody's fault

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is my 4th stay with my wife and a 2 year old this time. The resort is broken into 3 sections Tropical shores, Tropical Sun and Sara sea. I was leary about staying at Sara sea since we've always stayed at Tropical shores. To our surprise we loved it better. You can't beat this resort. Kitchenette, very large king bed fit all 3 of us with room, flat screen tv with sufficient channels, pull-out couch, eating space and just a great clean comfortable room. This room didn't have a bathtub so a shower stall was tough to bath out child, a small issue. The pool was warm and provided a great swim. I used the bbq's on site each day which had the utensils at the tables, we ate outside one evening.
To answer one critcis comment about "how can you call this place a resort", a question I pondered for months since I had read it and stayed her before. It dawned on me day 2 visit here that this place is self sufficient. A shop at the grocercy store and your set, you really don't have to leave the resort if you want beach, pool and relaxing. That's a resort to me. A 7-11 across the street took me 1 minute to get fill-ins like eggs, butter and wine. A hair salon I used for a quick hair cut in a strip mall near the liquor store, pizzeria and post office in a drug store. The beach is truly the best. The ocean was 84' and we all went in everyday. Rent a big umbrella and chairs for $20 full day or $12 half day on the beach. Resort does offer free beach chairs and towels.
We flew into Tampa and rented a car, an hour and 15 min highway drive. I ate at Hooters Restaurant for the wings of course. Had chinese food in a nearby mall. Went to the public beach, kid played on the swings.
We can't wait to return next year. Biggest problem with the vacation was it had to end and we had to leave.

Room Tip: Sara sea is best and if you have a small child and need a tub. Make sure the room you book has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropical Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Shores Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel
Tropical Shores
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key, Florida
Address: 6717 SaraSea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#4 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#4 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Shores Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tropical Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Shores Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.