We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Pizza” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Flavio's Brick Oven Pizza

Flavio's Brick Oven Pizza
5239 Ocean Boulevard, United States> Florida> Siesta Key> Flavio's Brick Oven Pizza, Siesta Key, FL 34242-3310
941-349-0995
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 35 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Flavio's Brick Oven and Bar has been serving delicious Italian delicacies for more than 20 years. Owner/Chef Flavio Cristofoli, is now proud to be offering mouthwatering brick oven style pizza. You can almost smell the amazing aroma from across the bridge. Or course, you can pair any dish with the perfect glass of wine from the extensive wine selection. Or, feel free to choose from an assortment of handcrafted cocktails. Every evening the choice is yours. An elegant dinner or casual brick oven pizza. Either way you can't go wrong
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Pizza”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

$15 for what is advertised as gourmet pizza. They are the size of a personal pan pizza, taste almost as good as sbarro from the mall and are overcooked. I tried 3 different pizzas…margherita (which had no tomatoes and 4 pieces of basil), 4 cheese pizza (which tasted like cheese toast you make in a microwave), and vegetarian (not even going to comment).
Maybe the atmosphere makes up for it but we got pizza to go. I would otherwise never recommend delivery such as papa johns or dominos unless this restaurant's pizza was the other option.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    60
    27
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Not outstanding food, but still very good. The starters we chose were good especially the tomato and mozzarella which was so creamy. The pizza's which had loads of toppings were done a bit hard for my liking, but overall would recommend a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So-So at best - Very Over Priced! Stay Away!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My family ate here due to the reviews on trip advisor - a poor rating on the food is being kind! Pizza was good where it was not burnt on one side of the crust, and the pasta dishes my teenagers had were very bad - sauce was not good at all. Our local family owned Italian restaurant in the Orlando area is 100 times better and much cheaper! For a pasta meal to be $17.95 and NOT come with a salad is ridiculous! And then side salads to be $7.95 and $8.95 each is down right crazy!! This restaurant is located in the tourist section of Siesta Key and is only surviving with tourists. We had two pasta meals, two side salads and a pizza and no drinks and our meal was $85 before tip. The only good thing at this restaurant is the waiters were nice and quick to refill waters. Would NOT recommend this location!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 21st anniversary dinner here. We started out with a buffalo monzzarella appetizer that was so tasty and unique. We then shared a four seasons pizza and a special mushroom pasta they featured for that night. These 2 meals complemented one another so well and each were absolutely delectable!! We ended the meal with two amazing homemade desserts, made by "Ms. Flavio" herself: tiramisu and chocolate almond cake with mocha icing!! Joseph was our waiter, and he was fabulous and very attentive! This is a place my husband and I would definitely recommend and would love to return to someday

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Top-notch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We visited with our kids thinking this was just a pizza place. They have a full menu of traditional Italian food with specials that sounded mouth-watering. We were quickly greeted, and seated promptly despite a full-house. Staff was super attentive, refilling water glasses, checking on the quality, etc. They were each well-versed on the menu and had excellent suggestions for our group. We had the wood fired pizzas and they were amazing!!!! The crust was crisp, but chewy, and the toppings and combinations were flavorful. The ambience is playful but also relaxing. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flavio's Brick Oven Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Flavio's Brick Oven Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flavio's Brick Oven Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.