We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost as good as being in Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Gelato

Ciao Gelato
5212 1/2 Ocean Blvd., Siesta Key, FL 34242
+(1)941.552.6203
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Italian, Ice Cream, Café
Restaurant details
Lake Wales, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Almost as good as being in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We biked to the Siesta Village specifically for gelato. We wanted to remind ourselves of our trip to Italy last summer. We were pleasantly surprised at the taste and found it quite comparable to the gelato we gorged ourselves on in Italy. It was nice to find a smaller selection of flavors as this means the gelato is more likely freshly made daily. I inquired with the young ladies about the choices and found that they are made in Venice (sadly not the Italian Venice!) and then brought to the Siesta location. It was nice to hear that they do change flavors. Changing flavors means they look for the freshest ingredients which is quite the italian way to go gelato! Although the price for a small was $5, we did not mind as it is more an experience to have gelato than just having ice cream. Thank you for aiming for the freshest ingredients and making true gelato. We felt for a wee bit that we were back in Firenze sitting on the bridge looking at the Ponte Vecchio or sitting on the steps watching the gondolas drift by in Venezia. We will be back for more glimpses to our favorite international destinations! Grazie mille!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    13
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stopped by this Ciao location twice during our recent trip it was quite tasty and loved the variety of flavors. The triple chocolate was amazing as was the peanut butter. We liked it so much while out exploring Venice we stopped at that location as well. It is pricey but most gelato is pricey.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I'm craving gelato right now.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Loved their flavors...we went at least three times during our visit. However, the Siesta store is much smaller than their sister in Venice. My favorite was the Limone...it is very tart yet sweet. Paired well after dinner.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Fabulous Gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stopped hereon the drive home from Naples for a sweet treat. The chocolate gelato was fantastic, rich and creamy. My husband had the espresso shake with peanut butter and chocolate gelato and he loved it. It was nice to take a few minutes to cool off and relax. It is a little pricey. $16 for a gelato, shake and 2 waters. But worth it. Parking was an issue as there are all of 4 spots for this place and the shop next door to share. But if you are staying close to the village you can just walk over. Definitely worth a stop!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than any ice cream shop in Siesta Key!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

On our family trip to Siesta Key we went to Ciao Gelato twice, and could have easily gone more! We were instantly warmly welcomed when we walked into the shop. Samples were offered of all of their daily homemade gelato, and there was a wide variety of flavors. You could easily tell this shop was all about their customers and their needs which I love to see. I highly recommend to everyone. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Ciao Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.