We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to beach and village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Breeze Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Breeze Resort to your Saves list
Tropical Breeze Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Columbus Blvd, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Siesta Key
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Convenient to beach and village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was our first time staying at the Tropical Breeze Resort. We stayed in the Beach Cottage which was adorable and perfect for two adults and one child (although two very young children might fit on the sleeper sofa). It was air conditioned (a must in Florida), had a full kitchen, fairly well stocked which would work for a longer term stay. The cottage is in a quiet neighborhood literally steps from the beach across one very quiet road. The beach is at the North end of Siesta Key so it's more private and less crowded than the main beach.

The cottage is farther away from the village than the main resort area, but still within a five minute walk. A grocery, ice cream shop, many restaurants and equipment rentals/excursions are all within easy walking distance. The resort includes three pools, several laundry rooms and bikes for rent.

The room came equipped with two beach chairs and fresh beach towels are available at the office. The bathroom was tiny and no frills but functional. My only suggestions or negative comments are that it is only comfortable viewing tv or relaxing on the 2 seater sofa. The other chair is an armless dining chair and not comfortable for sitting in more than 5 minutes. There are two bar stools at the kitchen counter but no table and chairs to eat at together. I would get rid of the desk and just add a table and four chairs to use as a desk and dining area. The coffee machine comes with prepackaged coffee pods that come in their own disposable filter holder. You can't rig these to create your own coffee and you only get two cups per day. The "grab and go breakfast" in the office is just coffee juice and pre-wrapped danishes like you might find at 7Eleven. We made our own breakfasts and had to go out for decent coffee. If you don't care what your coffee tastes like, you'll love the convenience of the provided pods and I'm sure more could be available if you asked.

The grounds are in the middle of being landscaped and should be quite pretty when it's done. There are crushed shells as ground cover everywhere to keep the amount of sand tracked in to a minimum. There are also a number of rooms being remodeled.

Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: The beach cottage or beach houses are closest to the beach and much quieter than the main part of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    117
    39
    30
    26
See reviews for
115
154
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. All staff was wonderful. Sarah at the front desk was very sweet and helpful. The location was great. The housekeeping was great too. We all got a stomach bug and they did what we needed with a good attitude. We will come back here, although the resturants around weren't that great. We may drive to other places next time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Not only is this place really cute, it's family friendly, pet friendly, 2 minutes from the beach and 5 minutes to bars, restaurants and groceries. Pastel coloured bungalows, beautifully landscaped grounds, small pool, laundry facilities and the friendliest staff is what you'll get here. The bed was super comfy. All the units are upgraded to have that tropical look -- tiled floors, large showers, granite countertops, efficiency kitchenettes and a little patio. Some larger units have screened in porches too. It's a short walk to one of the BEST beaches in all of Florida. Affordable and lovely. It's not the Ritz, but you get great value for your money. I will definitely come back.

Room Tip: My room faced the inner coutryard away from the street and there was no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in room 111. There were ants on the wall, the windows, the blinds and worst of all in the bed. We reported to the front office and they sprayed. They were back the very same night and I woke up with them crawling all over me again. I again told the office and they sprayed again. I told them again when we left that there were still ants in the room. The shower was another story all together. It was either scalding hot or freezing cold. You could not regulate it to a comfortable temp. I told the office and they checked it and said to leave it on a certain setting. That did not work.

The location was perfect, right next to the little village and a quick walk to a wonderful beach. There were 2 chairs for us to use and fresh beach towels daily. Our room had a full size frig and a microwave. There was lots of kitchen cabinets and a granite counter top but no stove or oven. No dishes were provided and there was no kitchen sink so you needed to do them in the little bathroom sink.

We will go back to Siesta Key but will not stay here again. The manager did comp us a night for the problems but it was still not a good stay.

Room Tip: Don't get the room with the bugs! 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Tropical Breeze for 4 nights towards the end of July. The moment we drove up, I knew we found a winner! I loved the location which was a very short walk to the beach in one direction and a very short walk to Siesta Village in the opposite direction. The hotel staff was pleasant and our room - which was a standard efficiency -was very clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel and my husband and I will definitely be staying here for every visit to Siesta Key in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you are looking for a cute, clean and comfy place to stay with your family in Siesta Key, Tropical Breeze is it!

We stayed in mid-July, two kids under 8 and my husband and I, for 3 nights. I would say we had the best room in the whole place! #163 in case you want to request it. It is located on the furthest corner from the office, but it's the closest to the BEACH! Awesome location and it was really a great room. A nice and actually comfortable king-sized bed in one room, with a small bath, an actual full-sized kitchen, dining table and chairs, and a pull out sofa that the kids slept on. The room itself was nice and clean, pretty updated and decorated really cute/beachy! I loved it! My only suggestion on this room is to have some bath rugs/kitchen rugs because the floors get SUPER sandy and icky. I had to lay down bath towels to help with this, and I really hated to do that.

Though there were quite a few younger, partying types around, the room was really nice and quiet at night. That is always a bonus. The walls in that place must be made of concrete. :) I did notice lots of renovating going on in some of the other areas, so not sure about that.

The hotel grounds are very spread out, so be prepared to walk around to get the the various pools. There are three, but only two were in operation when we were there. Two is plenty! The one we frequented the most has a non-functioning hot tub, which was a disappointment that it didn't work, but not a HUGE deal. It is located near the pool house, which while we were there housed a family reunion that was sort of fun, they had some cool 80s jams playing all afternoon.

The service here was really great, everyone was friendly and helpful. We needed a lighter for my 5 year old's birthday cake, and they ran one to us right then and there. Super!

We would definitely stay here again. I really liked the laid-back atmosphere of the whole area, and the hotel was perfect. We were able to walk EASILY to all the little shops and restaurants, all of which are really great. Three words - The Lobster Pot! YUM!!!

This place was totally a great value and a nice, safe, comfortable place to stay and get your toes in the sand. Siesta Key is beautiful!

Room Tip: Room #163 is a GREAT room. Ask for one away from the pool if you want more peace and quiet. Pools st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

TBR is at the ideal spot at SK. It is perfectly placed between the beach and the restaurants/bars. No driving required. However, I was disappointed with the renovations being done. Mid way through our week long stay, the paver stones leading to our room and in front of our door were removed without any notification and made for a real mess when coming back from the beach (wet sand and mud). After notifying the front desk and speaking with facilities, the contractor doing the stone work came back and laid a few pavers down so we at least had a walkway. But when we returned to our room later that evening after dinner, the pavers had been picked up again. Facilities had to re-lay the stones at 12:30 that night. I was disappointed that this renovation work was being done during our stay. From our check-in, we should have been put in a room away from this type of work. Additionally, both the bedroom door and closet door were broken and off their hinges. Not that big of a deal since we spent most of our time at the beach, but still a hassle to deal with for a week-long stay. Regarding the wi-fi, although it was free it was very spotty. It really only worked in one part of the room. So while nice to have, it was difficult to use the service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us at the Tropical Breeze Resort. We continually work on upgrading the resort for our guests. With Siesta Key being such a beautiful beach destination, it's always a challenge to schedule any renovations. However, we never want to inconvenience our guests and I am truly sorry that these landscaping improvements were a disruption. I hope that you will stay with us again when making plans to visit Siesta Key. I can assure you all renovations will be done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Breeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Breeze Resort

Address: 140 Columbus Blvd, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Breeze Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ideal choice for Sarasota & Siesta Key Beach Hotel and vacation rentals, the Tropical Breeze Resort on Siesta Key provides lodging directly near Siesta Key Beach. Choose from our unique accommodations featuring efficiencies, one bedroom and two bedroom suites with full kitchens. We're also "pet friendly!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropical Breeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Breeze Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Breeze Siesta Key
Tropical Breeze Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Breeze Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.